Woods Of Desolation - Torn Beyond Reason review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.5

154 users:
8.56
Band: Woods Of Desolation
Album: Torn Beyond Reason
Release date: February 2011


01. Torn Beyond Reason
02. Darker Days
03. An Unbroken Moment
04. The Inevitable End
05. November
06. Somehow...


The depressive duo of Tim "Sorrow" Yatras and the man known only as "D" are back with yet another chilling display of a statuesque journey through melancholia, venturing only so far from the true path of solitude with Woods Of Desolation in order to entice the audience enough to gain a mutual understanding of nature's purest form of torment.

Woods of desolation. A barren wasteland. Emptiness. A deserted territory. These images are captured perfectly not only by the spellbinding cover art, but by the mournful atmosphere that nicks a vein and leaves you with a band-aid and a cup of cold water to stop the bleeding. It tears at your cheek with a mighty force, ripping you from the comfort of your abyss, scrutinizes you, evaluates your worth, inspects you for flaws, scoffs at your lack of purpose, considers removing you from your shelter permanently...only to toss you back in again.

It's a catch-and-release expression of pity and joy, a game of cat and mouse interrupted by one of Tolkien's ring-wraiths shrieking before the stupefied animals, as diluted drums blast away in the undertow. Acoustic guitars make their presence felt when necessary, calming the chaos and giving reason to the anarchy, while the profound (and unfortunately all too rare) cello use sends ripples through your wrists as the tide begins to rise.

The austerity of such a release has been watered down slightly, perhaps due to the outside influence of a certain stone-colored water involving our beloved duo - nevertheless, the trees are imposing as ever, and there's nobody else around to hear them fall.


MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/woodsofdesolation


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 10


 



Written on 19.06.2011 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments page 2 / 3

Comments: 68   Visited by: 524 users
20.06.2011 - 11:49
Slayer666
Pretty cool stuff, though I sure as hell don't think it deserves this much praise and a 9.5.
Loading...
20.06.2011 - 12:49
Merchant of Doom
Written by Slayer666 on 20.06.2011 at 11:49

Pretty cool stuff, though I sure as hell don't think it deserves this much praise and a 9.5.



It's a great album, but indeed why 9.5? That's nearly perfection. I would say maybe an 8. Good effort, though.
Loading...
20.06.2011 - 13:15
Thryce
Retired Staff
Oh wow, I think I TOTALLY feel this review cryptic prose poetry. In order to "get" Woods Of Desolation, you have to "become" a wood of desolation. What I learn from this review is that you'll have to take a long evening walk in a forest, buried in thoughts, and then lose the way, until you get to an open spot, then strip naked and gaze at the moon. And while your dick flaps in a gentle breeze, you'll understand what this is all about... Pretty sure that's what Troy's trying to say.
----
Your favorite band sucks.
Loading...
20.06.2011 - 14:01
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Merchant of Doom on 20.06.2011 at 12:49

It's a great album, but indeed why 9.5?

Ratings are but a reflection of personal taste. Because I identified with this album on a more..."philosophical" level, it spoke to me more than a lot of other releases; hence the high rating.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
20.06.2011 - 14:05
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Void Eater on 20.06.2011 at 07:03

Really, this read just like your joke review of Deathday 666. A bunch of metaphors, some cliche description words, and no description of the actual music.

Written by Thryce on 20.06.2011 at 13:15

Oh wow, I think I TOTALLY feel this review cryptic prose poetry.

Don't worry guys, I'll publish more cookie-cutter diatribes in the near future, I assure you.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
20.06.2011 - 14:18
Merchant of Doom
Written by Troy Killjoy on 20.06.2011 at 14:01

Written by Merchant of Doom on 20.06.2011 at 12:49

It's a great album, but indeed why 9.5?

Ratings are but a reflection of personal taste. Because I identified with this album on a more..."philosophical" level, it spoke to me more than a lot of other releases; hence the high rating.


Fair enough... Can I now intervene in this debate about your "wanky" reviews of late? I actually don't mind them at all, although when you descend to a more personal level, you will always find people who are going to dislike them. Troy, stick to your guns!
Loading...
20.06.2011 - 14:33
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Merchant of Doom on 20.06.2011 at 14:18

Fair enough... Can I now intervene in this debate about your "wanky" reviews of late? I actually don't mind them at all, although when you descend to a more personal level, you will always find people who are going to dislike them. Troy, stick to your guns!

