Rating:
5.9
Suicide Silence - The Black Crown
12 July 2011


01. Slaves To Substance
02. O.C.D.
03. Human Violence
04. You Only Live Once
05. Fuck Everything
06. March To The Black Crown
07. Witness The Addiction [feat. Jonathan Davis]
08. Cross-Eyed Catastrophe
09. Smashed [feat. Frank Mullen]
10. The Only Thing That Sets Us Apart
11. Cancerous Skies
12. Revival Of Life [Limited Delux Edition track]
13. Superbeast [Rob Zombie cover][iTunes Edition track]


...Time for another big can of worms to be opened up. Here's another album which, regardless of how you approach it in your review, someone is going to completely lose their shit on you for either being too harsh, or not being harsh enough. A lot of people seem to hate Suicide Silence. Well, while I certainly don't understand the intense animosity people express towards this band, I don't exactly understand the attraction either.

Let's be clear right from the bat; this album almost doesn't suck. There are quite a few cool sounding riffs scattered throughout the album, mostly the eerie leads that poke through from time to time. The overall feel is as heavy as you could want it to be, especially in this one breakdown...

...And that other breakdown...

...And those seven or eight songs that seem like a continuous breakdown...

Alright, alright, before you jump on my ass, I've got no beef with breakdowns. The idea of being offended by a drop in tempo is ludicrous. In fact, they really have their place from time to time. When over half your album sounds like one perpetual breakdown, then we've got problems. It's caught in this constant loop of pounding mid-tempo riffing that makes this an incredibly stale listen. The odd track or two close to the end of The Black Crown in which the band manages to pick up the pace are actually pretty nifty. It's promising, but realistically too little too late by that point in the album. Hell, even an entire track or two like this would be fine, but 75% of the songs on this album sound virtually identical. I'd probably be sold on Suicide Silence if they managed to write songs in more than one tempo, this is just stagnant.


Band profile: Suicide Silence
Album: The Black Crown


 



Written on 29.07.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››

Guest review by
s7mon

Rating:
7.7
When you look at the comments section below one of their videos on YouTube, the words that you'll find there are most often "gay," "fag," "shit" or a combination of these. We're all aware how hated Suicide Silence and deathcore are in general, but whether we like it or not, these young Americans have become really big. Ok, their debut album, The Cleansing, was a mediocre deathcore record. Their second LP, No Time To Bleed, showed a band developing and even though it was based on deathcore structures, it contained more departures from the previously chosen genre and more experiments, for example wider and wiser selection of electronic samples. In a nutshell, it was a better CD. Now we have The Black Crown, which is a proof that Suicide Silence do not intend to stand still. Based on the genre they have helped to create, they have become a trademark of and also bear the burden of being its scapegoat, they are on their way of creating something on their own. What I mean is that they distanced themselves from other deathcore groups and when you listen to them and compare to, let's say, Oceano (yuck!), you can clearly see a difference.

Read more ››
published 05.11.2011 | Comments (6)

Guest review by
Boxcar Willy

Rating:
4.6
"Why add a breakdown into a song that is already just one continuous breakdown?" - Unkown.

Wise words, especially if directed towards Suicide Silence. Their newest album The Black Crown is exactly that, one monotonous breakdown. When I listen to a band, I try to keep an open mind, I try to go in as unbiased as possible, but even with that mindset, I was still sickened by this album.

Read more ››
published 31.01.2012 | Comments (0)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 350  
Search this topic:  


Lit. - 30.07.2011 at 02:48  
*Waiting for Cynic Metalhead to show up, ignore review, call this best work by SS yet and follow it with 10/10 and \m/*
J. N. - 30.07.2011 at 03:00  
Written by Lit. on 30.07.2011 at 02:48

*Waiting for Cynic Metalhead to show up, ignore review, call this best work by SS yet and follow it with 10/10 and \m/*

He did all that and voted a 9.
Void Eater - 30.07.2011 at 06:51  
The Cleansing is as good as stupid br00tal deathcore can get-which isn't that good or anything, but can be enjoyable if you want to break shit and pretend to be tougher than you really are. As far as this album, a couple good songs here and there, but meh. Nothing worthwhile. Kids will ninja dance to the songs at Mayhem fest, buy the album to impress their friends and piss off their mothers, and forget about it.
Thryce - 30.07.2011 at 17:34  
Pssh! Suiside Silence is so fake and inoffensive Keep the trendy shit out of deathcore please!
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.07.2011 at 17:37  
Written by Thryce on 30.07.2011 at 17:34

Pssh! Suiside Silence is so fake and inoffensive Keep the trendy shit out of deathcore please!


but then again isn't all deathcore inoffensive, fake and trendy?
JD - 30.07.2011 at 19:05  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.07.2011 at 17:37

Written by Thryce on 30.07.2011 at 17:34

Pssh! Suiside Silence is so fake and inoffensive Keep the trendy shit out of deathcore please!


but then again isn't all deathcore inoffensive, fake and trendy?

