Take Over And Destroy - Rotten Tide review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.4

12 users:
8.17
Band: Take Over And Destroy
Album: Rotten Tide
Release date: June 2011


01. Midnight Hunger
02. Pale Nimbus
03. Embody The Ghost
04. Morning Disgust
05. Necrophatic Vatican


Lord almighty, what is this vile wretchedness?! Honestly, who makes music this horrible sounding? If this music was a child, it would find it's way into an orphanage within minutes of it's birth, it's just that hideous. Ugly-as-sin doesn't even begin to describe Rotten Tide album in all it's glory.

How to describe this? Well...It's aggressive, that's for sure. It's got that raw, grooving rock n roll appeal that you'll find with the likes of Bison B.C., combined with the grim psychedelic feel offered by few other than Nachtmystium. The riffs are incredibly catchy, yet they're abrasively unique. It's almost like accidentally taking a bite of that mouldy hot dog that's been sitting in your fridge since before you moved in. It's a horrible, rotten experience, but there's that small part of you that's tempted by the prospect of a second bite. Isolate that slight fascination you derive from the dynamic taste of a rotting hot dog, focus on it entirely, then write a soundtrack for it. What you'll wind up with is something along the lines of TOAD's Rotten Tide. Unlike eating old processed food, you don't have to feel guilty about this. It's all the wretched fun without any of the shame and (possibly hallucinogenic) after-effects.

...Did I mention they have organs? Organs of the keyboard variety, of course. Not the guts & innards type...though I'm sure they have those too, but I digress. The subtle, underlying organs really beef up this music. Sure, the eccentric riffing makes it pretty spooky sounding as it is, but the keys just give it that extra layer that makes it creepier, without removing any of the mouth-frothing raw aggression. This is where my only complaint lies - the keys really could have been brought forward in the mix a little more. Well, rather they play their part subtly in the background than become a gimmicky center-piece of the music, I suppose.

If you enjoy truly ugly sounding music, surely this is the must hear album of the year for you.


 



Written on 30.05.2011 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 23   Visited by: 353 users
30.05.2011 - 12:43
wormdrink414
The first track is catchy as fuck. Might need to buy this.
Loading...
30.05.2011 - 12:46
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Suppose I better give this one a lick.
Loading...
30.05.2011 - 12:57
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by wormdrink414 on 30.05.2011 at 12:43

The first track is catchy as fuck. Might need to buy this.

They're still pressing the hard copies, but Rotten Tide in its entirety is up for download, they have the link up on their myspace.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
30.05.2011 - 18:51
Tetravirulence
Thanks I should try this one
----
Metal News Community!! http://head-metal-bangers.blogspot.com

RIP Juhani Palomaki (1977-2010)
Loading...
30.05.2011 - 19:08
Mikrokosmos
Account deleted
I've listened to the tracks from that album on myspace. reading the review I was expecting something awesome, br00tal, ugly, and stuff. I'm disappointed.
that's good, surely not one of the best, but still decent. but that's it. I don't find it spectacular in any way, pretty basic if you ask me.
Loading...
31.05.2011 - 05:31
Pyramid God
Its good, not 9.4 good, but good nonetheless.
Loading...
31.05.2011 - 13:33
malaikat
This is, at best, 7 or 8. Yet again staff members pick some of their personal, underground favorite and gives them a godly rating / review.
(Aurora Borealis review, anyone? http://www.metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=8954)
Loading...
31.05.2011 - 13:36
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Checked this one out and it is really good, but come on a 9.4? That would mean it is a true classic, and that sure as hel it isn't
I would rate this a solid 8.1 I think
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
31.05.2011 - 13:44
Spirit Molecule
spirit molecule
I checked this one out after I read the review and saw the rating Doc had given it. I wasn't as impressed as him.
----
If you never wake up from a dream does it become reality?

Last fm
Don't click here
Loading...
31.05.2011 - 13:46
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Spirit Molecule on 31.05.2011 at 13:44

I checked this one out after I read the review and saw the rating Doc had given it. I wasn't as impressed as him.


