Rating:
9.0
Nile - Annihilation Of The Wicked
23 May 2005


01. Dusk Falls Upon The Temple Of The Serpent On The Mount Of Sunrise
02. Cast Down The Heretic
03. Sacrifice Unto Sebek
04. User-Maat-Re
05. The Burning Pits Of The Duat
06. Chapter Of Obeisance Before Giving Breath To The Inert One In The Presence Of The Crescent-Shaped Horns
07. Lashed To The Slave Stick
08. Spawn Of Uamenti
09. Annihilation Of The Wicked
10. Von Unaussprechlichen Kulten
11. Sss Haa Set Yoth [Japanese bonus]


In such an over explored style like Death Metal it takes a really original and virtuous band to achieve success and project their name to the top of the fans' list of favourites right on their first album. But you just started to read a review about Nile, so you already know that they are unmatchable and dominate all their instruments with the most perfect chaotic precision; to expect the best is never a mistake. "Annihilation Of The Wicked" is their fourth strike, the follow up for the masterpiece "In Their Darkened Shrines", and, well, if there was a lot to be said about the past works there's probably even more to say about this one.

In many ways "Annihilation Of The Wicked" is slightly different. First, everyone knows how great Tony Laureano is and there was some concern about if the new Greek drummer would be a good replacement, the speed this band inputs in their sound is extreme and it takes a fast and agile drummer to fit in Nile. So how good is George Kollias? Exceptional. His technique may not be exactly the same, there is more double bass work, there are more blastbeats and breakdowns and the result is as appropriate as with every drummer that played in Nile previously, really intense pounding drums.

Moving to the music and the way the album is structured there are also changes, but not as significant as it may seem. What happens is that there is a less concern on creating the typical Egyptian atmosphere. We are blessed with one amazing intro, "Dusk Falls Upon The Temple Of The Serpent On The Mount Of Sunrise" and the interlude "Spawn Of Uamenti", both short, epic and acoustic passages, but, besides this, there aren't many songs filled with this influences from the beginning until the end, even in the longer tracks the Death Metal prevails stronger. Three of the presented 10 acts last for more then 8 minutes, but I would consider that "Von Unaussprechlichen Kulten" and "Annihilation Of The Wicked" are the only truly epic masterpieces of the album. "User Maat Re" sounds more like a regular but extended Nile song to me, but it also has an intense and dark atmosphere.

All the other smaller tracks are basically very technical and brutal Death Metal, full of incredible riffs and solos. Listen to "Cast Down The Heretic" or "Chapter Of Obeisance Before Giving Breath To The Inert One In The Presence Of The Crescent Shaped Horns" and you'll see nothing really changed in their way of playing Metal. For example, Karl Sanders continues growling deeper then anyone and there are still downtuned guitars and slow and midtempo parts, which is something I always admired in Nile, the way how they can make a very technical riff sound slow.

You can hear how the new and clearer production makes Nile sound less dirty but still as brutal as before; everything seems to be even more defined. There aren't more doses of melody then in any other of their albums, just enough to create some memorable hooks once in a while. Overall I would say that "Lashed To The Slave Stick" is the only song that is not as characteristic of theirs as the others, there are many groovy riffs and a very melodic middle section, but it's also possibly one of the most memorable Nile has ever made and it changes quite well to some brutal riffage around the 2 minutes, I would consider it a highlight.

"Annihilation Of The Wicked" is extremely consistent. There really aren't weak parts because Nile knows how diversify their songs without compromising their well played and brutal Death Metal style. If you have always liked Nile there are no significant reasons for you to change your opinion, this is definitely another work of which the Gods can be proud of, don't miss it!


Band profile: Nile
Album: Annihilation Of The Wicked


 


written by Passenger | 03.07.2005


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
danielllewis

Rating:
9.4
What else can be said about Nile? They are far greater than the average death metal band with how they manage to successfully combine raw brutality and technicality with melodic and doomy elements, all topped off with an Egyptian theme. Annihilation Of The Wicked is no exception. If for some reason you haven't heard Nile before, you're in for a treat. With Annihilation Of The Wicked, Nile has taken what they had done before, and improved upon it in every way.

Read more ››
published 29.05.2009 | Comments (14)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 181  
Search this topic:  


Stigmatized - 01.06.2006 at 02:56  
The album that got me into Nile.....
DeadInnocence - 01.06.2006 at 05:50  
Xtreme Jax - 05.06.2006 at 06:29  
This album also got me into Nile. Very creative and original band ... specially some of the track titles, "Chapter Of Obeisance Before Giving Breath To The Inert One In The Presence Of The Crescent Shaped Horns"
- How much longer do they want to make it! Lol
SepulchralOath - 22.06.2006 at 05:18  
Ive got the same story as Dream_of_Hate and Xtreme Jax...this cd got me into Nile too. I used to check out stuff from In Their Darkened Shrines and their other albums and just couldnt get into them...i think the song that jsut did it for me was Lashed to the Slave Stick. Ever since then, ive loved this band to death.
Dangerboner - 22.06.2006 at 06:43  
Well, this cd didn't get me into Nile because I liked them before this cd was released, but I still liked it. It's not my favorite, but it's still an impressive cd. It has my favorite Nile song, "Cast Down the Heretic."
Stigmatized - 22.06.2006 at 06:59  
Written by Guest on 22.06.2006 at 05:18

Ive got the same story as Dream_of_Hate and Xtreme Jax...this cd got me into Nile too. I used to check out stuff from In Their Darkened Shrines and their other albums and just couldnt get into them...i think the song that jsut did it for me was Lashed to the Slave Stick. Ever since then, ive loved this band to death.


