Fleshgod Apocalypse - Agony review



Reviewer:
9.0

501 users:
8.35
Band: Fleshgod Apocalypse
Album: Agony
Release date: August 2011


01. Temptation
02. The Hypocrisy
03. The Imposition
04. The Deceit
05. The Violation
06. The Egoism
07. The Betrayal
08. The Forsaking
09. The Oppression
10. Agony
11. Heartwork [Carcass cover] [iTunes bonus]


Ever wondered what would happen if you crossed the symphonies of Nightwish with a brutal death metal style? Well here's your answer; Fleshgod Apocalypse have gone from being one of the best underground death metal bands to one of the most over the top, symphonic and flamboyant death metal bands there are.

Now under the wing of Nuclear Blast, these Italian connoisseurs of classically influenced death metal have taken their previously crafted brand of brutal death metal and cranked every element up to eleven. Much more symphonic than the band's previous offerings, Agony is a brutal blend of death metal mashed together with the symphonies you would expect to hear from bands like Dimmu Borgir. The band are still technically phenomenal, the drums especially are lightning-fast and precise. The violent death metal outbursts have not been compromised here, but they have been coupled together with vast, bombastic symphonic passages that at times are face-meltingly colourful and exquisite, see "The Betrayal" and "The Violation".

Unfortunately there is a down side that accompanies the new symphonic edge, namely the use of strained, high-pitch and at-times annoying clean vocals. The clean vocals have a suitable place here and there infrequently within Agony, but in tracks such as "The Deceit" the token clean vocals sound as if their only purpose is to tell the listener "we're open-minded and pushing the envelope" as opposed to actually adding an extra layer of epic-ness to the music, as the initial intention probably was.

Regardless of the minor quirk with the clean vocals and ponderings of how authentic this material could sound live, Agony is a blisteringly intense, over-the-top death metal studio album that is successful in pushing the envelope to a higher, more colourful place in death metal. Perhaps the symphonic elements and clean vocals will be too much for die-hard death metal fans to endure, but for the majority Agony is the next step of progression that Fleshgod Apocalypse were always leaning towards with their classical influence in the first place. Any way you look at it, Agony is a fiery assault that you'd have to work hard to not enjoy.

--

Symphonic Death metal
Italy
Length: 49:45
Nuclear Blast


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 10


 



Written on 09.08.2011 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 41   Visited by: 636 users
16.08.2011 - 07:04
bloodwrage
Pagan Angel
If I didn't already know the band, you would have turned me off of them with that first sentence buddy.
Loading...
17.08.2011 - 01:10
Heretic God
Account deleted
Why do people keep comparing these guys to Septicflesh? So any Death Metal band that decides to put symphonies in their music are automatically trying to be like Septicflesh? TGM has to be the most overrated album in the past few years. SF only started putting symphonies in their albums on Communion which was released in 2008, Fleshgod was formed in 2007 with the goal to combine Classical music and Death Metal and the only reason Oracles wasn't fully orchestrated was because of the unstable line-up at the time. So i'm pretty sure they had this idea long before SF changed their sound. Agony is a fucking beast of an album, when Fleshgod releases an album with a real orchestra, it will destroy everything.
Loading...
18.08.2011 - 11:09
Swordbearer
I think it is a great album. It may rely a little bit too much on the orchestrations, but it is still of an exceptionally high level. Altough I wouldn't mind the next album being a tad more guitar-oriented.
----
Druantia | Folk metal
Loading...
18.08.2011 - 22:00
SpawnOfObsession
Written by Danny Devilto on 13.08.2011 at 09:55

They seemingly sound like ''Septicflesh'' but they are totally different band when comes to songwriting. So far, the award of best use of symphonic elements and orchestrations would go to ''Transcending Bizarre'' but now I have to count on ''Fleshgod Apocalypse'' as well. An amazing album from every aspect...

heard "scrambled defuncts" ? they are pretty awesome.
Loading...
21.08.2011 - 06:25
JCJen7
Written by Guest on 17.08.2011 at 01:10

SF only started putting symphonies in their albums on Communion which was released in 2008, Fleshgod was formed in 2007 with the goal to combine Classical music and Death Metal and the only reason Oracles wasn't fully orchestrated was because of the unstable line-up at the time. So i'm pretty sure they had this idea long before SF changed their sound.


Sorry to burst your bubble, but Sumerian Demons (2003) was already pretty heavy on the orchestration for Septic Flesh (at the time). Admittedly, it was still used more for atmosphere and feeling than a major part of the music, but it was definately there.

And, even if Sumerian Demons had 0 hint of symphonic influences in it, with your logic Septic Flesh had been thinking about it since 2004, ya know? All I am saying, is if someone "had the idea" first, it would have been Septic Flesh. All that is pretty stupid though, and not really relevant to anything, so I'll digress into Oracles not being fully orchestrated.

Oracles wasn't just not fully orchestrated, there was no orchestration at all. It was simply death metal, with bits of classical piano for intros and outtros.

In my opinion anyways. Both good bands, not all that similar.
----
This is my sig, respect it. Please.

CHECK THESE OUT
Loading...
21.08.2011 - 10:24
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Yeah this one totally gets my vote... me think this could be even better than Oracles... Don't know for sure but as Troy said, they seemed to have fixed some minor flaws in their previous releases and finally put forth a masterpiece...
Loading...
22.08.2011 - 00:31
Heretic God
Account deleted
Written by JCJen7 on 21.08.2011 at 06:25

Oracles wasn't just not fully orchestrated, there was no orchestration at all. It was simply death metal, with bits of classical piano for intros and outtros.


There was alot more than piano in Oracles. There were orchestral parts in In Honour of Reason, a huge classical piece at the end of As Tyrants Fall and choirs at the end of Infection of the White Throne, yes the bulk of the album was Death Metal but from what i've heard from the band they wanted Oracles to sound like Agony, fully orchestrated. That was their goal from the beginning. Communion was a change in sound for Septicflesh, the sound that some people are assuming Fleshgod copied, my point was Fleshgod had the idea long before Communion was released so to say they are copying anyone is rediculous. You're not bursting anyones "Bubble", i'm well aware of the atmosphere and orchestral influences in Sumerian Daemons, but the sound of that album was different than that of their newer releases and considering Fleshgod was formed before the release of Communion with the goal of combining both classical music and Death metal, they couldn't have possibly stolen the idea from them.
Loading...
07.09.2011 - 17:52
Prometheus
Written by Absak on 09.08.2011 at 01:44

I found it to be a complete piece of crap when compared to Oracles or Mafia, on it's own it's still pretty meh. A big letdown next to Morbid Angel and Illdisposed. No-one should EVER compare this to Septicflesh, EVER, that's just a big insult towards them in my opinion.

septic flesh is more tecnic on symphonic elements . but fleshgod its a little disturbing
Loading...
25.10.2011 - 16:39
s_t_s
Just had my hand on both Oracles and Agony and I love both ! Still hard to separate tracks (unlike Septicflesh latest album that I truly love). I would rather take each album like a very long single track with different variations.
Loading...
22.12.2011 - 10:43
elekctric
I have to say I heard it once. On a friends raving of the band and wasn't really sure why he loved em. It put me to sleep. Maybe it was the herb I smoked that day or something but, it kinda sounded like noise, and I personally love messed up(insert adjective) heavy music etc.... But I didn't get it I guess. And I haven't still. Saved me some money on cds for the year anyhow.
Loading...
24.01.2012 - 11:21
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
The Violation is insane! Haven't heard the rest of the album, but that one song is a punch in the face.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...

Hits total: 13059 | This month: 28