Rating:
8.0
Pantheist - O Solitude
10 April 2003


01. O Solitude
02. Don't Mourn
03. Time
04. Envy Us
05. Curse The Morning Light


Rainy night. Alone. The atmosphere is tense and you can hear your heartbeats. A candle reflects a pale light into the only mirror in the room, you feel somewhat empty, shallow… alone.

Have you ever felt like this or been in a similar situation? Well I did, and you know what was missing at the time? Pantheist! This album is the perfect soundtrack for sad and empty moments, really slow stuff filled with nothing but deep emotions…

Let's see with what are we dealing here, first of all if you don't like really slow Doom Metal with both clear and death vocals, stop reading and go back to your Power Metal world of Dragons and Knights. It is a proven psychological fact that we need to be sad once in a while to balance our life, and there's a lot of techniques to be sad, but the best one and my personal favorite is Doom Metal, there's not a more emotional type of music than Doom Metal out there, and you can quote me on that.

On a side note, for all of you intrigued by the band name, a pantheist is a person who adheres to pantheism, a doctrine that views the universe as a reflection of god.

Back to the music. The thing that strike me the most about this album, was the deep and sorrowful clear voice and the excellent use of the keyboards, the atmosphere created by them is simply stunning, really dark. Among my favorite tracks is the opener and title track "O Solitude," the somber atmosphere and the gloomy lyrics make this an excellent song for those bleak moments.

"Envy Us" features excerpts from master composers Chopin and Beethoven and is also a great song, if you like classical music as I do, this song is simply stunning. The piano intro is one of the most sorrowful the world has ever heard, courtesy of Mr. Frederick Chopin (you may also remember this piano intro because it was used by Angra in a song of their debut album).

If you are fan of melancholic music, long compositions and sorrowful themes this one is a must have!


Band profile: Pantheist
Album: O Solitude


 


written by Undercraft | 02.07.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 43  
Search this topic:  


Uirapuru - 16.01.2010 at 04:28  
It is as you say. Really melancholic and everything. Nice

Quote:
there's not a more emotional type of music than Doom Metal out there


well... If you consider only sadness as an emotion...
Mr. Doctor - 16.01.2010 at 14:04  
Written by Uirapuru on 16.01.2010 at 04:28

well... If you consider only sadness as an emotion...


I think what Undercraft wanted to stay is that doom metal is probably the genre that has most to do with strong emotions rather than the music itself. This is compared to the bands that are just to "headbang to" and to make a party and sound brutal. Doom metal is something a little more personal in that area imo, so I agree with him.

And last time I checked, sadness wasnt the only emotion linked with doom metal.
Uirapuru - 16.01.2010 at 14:55  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.01.2010 at 14:04

Written by Uirapuru on 16.01.2010 at 04:28

well... If you consider only sadness as an emotion...


I think what Undercraft wanted to stay is that doom metal is probably the genre that has most to do with strong emotions rather than the music itself. This is compared to the bands that are just to "headbang to" and to make a party and sound brutal. Doom metal is something a little more personal in that area imo, so I agree with him.

And last time I checked, sadness wasnt the only emotion linked with doom metal.


I understand. But just ''headbang to'', make a party and sound brutal aren't emotionless gestures. These types of sound deal with emotions in a different way.

So no, Doom Metal is not the ''more emotional type of music'', it just get along by dealing with different emotions. Sadness, melancholy, fear, anguish and whatever... these are not the only kinds of state of spirit existent.

A singular genre can't be superior in the ''emotion'' department, that's too much subjective.
Mr. Doctor - 16.01.2010 at 18:15  
Written by Uirapuru on 16.01.2010 at 14:55

A singular genre can't be superior in the ''emotion'' department, that's too much subjective.


And I never said I was being objective at all, therefore I can by all means say that Doom metal is the most emotion-driven subgenre [Doom can be very happy as well...]. Same goes to the review itself because reviews will NEVER be objective.
Uirapuru - 16.01.2010 at 20:01  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.01.2010 at 18:15

Written by Uirapuru on 16.01.2010 at 14:55

A singular genre can't be superior in the ''emotion'' department, that's too much subjective.


And I never said I was being objective at all, therefore I can by all means say that Doom metal is the most emotion-driven subgenre [Doom can be very happy as well...]. Same goes to the review itself because reviews will NEVER be objective.


Ok then. If its just a matter of opinion.

I still think that it's impossible to determine a ''most emotion-driven'' subgenre simply because they all are complex enough to awake different feelings. Doom Metal is not even better or worse than Hip-Hop in that feature.

Think we can be objective when saying that nothing can be objective.
Mr. Doctor - 16.01.2010 at 22:05  
Written by Uirapuru on 16.01.2010 at 20:01

Think we can be objective when saying that nothing can be objective.


True true....
nasmith - 09.03.2013 at 05:19  
Quote:
The thing that strike me the most about this album, was the deep and sorrowful clear voice


The vocalists are tenors lol

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Pantheist - Amartia 6.5 17.01.2010 by Uirapuru
Albums Pantheist - O Solitude 4.5 29.12.2012 by NocturnalStalker
Reviews Ungodly - Ungodly 3 21.02.2007 by rock_2_thrash
Reviews The Iron Maidens - Worlds Only Female Tribute To Iron Maiden 3 03.09.2007 by GT
Reviews Arsis - A Celebration Of Guilt 3 13.12.2006 by Talvi



Hits total: 3450 | This month: 40