Rating:
9.2
Enthrope - Tomorrow's Dead Days
2 June 2010


01. Cloud Six
02. The Last Lunation
03. Moon Chains Descent
04. Illumination Paradox
05. Enemy Within
06. End It All
07. Dead Sun Fragment
08. The Desolate
09. Stars Of Nhagrad


Melodic death metal is an exhausted genre which had very limited means of expression in the first place. But since it sold so well to adolescent metal fans with low expectations, it flourished on the barren soil of its narrow repertoire. Once in a while a promising band emerges, shines for a while and vanishes into the sea of mediocrity also called mainstream musical business, never to be heard again.

I sincerely hope that Enthrope will not share the fate of hundreds of bands before them. While not strictly a melodeath band, they do have enough distinguishing features of the genre that allow one to categorise them as such. Atmospheric melodic death metal with a dark progressive edge - how does that sound? Not too good, I agree. Fortunately, Enthrope's music sounds much much better. Rarely do we get a debut album from an obscure band that has such a fantastic, powerful and juicy sound. It feels like the music wants to tear itself out of the speakers and land on my head. Thundering bass drums, razor sharp and crystal clear guitars, deep bass guitar, keyboards - everything perfectly balanced.

The most beautiful thing is that the music itself is at least as excellent as its production, or even better. Mostly mid-tempo, with beautiful, relaxed guitar solos and catchy, memorable riffs. Occasional ethereal female vocals (especially in "The Desolate", where they play a major part) wonderfully complement male vocals, which range from deep growls to some clean singing. Every song is a separate story and, unlike most metal albums nowadays, every one of them is memorable and unique - lushly arranged, exquisite and elegant. Such rich and ripe compositions usually are the work of very experienced musicians, and, reading Enthrope's lineup I see that this is the case. Some of the members have been around since the mid-nineties.

I heard this album in 2011. If I listened to it when it was out, in 2010, it'd be the debut of the year for me. If you have an open mind for music that will challenge you, or if you want a slightly different take on a well know topic, give Enthrope a try. I can't imagine you could regret it.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Enthrope
Album: Tomorrow's Dead Days


 


written by Daniell | 15.07.2011



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 256  
Search this topic:  


Daniell - 15.07.2011 at 20:45  
This coming from someone who usually hates melodeath - it must be really good
MechanisT - 15.07.2011 at 20:48  
Excellent review!
"Atmospheric melodic death metal with a dark progressive edge"; absolutely spot on! I discovered this band from your staff pick, so I guess a big thank you is in order here for helping me discover this awesome-yet-obscure band! Agreed with the rating too. Excellent album.
Ag Fox - 16.07.2011 at 08:46  
I love this album too, and you brought it to my attention earlier in the year
Merchant of Doom - 16.07.2011 at 11:27  
Great album... definitely one of the best of 2010...
Milena - 16.07.2011 at 11:45  
Must listen to this.
Draugen - 16.07.2011 at 13:56  
Nice, will definitely check this one out.
JÄY - 16.07.2011 at 14:45  
Geez, with the description of the music, album title and cover art, ill im seeing is omnium gatherum. how similar is the music?
Daniell - 16.07.2011 at 16:06  
Completely dissimilar
Fuck associations, just listen to it!
The Benighted - 16.07.2011 at 17:52  
This was a really well constructed album. Great review, as well.
K†ulu - 16.07.2011 at 20:18  
Melodeath from finland is usually something prefer to skip, but your review intrigued me...
Maxx666 - 17.07.2011 at 16:47  
At last after almost 3 years i finally got a melo-death album which doesn't suck.. This album is simply wonderful, beautiful solos, memorable riffs and a subtle dark progressive edge to it just as said in the review.. You must get this... And nice review as always

This album delivers
Marcel Hubregtse - 29.07.2011 at 23:20  
Written by Daniell on 16.07.2011 at 16:06

Completely dissimilar
Fuck associations, just listen to it!


The prerfect cure for insomnia this album My God this is one of the most boring albums I have the displeasure to sit through for a long time. Great musicians but now they should learn to write great music as well
Cryzpin - 06.10.2011 at 13:04  
Totaly despise the review. This is an unmemorable, uninspiring essence of mediocrity. It just kicks me in the balls anytime I try to fully focus on and embrace the music.
And where the hell is exactly the talent you are all talking about?!
Daniell - 06.10.2011 at 16:03  
I take it you didn't like the album
IronArkadius666 - 22.05.2013 at 18:57  
Written by Daniell on 16.07.2011 at 16:06

Completely dissimilar
Fuck associations, just listen to it!


Actually I find this album quite similar to OG, maybe not to Beyond but now and then elements of NWS pop out at me, or rather elements of Enthrope pop out of NWS since this came first.
The "dark progressive" element you speak of I can hear on NWS and even SHOSW.

I don't know if you are a fan of OG, but I like to think of this album as a more perfected version of them.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Enthrope - Tomorrow's Dead Days 7.5 17.06.2011 by Ag Fox
Reviews Asphyx - Deathhammer 3 25.03.2012 by BitterCOld
Reviews Sonata Arctica - The Days Of Grays 2.5 17.09.2009 by Zenzero
Photo galleries Dutch Doom Days IX (Day 2) - Baroeg, Rotterdam, The Netherlands - Nov.7.2010 1.5 19.12.2010 by Marcel Hubregtse
Interviews Beseech - Sunless Days (Song by Song) 1.5 28.02.2008 by omjaimes



Hits total: 4476 | This month: 60