Rating:
8.3
Sleestak - The Fall Of Altrusia
July 2011


01. In The Beginning
02. Exiled From The City
03. The Prophecy Of The Great Sleep
04. Regression Within The Hive
05. Disturbance Of The Coccoon
06. The Marshall Prophecy
07. Pakuni Shaman Chant Of The Altrusian Moth


Five months ago I reviewed Sleestak's 2010 release, Skylon Express… in retrospect, underscoring it. Call it an 8. In any case I drew a comparison between them and the band immediately preceding them on my mp3 player, Sleep. Five months and one release later, they have furthered that comparison. Kind of. So I'm gonna run with that as my intro bit. Stoner Doom/Rock Sleep followed up their awesome Holy Mountain with the monolithic one track Dopesmoker… Stoner Doom/Rock Sleestak followed up their awesome Skylon Express with a "one track" epic The Fall Of Altrusia.

But that's where the similarities end.

Whereas Dopesmoker is basically two riffs over 50 minutes, The Fall Of Altrusia consists of songs that blend into one another, almost like chapters in a book. (These tracks are separate as well, so you can easily skip or back up.)

This go around the band has evolved from a Stoner Doom jam band into what could be described as Stoner Doom Psychedelic Space Rock. Or something like that. The band is still anchored in Stoner Doom, but in much the same way Halley's Comet is anchored by the Sun. Powerful doom riffs and shouted vocals make a stirring appearance before the band takes off for a long space voyage. For those slow with metaphor translation… this album is like 35% stoner doom and 65% tripping balls and floating through the cosmos.

The doomed sections sound great - everything sounds big, expansive, and powerful. It has impact.

The "space retro-psychedelic rock" sections have a bit of a 70's vibe to them, reminiscent of Pink Floyd's early work. Saucerful of Sleestak, anyone? Stripped down, clean guitar (with reverb!), sparse peripheral drumming, bass lifelines are combined with keyboards making for some cool retro-stylee space truckin'. In contrast to the sparse but crushing doomy bits, these passages are as mellow and hypnotic as an episode of "The Joy Of Painting" with Bob Ross. Happy little Sleestaks. These passages are well thought out and orchestrated… but still have a loose, jam feel to them. Great music to just lay back and chill out.

Speaking of sleestaks, this album, as with the band name and their last album, continue to thematically explore the heady concepts of a nearly forty year old kids show done on a shoestring budget… stuff that was far ahead of its time with concepts and ideas that are on par with Lost. For those that know the show, the band's attempt at immersion is complete enough to the point the closing track is a shamanic chant bit done in Pakuni, revering the Altrusian Moth found on the album cover art. (side note: fuck Chaka.)

Trying to break this down and adequately describe it in 500 words or so is a Herculean task, if not outright impossible. For sake of brevity/convenience I've basically broken it down into two sides on one coin, however the actual listening experience is vast and expansive. To continue the comet metaphor, it catapults you into the far reaches of the solar system and arcs back to return you from whence you came before launching off again. While on some level I'd like more time devoted to the crushing aspects of this album, the psychedelic sonic tangents are so easy to get caught up in that they render my "MOAR DOOM!" complaints mute. And moot. And while the band shows off their influences, they've succeeded at molding those influences into their own creation.

Highly recommended to those of you who find the loose concept of "Saucerful Of Sleep" intriguing.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Sleestak
Album: The Fall Of Altrusia


 



Written on 19.07.2011 by
Xnoybis
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by Xnoybis ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 208  
Search this topic:  


Lokaeda - 20.07.2011 at 00:34  
This is, imo, much more than some simple "stoner doom". judging from the songs on myspace, you have that "post" ambience which makes it join Arktika and such bands.
Susan - 20.07.2011 at 01:15  
"The band is still anchored in Stoner Doom, but in much the same way Halley's Comet is anchored by the Sun."



I reeeeeally need to hear this one.
Spirit Molecule - 20.07.2011 at 12:09  
I've been dying to give this a listen. But i haven't been home to check their myspace and myspace is blocked at work. Anyone have a link apart from myspace?
Sleestak - 20.07.2011 at 21:58  
You can always try http://reverbnation.com/sleestakmusic to listen, thank for the interest, please be sure to follow our blog at http://sleestakmusic.blogspot.com as we do have regular updates.
wormdrink414 - 20.07.2011 at 23:01  
Spammer! Ban them!
Xnoybis - 21.07.2011 at 01:32  
I assume there was something in between Sleestak's post and Wormy's remark that is no more...
wormdrink414 - 21.07.2011 at 01:40  
Nope. Just an impulse post because of the web addresses. Facepalm already taken care of.

Ordered the album yesterday, by the way.
Mattybu - 21.07.2011 at 06:18  
Based on the review on song names on this, I am interested. Disturbance of the motherfucking coccoon.
Spirit Molecule - 21.07.2011 at 12:55  
Written by Sleestak on 20.07.2011 at 21:58

You can always try http://reverbnation.com/sleestakmusic to listen, thank for the interest, please be sure to follow our blog at http://sleestakmusic.blogspot.com as we do have regular updates.


Cheers.
Boxcar Willy - 29.07.2011 at 18:38  
looks like a sick band will check 'em out!
Susan - 07.01.2012 at 05:12  
And today marks the day that I heard this album. It was a beautiful, beautiful day, which I will remember for ages to come.

WOW.

So I loved the review way back when and now I can appreciate it on a whole new level. LOVE the psychedelic bits, and I totally understand your last paragraph about being torn between writing about that and the crushing bits. And yes, it's mesmerizing on a Bob Ross level. I'm a "happy little Sleestak" now.