No
Mattybu - 30.07.2011 at 19:43  
Written by Void Eater on 30.07.2011 at 06:51

Kids will ninja dance to the songs at Mayhem fest, buy the album to impress their friends and piss off their mothers, and forget about it.


Haha, well said, well said.
Valentin B - 31.07.2011 at 10:51  
I think this is deathcore
Enemy of Reality - 31.07.2011 at 15:55  
I think its not that bad...and i'm not particularly fond of this band.
Cynic Metalhead - 31.07.2011 at 21:32  
Written by Lit. on 30.07.2011 at 02:48

*Waiting for Cynic Metalhead to show up, ignore review, call this best work by SS yet and follow it with 10/10 and \m/*


Sorry didnt saw this coming but its like Wow!!!!!! I m mentioned in to your esteemed comment. *Feeling honored* btw this album is fucking good. I love the chug chug breakdowns and unnecessarily riffs, solos and being a huge fan of this hyped artist I'll say this band has picked up the fucking good direction to shoot their fame up.
SycoMantis - 01.08.2011 at 22:50  
I love this album. It's the aggressiveness and speed of Suicide Silence, combined with great strong structure, actual lyrics, solos, amazing riffs, definitely their best in my opinion.
Cynic Metalhead - 02.08.2011 at 00:00  
Written by SycoMantis on 01.08.2011 at 22:50

I love this album. It's the aggressiveness and speed of Suicide Silence, combined with great strong structure, actual lyrics, solos, amazing riffs, definitely their best in my opinion.



Yeah dude thats right. Posers like Lit Metalheads has ruined this shit up! xDD
Doc Godin - 02.08.2011 at 03:49  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 02.08.2011 at 00:00

Written by SycoMantis on 01.08.2011 at 22:50

I love this album. It's the aggressiveness and speed of Suicide Silence, combined with great strong structure, actual lyrics, solos, amazing riffs, definitely their best in my opinion.



Yeah dude thats right. Posers like Lit Metalheads has ruined this shit up! xDD

You worship Suicide Silence, pal, knock off the "metaller than thou" shit.
Zealot644 - 02.08.2011 at 05:21  
Written by Doc Godin on 02.08.2011 at 03:49

Written by Cynic Metalhead on 02.08.2011 at 00:00

Written by SycoMantis on 01.08.2011 at 22:50

I love this album. It's the aggressiveness and speed of Suicide Silence, combined with great strong structure, actual lyrics, solos, amazing riffs, definitely their best in my opinion.



Yeah dude thats right. Posers like Lit Metalheads has ruined this shit up! xDD

You worship Suicide Silence, pal, knock off the "metaller than thou" shit.


QFT
Cynic Metalhead - 02.08.2011 at 19:05  
Written by Zealot644 on 02.08.2011 at 05:21

Written by Doc Godin on 02.08.2011 at 03:49

Written by Cynic Metalhead on 02.08.2011 at 00:00

Written by SycoMantis on 01.08.2011 at 22:50

I love this album. It's the aggressiveness and speed of Suicide Silence, combined with great strong structure, actual lyrics, solos, amazing riffs, definitely their best in my opinion.



Yeah dude thats right. Posers like Lit Metalheads has ruined this shit up! xDD

You worship Suicide Silence, pal, knock off the "metaller than thou" shit.


QFT


Idgf
Eye-Licker - 02.08.2011 at 22:42  
Surely "Cynic Metalhead" is a troll?

first heard of Suicide Silence from a friend a few years back, he hailed it as a an awesome Grindcore band, gave The Cleansing a listen and figured it was ok (of course, i could tell from their first song that my friend obviously didn't know what Grindcore is). forgot about it a week later. now, this album? hell, i forgot about it halfway through the third song. gave it a 5, because that's the kind of "meh" it deserves; not a banging of the head or shaking of the fist, not a tirade of curses in disapproval, merely a shrug of the shoulders. this album isn't shit, but isn't good, it isn't anything, it is absolutely nothing.
Void Eater - 02.08.2011 at 23:34  
Written by Eye-Licker on 02.08.2011 at 22:42

Surely "Cynic Metalhead" is a troll?

first heard of Suicide Silence from a friend a few years back, he hailed it as a an awesome Grindcore band, gave The Cleansing a listen and figured it was ok (of course, i could tell from their first song that my friend obviously didn't know what Grindcore is). forgot about it a week later. now, this album? hell, i forgot about it halfway through the third song. gave it a 5, because that's the kind of "meh" it deserves; not a banging of the head or shaking of the fist, not a tirade of curses in disapproval, merely a shrug of the shoulders. this album isn't shit, but isn't good, it isn't anything, it is absolutely nothing.

