Sepultura - Kairos review



Reviewer:
4.0

195 users:
6.84
Band: Sepultura
Album: Kairos
Release date: June 2011


01. Spectrum
02. Kairos
03. Relentless
04. (2011)
05. Just One Fix [Ministry cover]
06. Dialog
07. Mask
08. (1433)
09. Seethe
10. Born Strong
11. Embrace The Storm
12. (5772)
13. No One Will Stand
14. Structure Violence (Azzes)
15. (4648)
16. Firestarter [The Prodigy cover] [Deluxe edition bonus]
17. Point Of No Return [Deluxe edition bonus]
+ Making Of DVD [Deluxe edition bonus]


Sepultura's history is common knowledge. For those who didn't write the band off ten years ago, the last two albums Dante XXI and A-Lex were actually worth some time and gave back the Sepultura name some respect. Now with the band's first Nuclear Blast release Kairos has gone and blown it all away again.

Kairos is one of the limpest thrash metal albums you could have the misfortune of hearing. As much as Sepultura were re-building their reputation as fighters against the odds, there is absolutely no excuse for this sorry excuse of an album. The concept behind the album is time, which is probably the most apt theme this album could have had for its ability of making an hour seem like two.

"Relentless", "Born Strong" and "No One Will Stand" are the least bland moments of the album, aside from the cover of The Prodigy's "Firestarter" hidden on the track "4648". None of these songs have any of the conviction found on the band's last two albums, and are openly banal and weak in comparison. Sepultura even manage to conjure an entirely uncalled for lifeless cover of Ministry's "Just One Fix" to add insult to injury.

Kairos is an embarrassing gift to the band's fans for their optimistic support over the last years. Tedious, half-hearted, and just plain flat, Kairos is an album that no one needs to hear and the band would have done better without even releasing.

--

Thrash metal
Brazil
Length: 53:10
Nuclear Blast


Rating breakdown
Performance: 5
Songwriting: 3
Originality: 5
Production: 7


 



Written on 12.06.2011 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments page 3 / 3

Comments: 80   Visited by: 599 users
03.01.2012 - 18:58
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Guest on 27.11.2011 at 01:00

Written by sepulkisser on 18.11.2011 at 04:40

HAHAHA... This review makes me laugh!!!! Absolutely blinded by the past!

2 last albums was really AWESOME... because have an insane drummer like Jean Dolabella. That added the heavy side that Seps needed!!

Igor was tired to play heavy music and now he wants to become the best DJ on the world! And that's the real reason why he leaves Sepultura... The Cavalera Conspiracy project is only for money... no more! In fact, he doesn´t made music or lyrics... he only played that Max made!

Back to the review... KAIROS is a Metal Album. In the line of Chaos AD, or maybe better, because Chaos was written with a lot of hardcore influence!

The only problem here is that all the haters missing Max & Igor... And maybe you've got all the reason.
But the album is fucking insane!

And last but not least... I never liked Sepultura for Cavaleras, I was and I'm still fan of Andreas Kisser... The real spirit of the band!! And I'm very happy that he can demonstrate day by day a Brazilian Fans Quote: "WHO NEEDS CAVALERAS?"

Sepultura is Kisser... SEPULKISSER!!

P.D. For all the haters.... ¡¡¡É SEPULTURA CARALHO!!!




when are they bringing that show back

as for the album, i can sum it up with two characters...


:/
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 20:35
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by sepulkisser on 18.11.2011 at 04:40

2 last albums was really AWESOME... because have an insane drummer like Jean Dolabella. That added the heavy side that Seps needed!!


No idea who the drummer is on the last two albums but live it's the 20 year old Eloy Casagrande who is vastly superior to anything Igor could ever do. Live Sepultura nowadays is also vastly superiro than to what Sepultura live ever was with Max and Igor. I am sure Max is crying his eyes out that he could never even managed to get near to the live level of current day Sepultura
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
03.01.2012 - 20:39
Angelic Storm
Melodious
^^ It's really sad watching Max live now. It's like he's become a parody of himself. His live vocals are terrible, and he plays guitar even less now than he did when he was in Sepultura. Makes me wonder why he even straps a guitar on at all for live performances... And this is coming from someone who loves Sep's classic material with Max.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 20:52
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Angelic Storm on 03.01.2012 at 20:39

^^ It's really sad watching Max live now. It's like he's become a parody of himself. His live vocals are terrible, and he plays guitar even less now than he did when he was in Sepultura. Makes me wonder why he even straps a guitar on at all for live performances... And this is coming from someone who loves Sep's classic material with Max.


Max was never any good live, not even in Sepultura's heydays. And i am still puzzled why he had a guitar strapped on in that era. All he ever did was play one string max. Current Sepultura proves the songs sound just as good with one guitar instead of the two back then. But like I ssaid curentday Sepultura is a live beast whereas old Sepultura were good at best on their good days.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
03.01.2012 - 21:08
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.01.2012 at 20:52
But like I ssaid curentday Sepultura is a live beast whereas old Sepultura were good at best on their good days.