Thanks for the input...they seem to be getting mixed reviews (irony), but they're fun to write and some people seem to enjoy them more than my regular style of reviews. As I've said before, I have another one upcoming in a similar style...that might be the deciding factor in whether or not I keep going with them.

After all, a bit of controversy is good for the forums, no?
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
20.06.2011 - 15:04
Merchant of Doom
Written by Troy Killjoy on 20.06.2011 at 14:33


After all, a bit of controversy is good for the forums, no?


Absolutely. But can I say one thing: you shouldn't change your style only because people dislike it. At the end of the day, you need to enjoy what you are doing, otherwise it's pointless and - yes - it becomes even more of a 'job'. And you'd stop doing them eventually.
Loading...
21.06.2011 - 00:05
Void Eater
Crunkcore Fan
Written by Thryce on 20.06.2011 at 13:15

Oh wow, I think I TOTALLY feel this review cryptic prose poetry. In order to "get" Woods Of Desolation, you have to "become" a wood of desolation. What I learn from this review is that you'll have to take a long evening walk in a forest, buried in thoughts, and then lose the way, until you get to an open spot, then strip naked and gaze at the moon. And while your dick flaps in a gentle breeze, you'll understand what this is all about... Pretty sure that's what Troy's trying to say.

And remember, it has to be snowing outside, and there should be an echo of a wolf howling in the woods every once in a while. And after listening to the album, you must sit down, close your eyes, and reflect on what you just heard. Otherwise, you just won't get it.
----
Loading...
21.06.2011 - 00:09
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Void Eater on 20.06.2011 at 07:03

As far as the album goes, a step up from the previous snoozefest, but still not spectacular. Some people need to realize that raw guitar tone+long repetitive songs+'tortured' black metal shrieks =/= atmosphere. And the addition of keys does not make automatically turn an album atmospheric.


I think this album is way more than what you are describing but whatever... Tastes differ. Atmosphere ain't something objective anyway.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
21.06.2011 - 00:42
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.06.2011 at 00:09

Atmosphere ain't something objective anyway.

Quite right.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
21.06.2011 - 00:52
ravendeath
Written by Troy Killjoy on 21.06.2011 at 00:42

Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.06.2011 at 00:09

Atmosphere ain't something objective anyway.

Quite right.

+1
Loading...
21.06.2011 - 07:32
Thryce
Retired Staff
Written by Void Eater on 21.06.2011 at 00:05

Written by Thryce on 20.06.2011 at 13:15

Oh wow, I think I TOTALLY feel this review cryptic prose poetry. In order to "get" Woods Of Desolation, you have to "become" a wood of desolation. What I learn from this review is that you'll have to take a long evening walk in a forest, buried in thoughts, and then lose the way, until you get to an open spot, then strip naked and gaze at the moon. And while your dick flaps in a gentle breeze, you'll understand what this is all about... Pretty sure that's what Troy's trying to say.

And remember, it has to be snowing outside, and there should be an echo of a wolf howling in the woods every once in a while. And after listening to the album, you must sit down, close your eyes, and reflect on what you just heard. Otherwise, you just won't get it.

Sounds pretty gay. I rather stick to running around naked in the forest.
----
Your favorite band sucks.
Loading...
22.06.2011 - 07:52
hadriel
Another sick band and an even better review for it. Can't decide if I like this review or Roads to Judah better, they're both great. Well done and thank you for finding me another one of my fav albums of the year.
Loading...
22.06.2011 - 09:56
Monolithic
♠♠♠
Where greater bands have problem repeating their success and popularity, lesser known bands make me feel hopeful about the future of the metal scene around the world. While I was expecting the band to be from Scandinavia (I really thought the band was from Scandinavia, due to its reputation as being the birthplace of many Extreme Metal musicians) I was shocked that my thesis was proven to be wrong and they're from Australia.The only downside to this album is, you have to be in a particular mood to achieve maximum joy and pleasure, after all IT IS ATMOSPHERIC
Loading...
22.06.2011 - 12:22
Slayer666
Written by Thryce on 21.06.2011 at 07:32

Written by Void Eater on 21.06.2011 at 00:05

Written by Thryce on 20.06.2011 at 13:15

Oh wow, I think I TOTALLY feel this review cryptic prose poetry. In order to "get" Woods Of Desolation, you have to "become" a wood of desolation. What I learn from this review is that you'll have to take a long evening walk in a forest, buried in thoughts, and then lose the way, until you get to an open spot, then strip naked and gaze at the moon. And while your dick flaps in a gentle breeze, you'll understand what this is all about... Pretty sure that's what Troy's trying to say.