Well he was also mightily impressed by Mares Of Thrace when that one was even really extremely average at best for what it did, whereas this one is a good solid album.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
31.05.2011 - 15:02
Cryptopsy1979
Mmh, I'm listening to this album on TOAD's Myspace, but my first impression is that this album is overrated by the reviewer. It might grow on me, but 9.4 would mean it will be an absolute classic. At least, that's what I think the grade SHOULD indicate. :-\
Loading...
31.05.2011 - 15:45
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Yeah I like the Myspace songs, good stuff, though the first thing that comes into mind is how melodic they are. Just kinda sounds like you're describing a totally different record on this review. I was expecting something like Burning Witch and Dragged Into Sunlight's level of muck and disgust. That being said though it's solid stuff that I can get on board with quite easily.
Loading...
31.05.2011 - 23:19
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Oh, fuck you all. I love this album.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
31.05.2011 - 23:26
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 31.05.2011 at 13:46

Written by Spirit Molecule on 31.05.2011 at 13:44

I checked this one out after I read the review and saw the rating Doc had given it. I wasn't as impressed as him.


Well he was also mightily impressed by Mares Of Thrace when that one was even really extremely average at best for what it did, whereas this one is a good solid album.

I figured out I might just have a penchant for that more chaotic sounding sludge.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
01.06.2011 - 08:23
Spirit Molecule
spirit molecule
Written by Guest on 31.05.2011 at 15:45

Yeah I like the Myspace songs, good stuff, though the first thing that comes into mind is how melodic they are. Just kinda sounds like you're describing a totally different record on this review. I was expecting something like Burning Witch and Dragged Into Sunlight's level of muck and disgust. That being said though it's solid stuff that I can get on board with quite easily.


Exactly, I thought Dragged into sunlight as well when i read the review.
----
If you never wake up from a dream does it become reality?

Last fm
Don't click here
Loading...
01.06.2011 - 22:37
Coolingsrock
Written by Doc Godin on 31.05.2011 at 23:26

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 31.05.2011 at 13:46

Written by Spirit Molecule on 31.05.2011 at 13:44

I checked this one out after I read the review and saw the rating Doc had given it. I wasn't as impressed as him.


Well he was also mightily impressed by Mares Of Thrace when that one was even really extremely average at best for what it did, whereas this one is a good solid album.

I figured out I might just have a penchant for that more chaotic sounding sludge.

Man This band sounds pretty sick to me.....few more listens and this just might make it to the deck in my car.:banger:
Loading...
05.06.2011 - 13:07
Slayer666
Written by Guest on 31.05.2011 at 15:45

Just kinda sounds like you're describing a totally different record on this review. I was expecting something like Burning Witch and Dragged Into Sunlight's level of muck and disgust.

Totally. I was expecting all hell to break loose after the review, but it sounds like a castrated version of Dragged Into Sunlight.
I'm also saying it's not bad, but IMO the review is majorly misleading.
Loading...
17.07.2011 - 07:31
Susan
Smeghead
I was drawn in by the Bison B.C. reference. Fuck everyone else this album is awesome. And nice review, haha my favourite part was this:

...Did I mention they have organs? Organs of the keyboard variety, of course. Not the guts & innards type...though I'm sure they have those too, but I digress.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
03.12.2011 - 05:32
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Looks tasty
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 17:33
barmyarmy414
I find these guys to be pretty bland. The riffs are decent only half the time and the drummer sounds to tamed. Incorporating organs into black metal (or at least what is supposed to be black metal) kinda just brings it to a rather boring place.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 17:42
Susan
Smeghead
I'm baffled for the lack of love for this album...
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 19:17
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Susan on 15.12.2011 at 17:42
I'm baffled for the lack of love for this album...

Bands with all-caps scare me. I don't like to be yelled at before I even listen to the music.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.12.2011 - 19:33
Susan
Smeghead
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 19:17

Written by Susan on 15.12.2011 at 17:42
I'm baffled for the lack of love for this album...

Bands with all-caps scare me. I don't like to be yelled at before I even listen to the music.




It's an acronym. But yeah... you do have a point
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...

Hits total: 6677 | This month: 18