Fluxious - Why So Serious? review



Reviewer:
N/A

21 users:
6.48
Band: Fluxious
Album: Why So Serious?
Release date: March 2011


01. Point Of View
02. Reaching Nowhere
03. Inside
04. Voodoo Mood
05. Huging
06. Sinner
07. Games'n'trials
08. Biatch
09. Unfair To You
10. True
11. What A Waste
12. It Belongs To You


What happens when you mix jazz and rock? Yeah, you get something along the lines of jazz-rock and fusion. But what happens when you mix jazz and metal? Yeah, wrong! I wouldn't exactly call it jazz-metal or heavy fusion. Or maybe I would, I still don't know. It just feels more appropriate if I call it heavy jazz for now as that's what Fluxious sounds like - jazzy songs in a heavy distortion coating. Not only that, of course, but in short, it's an awesome mix. Oh yeah, almost forgot to include in the introduction - there's a girl singing!

There's nothing like a good fusion, I tell you. Heavy enough, with proper drive, you know, something that really, really cooks. Normally, though, I stumble across bands that are more jazz than anything else, with occasional forays into rock. In general, I don't mind jazz, I just don't particularly like to listen to it in any other setting than live. Hence, it's a joy to come across something with an edge and a drive, like Fluxious.

Fluxious is not your speedy fusion that just gets you tripping. In this sense it's kind of closer to jazz. In a way it's a weird mix. If you take a jazz band centred around a female singer that kind of gives off a poppy vibe, that sounds somewhat like Fluxious. Now, if you add to it groovy guitars, this thick kind of fat, rolling bass sound, and make drums crisper and metal-like, you are getting closer. If, on top of that, you take into account the jazzy song structure, and make it heavy and edgy, you start to get the idea of how it all sounds.

A special kind of treat is the female singer, Joana Desfosses that fits this music perfectly. And while I like her somewhat ordinary (without any underlying meaning) sounding voice, there are small details that bother me. The band being Swiss, I can't help that they could use the services of - what you call the spell checker, only for pronunciation - yeah, that person! There are just occasional moments when it really rubs the wrong way. Other than that, the music and the vocals work excellently together.

In conclusion I have to say that the mix of jazz and metal that Fluxious offers really has the kick. They have what it takes to pull it off and make this formula work really well. I also can't help thinking that I feel about Fluxious a bit the same way as I did about District 97 that made into MS Awards 2010. While not exactly similar, these two bands do appear to have common qualities. If you liked District 97, you most definitely shouldn't pass this one by. If you don't know either one, well... shouldn't you already be checking them out?!


 



Written on 02.06.2011 by I shoot people.

Sometimes, I also write about it.


Comments

Comments: 21   Visited by: 234 users
02.06.2011 - 11:25
Ag Fox
Angel No More
You dampened my high enthusiasm of checking out the music by mentioning District 97 XD (the rest I was totally sold haha)
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 12:05
Ivor
Staff
Written by Ag Fox on 02.06.2011 at 11:25

You dampened my high enthusiasm of checking out the music by mentioning District 97 XD (the rest I was totally sold haha)

Now, I didn't say that if you didn't like District 97 you should skip this one, did I? So, keep being sold.

I.
----
No friends for playing games
No foes who scorn my name
Computerized machines of steel and rust
/---/
No friends in my house on Mars
No foes in my house on Mars
I was born in my house on Mars
I will die in my house on Mars
-- Ayreon - My House on Mars
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 12:39
seafood
Actually , mentioning District 97 was something that definitely sold me . But I knew I would have to check it out anyway as soon as I read the third sentence. Always been interested in bands that mix jazz and metal for some reason.
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 14:38
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Curious. Will check it out.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 14:55
Pyramid God
Not my cup of tea, thats for sure.
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 15:16
Mikrokosmos
Account deleted
Judging from the song "inside" I wouldn't say jazz but r'n'b or Beyonce-like stuff
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 16:17
Windrider
Raureif
Nice review... But I really do hate Jazz.
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 16:46
bluegreengod
Account deleted
Mmmyeah..no
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 17:13
JohnDoe
Account deleted
I'm curious, I'm gonna look for this.
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 17:27
Rupert
This is much more appealing to me than District 97, but I get why you mentioned them.
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 19:12
Daydream Nation
Account deleted
Hmm...this is an interesting album. I love jazz-fusion, so I'm going to check this out.
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 19:21
Tetravirulence
Jazz and metal, definitely going to check 'em out, thanks for the review
----
Metal News Community!! http://head-metal-bangers.blogspot.com

RIP Juhani Palomaki (1977-2010)
Loading...
02.06.2011 - 19:49
silenius
Om nom nom nom, getting my hands on this one fo'sho
Loading...
03.06.2011 - 00:38
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
I have listened to the first five tracks on the way to university, and I have to say that the review describes what you can hear on this album ridiculously precisely. I don't have an opinion about the music yet, but the review is great! Good job!
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
04.06.2011 - 01:23
THIS_IS_MY_ID
Wow, just started second album spin in a row. So easy to listen, it just sucks you in. Great music.
Loading...
04.06.2011 - 21:51
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Written by Ag Fox on 02.06.2011 at 11:25

You dampened my high enthusiasm of checking out the music by mentioning District 97 XD (the rest I was totally sold haha)


My thoughts exactly. I actually groaned out loud when I read that. XD
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
22.06.2011 - 20:16
Susan
Smeghead
So I read this review back when you published but am just today listening to the album finally. Consider my life CHANGED. Wow, shit this is great music. As you say, "the mix of jazz and metal that Fluxious offers really has the kick." And how.

It's such a special day when you hear something really unique and enjoyable.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
22.06.2011 - 20:46
Thryce
Retired Staff
Came for the Dark Knight reference. Leaving unsatisfied.
----
Your favorite band sucks.
Loading...
23.06.2011 - 01:15
Ivor
Staff
Written by K†ulu on 03.06.2011 at 00:38
...I have to say that the review describes what you can hear on this album ridiculously precisely...

Sorry for late reply, but love this comment.

Written by Susan on 22.06.2011 at 20:16

So I read this review back when you published but am just today listening to the album finally. Consider my life CHANGED. Wow, shit this is great music. As you say, "the mix of jazz and metal that Fluxious offers really has the kick." And how.

It's such a special day when you hear something really unique and enjoyable.

Te-hee, that wasn't the first nor will likely be the last discovery.

Written by Thryce on 22.06.2011 at 20:46

Came for the Dark Knight reference. Leaving unsatisfied.

Aw, ma-an, that'd would have been great if not for the fact that I ain't seen the movie. Had to look up the reference myself now.

I.
----
No friends for playing games
No foes who scorn my name
Computerized machines of steel and rust
/---/
No friends in my house on Mars
No foes in my house on Mars
I was born in my house on Mars
I will die in my house on Mars
-- Ayreon - My House on Mars
Loading...
01.08.2011 - 00:04
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Definitely an interesting release. I need more listens though.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
21.09.2014 - 11:38
germinator
Hello everybody,
If some of you are inrested; Fluxious will released a new album on 21st of october 2014 called : Nucleus Accumbens Diseases"
Here is a link to listen to one of the new songs :
Loading...

Hits total: 5349 | This month: 19