Seriously, this is one of the most wonderful things I've experienced this year. Laa de dah I'm off to fix my top list.
tea[m]ster - 08.01.2012 at 23:54  
Written by Susan on 07.01.2012 at 05:12

And today marks the day that I heard this album. It was a beautiful, beautiful day, which I will remember for ages to come.

WOW.

So I loved the review way back when and now I can appreciate it on a whole new level. LOVE the psychedelic bits, and I totally understand your last paragraph about being torn between writing about that and the crushing bits. And yes, it's mesmerizing on a Bob Ross level. I'm a "happy little Sleestak" now.

Seriously, this is one of the most wonderful things I've experienced this year. Laa de dah I'm off to fix my top list.


This one scares me. I am neither a stoner nor a doom fan. But I do like atmo. Someone said they are like Isis...in that case I may check out a youtube or myspace player song...like the one in my post/sludge/atmo thread
Mr. Doctor - 14.01.2012 at 18:31  
Written by tea[m]ster on 08.01.2012 at 23:54
I may check out a youtube or myspace player song...like the one in my post/sludge/atmo thread


There's hardly any need to do so considering that all their stuff can be streamed in their bandcamp.
tea[m]ster - 15.01.2012 at 06:23  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.01.2012 at 18:31

Written by tea[m]ster on 08.01.2012 at 23:54
I may check out a youtube or myspace player song...like the one in my post/sludge/atmo thread


There's hardly any need to do so considering that all their stuff can be streamed in their bandcamp.


well, downloaded a 27 minute sampling of Altrusia and it sounds alot like Isis to me...the bass guitar obviously...
Mr. Doctor - 15.01.2012 at 12:16  
Written by tea[m]ster on 15.01.2012 at 06:23
well, downloaded a 27 minute sampling of Altrusia and it sounds alot like Isis to me...the bass guitar obviously...


Never really cared for Isis so I can't comment so much on that. I see more Pink Floyd (specially Saucerful of Secrets era, including (and specially) the bass sound here) with stoner in the mix. Not so much the stuff I get from Isis most of the time.
Darkside Momo - 15.01.2012 at 14:18  
Hmmm. Interesting, but not my thing in the end.
Sleestak - 02.02.2012 at 06:28  
Who is voting for us in the awards!? grrrrrrr
tea[m]ster - 02.02.2012 at 07:25  
Written by Sleestak on 02.02.2012 at 06:28

Who is voting for us in the awards!? grrrrrrr


I did I did! Apparently their's something wrong with that
Xnoybis - 03.02.2012 at 03:02  
Written by Sleestak on 02.02.2012 at 06:28

Who is voting for us in the awards!? grrrrrrr


as a staffer, won't divulge my votes - don't want to use my vast position of incredible power to influence others' votes (specifically away from what i like, harhar) but i seem to remember some list which pretty much lays out where i went.
Sleestak - 04.02.2012 at 03:46  
Written by tea[m]ster on 02.02.2012 at 07:25

Written by Sleestak on 02.02.2012 at 06:28

Who is voting for us in the awards!? grrrrrrr


I did I did! Apparently their's something wrong with that



thats my total death metal call to arms.
Evil Chip - 08.02.2012 at 00:27  
Best stoner album of the year, if you can call it that way. This one got my vote.
Sleestak - 17.04.2012 at 06:32  
We have decided to give away "The Fall Of Altrusia" for FREE download once we get 1000 "likes" on our Facebook page. we have a ways to go but we'll get there. Spread the word and make sure you are on the list!

http://facebook.com/sleestakofficial
Daniell - 20.04.2012 at 21:23  
I can't believe I missed this one last year. What a great slab of delight.
Sleestak - 23.04.2012 at 06:32  
Updated shows, more in the works...

5/4/12
w/Sleestak, The Revomatics, and Pilot Airer.
at The Up And Under Pub, 1216 E. Brady St., Milwaukee, WI.
$5 cover. Show starts at 8pm.

6/1/12
w/Sleestak, and Lockjaw.
at Club Anything, 807 S 5th St, Milwaukee, WI.
Show starts at 8pm.

6/9/12
w/Sleestak, Deepspacepilots, Romero, and Killer Dolphin With Rabies.
at Dragonfly Lounge, 401 E. Washington Ave., Madison, WI.
Show starts at 8pm.

6/23/12
w/Sleestak, Earthen Grave, Rituals Of The Oak, En Masse.
at The End Zone, 1650 N. Farnsworth Avenue, Aurora, IL.
Show starts at 8pm.

http://sleestakmusic.com
http://facebook.com/sleestakofficial
Sleestak - 29.08.2012 at 04:05  
We're running a Kickstarter project to get some new Sleestak shirts made.

Take a look at the two new designs and back us up. These will only be printed once if our funding is successful.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/sleestak/new-sleestak-shirts

Thanks!
Xnoybis - 29.08.2012 at 06:31  
Written by Sleestak on 29.08.2012 at 04:05

We're running a Kickstarter project to get some new Sleestak shirts made.

Take a look at the two new designs and back us up. These will only be printed once if our funding is successful.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/sleestak/new-sleestak-shirts

Thanks!


heh. wearing the Sleestak, uh, Sleestak shirt tonight. like the Moon one.
Sleestak - 29.08.2012 at 14:56  
Nice, dude!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Sleestak - The Fall Of Altrusia 7.5 08.01.2012 by BloodTears
Reviews Station Dysthymia - Overhead, Without Any Fuss, The Stars Were Going Out 4.5 04.08.2013 by Apothecary
Reviews Thine - The Dead City Blueprint 4.5 30.07.2014 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Process Of Guilt - The Circle 4.5 26.12.2010 by Glabrezu
Reviews Fairyland - The Fall Of An Empire 4 30.10.2006 by Talvi



Hits total: 4713 | This month: 26