I'm guessing that the conversation with your friend went something along the lines of, "Duuuuude, check out this totally sick grindcore band Suicide Silence! They have the most brutal breakdowns ever bro!!!!!!! Fucking death metal!"

And you were probably all, "Whateves" or something.
Eye-Licker - 02.08.2011 at 23:39  
Written by Void Eater on 02.08.2011 at 23:34

Written by Eye-Licker on 02.08.2011 at 22:42

Surely "Cynic Metalhead" is a troll?

first heard of Suicide Silence from a friend a few years back, he hailed it as a an awesome Grindcore band, gave The Cleansing a listen and figured it was ok (of course, i could tell from their first song that my friend obviously didn't know what Grindcore is). forgot about it a week later. now, this album? hell, i forgot about it halfway through the third song. gave it a 5, because that's the kind of "meh" it deserves; not a banging of the head or shaking of the fist, not a tirade of curses in disapproval, merely a shrug of the shoulders. this album isn't shit, but isn't good, it isn't anything, it is absolutely nothing.

I'm guessing that the conversation with your friend went something along the lines of, "Duuuuude, check out this totally sick grindcore band Suicide Silence! They have the most brutal breakdowns ever bro!!!!!!! Fucking death metal!"

And you were probably all, "Whateves" or something.


no, i like proper diction.

the aforementioned (former, actually) friend also thought Atreyu was a Death metal band, i guess i should have known better than to take his word for it.
Void Eater - 02.08.2011 at 23:49  
So he was probably like that one guy I know who thinks that TDWP and BlesstheFall are death metal bands. Oh kids these days. I don't get why people who don't know crap about metal need to use subgenres to label bands. If you don't know what subgenre a metal band is, just say it's a metal band.
thrashtilldeaf - 03.08.2011 at 11:43  
10/10. Almost better than master off poppets.
Slayer666 - 03.08.2011 at 12:14  
Written by thrashtilldeaf on 03.08.2011 at 11:43

10/10. Almost better than master off poppets.


Well, you're clearly a troll. I just haven't figured out if you're ponderer or not.
Spirit Molecule - 03.08.2011 at 12:16  
Lol, I'm convinced that thrashtilldeaf is Cynic Metalheads long lost brother or either CM in some parallel universe
You should give the trash a break bro
Tranquillizer - 03.08.2011 at 13:50  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 03.08.2011 at 12:16

Lol, I'm convinced that thrashtilldeaf is Cynic Metalheads long lost brother or either CM in some parallel universe
You should give the trash a break bro


Or its Void having some birthday fun...
Void Eater - 03.08.2011 at 21:35  
Written by Guest on 03.08.2011 at 13:50

Written by Spirit Molecule on 03.08.2011 at 12:16

Lol, I'm convinced that thrashtilldeaf is Cynic Metalheads long lost brother or either CM in some parallel universe
You should give the trash a break bro


Or its Void having some birthday fun...

Nope, I would never use MoP as a scale by which to judge albums. Has some classic tunes on it, also has some boring tunes. Weakest of the Metalliclassics for sure.
Daggon - 08.08.2011 at 18:52  
Don't like this shit, never liked it, and never will... Nuff said.
brapp32 - 23.10.2011 at 23:52  
From the few songs I've heard it seems to have a bit more of a commercial feel to it. It feels like something is lacking on this album compared to previous ones. Overall not a bad album but no need for me to rush out and buy it.
Boxcar Willy - 28.01.2012 at 01:07  


Utter trash, and I'm not even biased towards deathcore.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Suicide Silence - The Black Crown 10 05.11.2011 by Cynic Metalhead
Albums Suicide Silence - The Black Crown 9 02.06.2011 by JD
Reviews The Black Dahlia Murder - Ritual 7.5 14.07.2011 by munson
Reviews Astra - The Black Chord 7.5 10.04.2012 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Black Tusk - Set The Dial 7.5 15.11.2011 by BitterCOld



Hits total: 6079 | This month: 55