And remember, it has to be snowing outside, and there should be an echo of a wolf howling in the woods every once in a while. And after listening to the album, you must sit down, close your eyes, and reflect on what you just heard. Otherwise, you just won't get it.

Sounds pretty gay. I rather stick to running around naked in the forest.

Or just stick to your Deathcore. You're obviously not tr00 enough to understand this.
Loading...
22.06.2011 - 13:53
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by hadriel on 22.06.2011 at 07:52

Another sick band and an even better review for it. Can't decide if I like this review or Roads to Judah better, they're both great. Well done and thank you for finding me another one of my fav albums of the year.

Thanks, and you're welcome.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
23.06.2011 - 05:10
Mikyz
So which do you think is better Austere's To Lay Like Old Ashes or this one? Because imo this album, as inspiring as it is, has its flaws, not flagrant mind you but after a series of listens I noticed how the production gets in the way of some moments that could have been monolithic were they not swallowed in by an overly conscious atmosphere and some extra fuzziness like in Somehow... because the melodies are way too bewitching and melancholic to be fuzzed out randomly. I'd give Austere the advantage, not an absolute advantage but a comparative one.

So it's a great album, and the review does it more than justice, can't blame you for the fanboyism god knows I'm all to familiar with the concept.
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
23.06.2011 - 10:02
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
I REALLY love the production tbh.... Love the fuzzy sound.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
23.06.2011 - 11:05
Mikyz
Written by Mr. Doctor on 23.06.2011 at 10:02

I REALLY love the production tbh.... Love the fuzzy sound.


It's subjective really, if you give atmosphere the edge over clearer musicianship the production should suit you just fine. But I honestly think that a production with less "fuzziness" would push the emotional interpretation of the album beyond its current barrier, which is as thick as paper so it really isn't a deal breaker or anything, just something that could enhance the experience. XD
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
23.06.2011 - 18:53
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mikyz on 23.06.2011 at 05:10

So which do you think is better Austere's To Lay Like Old Ashes or this one?

Austere > WoD, by a microscopic hair.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
24.06.2011 - 22:58
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
Written by Thryce on 20.06.2011 at 13:15

Oh wow, I think I TOTALLY feel this review cryptic prose poetry. In order to "get" Woods Of Desolation, you have to "become" a wood of desolation. What I learn from this review is that you'll have to take a long evening walk in a forest, buried in thoughts, and then lose the way, until you get to an open spot, then strip naked and gaze at the moon. And while your dick flaps in a gentle breeze, you'll understand what this is all about... Pretty sure that's what Troy's trying to say.



Post of the year so far for me.
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
24.06.2011 - 23:30
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Wow, just noticed that 'An Unbroken Moment' is totally ripping off Alcest's 'Écailles de Lune (Part II)'
Loading...
24.06.2011 - 23:34
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 24.06.2011 at 23:30

Wow, just noticed that 'An Unbroken Moment' is totally ripping off Alcest's 'Écailles de Lune (Part II)'

Ya, my first reaction upon hearing this album was "Alcest. These guys must really dig Écailles de lune."

Which is fine by me; I fuckin' love that album.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
24.06.2011 - 23:35
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 24.06.2011 at 23:34

is album was "Alcest. These guys must really dig Écailles de lune."

Which is fine by me; I fuckin' love that album.

Well you can't have too much of a good thing ;]
Loading...
28.06.2011 - 01:47
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 24.06.2011 at 23:30

Wow, just noticed that 'An Unbroken Moment' is totally ripping off Alcest's 'Écailles de Lune (Part II)'


Yeah... There are tons of EdL influence on this album. It's weird though as the atmosphere is completely different for me. The production is different as well. But holy shit this is good.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
14.07.2011 - 06:28
Fallen_Empire
LP is available for purchase here in the USA through Fallen Empire

http://fallenempirestore.bigcartel.com/

Can't get enough of this album personally, album of 2011 for me so far.
Loading...
12.10.2011 - 00:29
Frost Beast
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.06.2011 at 14:20

Written by Carl Berg on 19.06.2011 at 14:10

Dude, this is one of the best written reviews of this year. Well done, and great job of giving back the atmosphere of such a unique and grand album.

Thanks!

Yeah, he's right. Well done, you wrote a great review for a beast of an album.
Loading...
08.12.2011 - 17:00
3rdWorldFuckface
Account deleted
I gonna check this out;....it better b goood
Loading...
08.12.2011 - 17:25
3rdWorldFuckface
Account deleted
If i lik this...i will also check out austere in the futur
Loading...

Hits total: 9356 | This month: 39