WTF happened on the studio then? black magic?!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 21:16
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 21:08
WTF happened on the studio then? black magic?!

aliens.jpg
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 21:18
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2012 at 21:08

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.01.2012 at 20:52
But like I ssaid curentday Sepultura is a live beast whereas old Sepultura were good at best on their good days.

WTF happened on the studio then? black magic?!


Well, Kisser, Max, Igor, Paulo Jr. together could write a mean tune whereas Kisser on his own can't or even with the current line-up.
But being able to write good songs does not equate being good live.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
03.01.2012 - 21:29
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.01.2012 at 21:18
Well, Kisser, Max, Igor, Paulo Jr. together could write a mean tune whereas Kisser on his own can't or even with the current line-up.
But being able to write good songs does not equate being good live.


I would dispute that Seps weren't good live in their heyday, although yep, Max isn't anywhere near the likes of James Hetfield, Dave Mustaine, or Mille Petrozza as a live rhythm guitarist. But his live vocals were a lot better back then than now. If we're comparing them now, it's no contest. Derrick destroys Max when it comes to singing live.

As for the songwriting, I think what the split has proven is that the original band (not counting Wagner or Jairo T! ) was far greater than the sum of it's parts. Although I do find "Roots" to be weaker than some of the Derrick era material. People say Max was Sepultura, but he has released nothing outside of Sepultura that comes anywhere the quality of late 80's/early 90's Sepultura.
Loading...
03.01.2012 - 21:41
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Angelic Storm on 03.01.2012 at 21:29

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.01.2012 at 21:18
Well, Kisser, Max, Igor, Paulo Jr. together could write a mean tune whereas Kisser on his own can't or even with the current line-up.
But being able to write good songs does not equate being good live.


I would dispute that Seps weren't good live in their heyday,


I have seen them countless times during their Beneath The Remains and Arise era and also during the time they went downhill with Chaos A.D. and Roots and at their best Sepultura were good live never great.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
03.01.2012 - 21:52
Angelic Storm
Melodious
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.01.2012 at 21:41
I have seen them countless times during their Beneath The Remains and Arise era and also during the time they went downhill with Chaos A.D. and Roots and at their best Sepultura were good live never great.


I've seen them twice live when Max was in the band, and both times thought they were great. Max has definitely deteriorated a lot since those days, in my eyes.
Loading...
27.02.2012 - 14:56
Moosh666
Max Cavalera died many years ago to be replaced by a Rob Zombie impersonator.
Loading...
16.03.2012 - 22:46
sepulkisser
Sepultura played for first time in "Wacken". And now They were invited by Metallica to play in the Orion fest.... All for "KAIROS"!!!

¡¡¡That be hurts haters!!!
Loading...
27.11.2012 - 18:04
Ralle
Great album, best without Max !!!
Loading...
27.11.2012 - 18:59
@gent_-_orange
Written by Ralle on 27.11.2012 at 18:04

Great album, best without Max !!!

That honour belongs to Dante IMO which is a very strong album in its own right.

I guess I should check this out, But I am not expecting much.
----
Alone he sits, A vanquished Lord upon an oaken throne, presiding o'er this conflict that chills him to the bone, for each tarnished blade that festers is a thorn thrust in his side and his pain alone bears witness to the folly of mankind.
Loading...
28.11.2012 - 14:22
Ralle
Kairos rules,my old school thrash metal friends also love this album
Dante is good, but this is better:banger:
Loading...
11.09.2013 - 13:50
Psilopylot
Such a bad subjective review. That's all I need to say. Let me tell you what Max is now. A zero. Fat lazy zero. He let himself go. These guys are doing much better then he is now.
Loading...
12.09.2013 - 21:13
@gent_-_orange
Written by Psilopylot on 11.09.2013 at 13:50

Such a bad subjective review.

But all reviews are subjective.
----
Alone he sits, A vanquished Lord upon an oaken throne, presiding o'er this conflict that chills him to the bone, for each tarnished blade that festers is a thorn thrust in his side and his pain alone bears witness to the folly of mankind.
Loading...
13.09.2013 - 18:16
Psilopylot
Written by @gent_-_orange on 12.09.2013 at 21:13

Written by Psilopylot on 11.09.2013 at 13:50

Such a bad subjective review.

But all reviews are subjective.

But not completely
subjective.
Loading...
13.09.2013 - 20:54
@gent_-_orange
Written by Psilopylot on 13.09.2013 at 18:16

But not completely
subjective.

The only thing I can see being reviewed objectively is the musicianship on the album, The quality of the songs is an entirely subjective matter.
----
Alone he sits, A vanquished Lord upon an oaken throne, presiding o'er this conflict that chills him to the bone, for each tarnished blade that festers is a thorn thrust in his side and his pain alone bears witness to the folly of mankind.
Loading...
20.09.2013 - 09:31
Pepe44
The only problem with this review is that you mention how this is a thrash album, the problem with that is that they only used elements of thrash which doesn't make this album entirely a thrash album, which is what you are trying to imply. This is definitely not a straight up thrash album, if you're going to critique this album on that basis then I can see how you score it a 4. I can see that you really don't like this album, but please don't say that it's thrash.
Cheers
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 14415 | This month: 44