Rating:
9.0
Angizia - Kokon. Ein Schaurig-schönes Schachtelstück
11 February 2011


01. Borstig. Schaurig. Flackernd.
02. Spindelgroll
03. Ein Quäntchen Gift
04. Graues Meer
05. Es Ist Leidenschaft.
06. Nichts An Mir weckt Begehr
07. Ich
08. Die Bratsche Klingt Nach Klammer Luft
09. Leise Feuer Brennt In Brunst
10. Sack Und Asche
11. Aus Traum Und Tanz. Ein Walzer.
12. Maß Für Maß
13. Der Verfall
14. Flammen Flüstern
15. Neigung Zum Nichts
16. Bühne, Still


Austrian avant-garde act Angizia had its very own course in the world of music. Yet, after their fifth attempt, Ein Toter Fährt Gern Ringelspiel, a long period of silence began. Seven years had to pass for the band to get back on track with Kokon. Ein Schaurig-schönes Schachtelstück, another multi-faceted work that tries to develop the next step upon the sound pathway they started forging since the marvelous Das Schachbrett Des Trommelbuben Zacharias.

Of course they have progressed since then and there's nothing close to metal music in here anymore (except for "Maß Für Maß"). Kokon is the natural continuation of 39 Jahre Für Den Leierkastenmann and Ein Toter Fährt Gern Ringelspiel. Angizia set sail once again in a vast ocean of sounds, emotions and depths filled with intensity, theatrical aura and utterly expressive interpretations. Apart from the elements coming straight from the aforementioned releases, you can't but witness references to Gogol Bordello, transforming the soundscapes from gypsy punk to a gypsy operetta show (due to the absence of distorted guitars) and a Tiger Lilies and Antony and the Johnsons aesthetic getting infused with the theatrical, neoclassical cabaret sound they possess. A post-modern anachronistic, no matter how contradictive it may sound, experience of German lyricism and creative genius implementing amusement park, feast and circus aesthetics through a paranoid and highly expressive collective of charismatic musicians.

Kokon is a more straight-forward release and another in depth and introspect work at the same time. A variety of instruments partake, such as the seductive piano, the beauteous viola, the cello, the acoustic guitars and the rhythm section (vivid bass lines and creative drums & percussion!), blending in perfect harmony with Michael's impenetrable core of ever-expanding, ecstatic dementia or more fragile side and Irene's floating, crystal voice. Of course you have to adore the spot-on, non-verbose and affected virtuosity or jamming parts that escalate the compositions whenever they make their grandiose appearance. A big plus has to be the very good and rewarding production, keeping a golden balance between the sound actors in the overall play and giving prominence to any instrument asking for it at the right time, in the right place, without burying the rest.

Angizia have a lot more to offer and I really hope that the next album won't take another seven years to come to the surface. As for now, I will keep on diving in Kokon's thin red line, somewhere between boiling tranquility and explosive drama, anger and melancholy, madness and serenity.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 15.06.2011 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 170  
Search this topic:  


Ag Fox - 16.06.2011 at 01:47  
Never heard of this band before, but I think I would still like something more metal. Mind pointing me to an album of their discography that has a more metallic edge?
DerRozzengarten - 16.06.2011 at 01:52  
Written by Ag Fox on 16.06.2011 at 01:47

Never heard of this band before, but I think I would still like something more metal. Mind pointing me to an album of their discography that has a more metallic edge?

The first two are more metal but despite being good they have a more primary and kind of repetitive edge, so i'd say their big masterpiece, "Das Schachbrett Des Trommelbuben Zacharias", the third one You gotta love their titles
Ag Fox - 16.06.2011 at 01:55  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 16.06.2011 at 01:52

Written by Ag Fox on 16.06.2011 at 01:47

Never heard of this band before, but I think I would still like something more metal. Mind pointing me to an album of their discography that has a more metallic edge?

The first two are more metal but despite being good they have a more primary and kind of repetitive edge, so i'd say their big masterpiece, "Das Schachbrett Des Trommelbuben Zacharias", the third one You gotta love their titles
yeah... i love them, especially when I don't even know how to pronounce them or even know what it means XD But thanks! Just added to my wishlist to remind myself when I'm in for something avantgarde
DerRozzengarten - 16.06.2011 at 01:57  
Written by Ag Fox on 16.06.2011 at 01:55

Written by DerRozzengarten on 16.06.2011 at 01:52

Written by Ag Fox on 16.06.2011 at 01:47

Never heard of this band before, but I think I would still like something more metal. Mind pointing me to an album of their discography that has a more metallic edge?

The first two are more metal but despite being good they have a more primary and kind of repetitive edge, so i'd say their big masterpiece, "Das Schachbrett Des Trommelbuben Zacharias", the third one You gotta love their titles
yeah... i love them, especially when I don't even know how to pronounce them or even know what it means XD But thanks! Just added to my wishlist to remind myself when I'm in for something avantgarde

Aight! At first, i had written "blablablabla zacharias" xD but then i said, let's go to the band page and (copy)write it properly xD
Kuroboshi - 17.06.2011 at 01:30  
You've convinced me to check this out.
DerRozzengarten - 17.06.2011 at 01:32  
Written by Kuroboshi on 17.06.2011 at 01:30

You've convinced me to check this out.

Don't expect metal though
Lokaeda - 17.06.2011 at 02:05  
Excellent band
Kuroboshi - 17.06.2011 at 12:37  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.06.2011 at 01:32

Written by Kuroboshi on 17.06.2011 at 01:30

You've convinced me to check this out.

Don't expect metal though

I only listen to metal because metal pleases my ears (and metal concerts are waay more fun), and other genres can succeed at that too! One of my fave bands is Swedish Kent, if you know them.
annodomini - 18.06.2011 at 21:17  
You should imagine how I was shocked when early this year I stumbled on this album in some magazine, and thought "OMG is this the same Angizia?", and the best point is that yes, it's the same Angizia with it's trademark sound. I love what they are doing and thank God that there are no metal in this album, cause this music soounds great the way it is.
PocketMetal - 18.10.2012 at 20:42  
I love this kinda music , thanks for the review . the only problem I find is some sections sound a lot like Devil Doll but I can't understand the words which makes it a little boring , but there is enough awesome parts . gonna check their other releases .

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Angizia - Kokon. Ein Schaurig-schönes Schachtelstück 9 01.02.2011 by cluster53
Reviews Blutengel - The Oxidising Angel 3 16.04.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Forest Of Shadows - Under The Dying Sun - Promo 3 13.11.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Sarah Jezebel Deva - A Sign Of Sublime 3 14.09.2010 by
Reviews Moonspell - Under The Moonspell 3 16.05.2008 by Uirapuru



Hits total: 3783 | This month: 55