Dude, "Lashed to the Slave Stick" all the way man. That song is mindblowing.....I was the same way, that track did all for me.
Rider Of Theli - 24.07.2006 at 05:13  
yeah my friend had In Thier Darkened Shrines " and i just didnt feel it ..but like all comments posted i also got into nile with Annihilation Of The Wicked..killer cd!! NILE
Paganblood - 02.02.2007 at 12:46  
I downloaded this album yesterday(in 3 hour's time!) and listened to it, it was indeed a GREAT one! Althought some other albums introduced me to Nile, this album is a masterpiece.
Good review!
spirit_inblack - 02.02.2007 at 23:49  
I think that this album is better than In Their Darkened Shrines, and one reason for that is like you mentioned the cleaner production. It just seems to fit the music better. I consider Kollias to be an equal to Laureano because of his unique style and the speeds that he can reach. Can't wait for the '07 album!
Stuff1056 - 11.02.2007 at 19:26  
Incredible album! Almost as good as In Their Darkened Shrines.
Putrid_Cadaver - 16.02.2007 at 03:32  
This album is amazing. I only had heard one song by them so I decided to get what I could find in Best Buy. They had this Cd and as soon as I got home I listened to it. After the quiet acoustic thing I was beggining to get more persistent to the heaviness of the album. After Cast down there heretic began I immidiatley was floored. Between the brutal speed,heaviness and vocals, there was that amazing switch off 5 minute guitar solo. I would have to say this was the best Nile album Ive heard and I cant wait for their newest Cd supposedly coming in July!
Desecrator - 08.07.2007 at 08:34  
My favourite Nile release is Black Seeds, but this album comes damn close, this is definately the heaviest, and the solos on this have never sounded so good. Great review!
Shaddy - 24.05.2008 at 15:56  
I too am in the "hooked on Nile by this album" guild First song i ever heard was Lashed to the Slave Stick and it kicked my ass from it's very beginning.
Definately one of my favourite albums ever.
K†ulu - 26.08.2008 at 20:33  
Well, I haven't listened to the album yet, but I just want to say a couple of words about the review itself: this is one the best-written reviews I've ever read - the structure, the word choice, the eloquence and descriptiveness. This is just a very good piece of writing. You should review more, man.
Passenger - 27.08.2008 at 21:12  
Written by K†ulu on 26.08.2008 at 20:33

Well, I haven't listened to the album yet, but I just want to say a couple of words about the review itself: this is one the best-written reviews I've ever read - the structure, the word choice, the eloquence and descriptiveness. This is just a very good piece of writing. You should review more, man.

Thank you. I know there're always 2 or 3 mistakes, but I quite like this review myself, though I wrote it a few years ago already I like your Death reviews quite a bit too.
K†ulu - 28.08.2008 at 09:27  
Written by Passenger on 27.08.2008 at 21:12

Written by K†ulu on 26.08.2008 at 20:33

Well, I haven't listened to the album yet, but I just want to say a couple of words about the review itself: this is one the best-written reviews I've ever read - the structure, the word choice, the eloquence and descriptiveness. This is just a very good piece of writing. You should review more, man.

Thank you. I know there're always 2 or 3 mistakes, but I quite like this review myself, though I wrote it a few years ago already I like your Death reviews quite a bit too.

Those Death reviews come from the depth of my soul, so I really try to do my best on them.
Abattoir - 28.08.2008 at 15:30  
Written by Shaddy on 24.05.2008 at 15:56

First song i ever heard was Lashed to the Slave Stick and it kicked my ass from it's very beginning.


Mine too...well not generally, but the first one I've listen from this album...and yes, it's pretty damn good
Nazeef - 29.08.2008 at 21:24  
George Kollias is a Revolution!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Uirapuru - 20.09.2008 at 19:59  
great album: ''Cast down the heretic '' and '' Von Unaussprechlichen Kulten'' are the best songs.
Deadmeat - 04.11.2008 at 10:37  
This album is great! Lashed to the slave stick the best song!!! And George Kollias is fucking great one of the best ever. I've watched a seminar of him and really I was shoked. That guy is THE BEST.
Solstafir! - 31.07.2009 at 20:46  
Written by Nazeef on 29.08.2008 at 21:24

George Kollias is a Revolution!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Couldn't agree more...
Builtforsin88 - 24.03.2010 at 07:33  
As soon as i heard annihilation of the wicked, i was hooked! Good band all around m/
mz - 06.01.2011 at 00:40  
"Lashed To The Slave Stick " is one of best death meta songs i've ever heard
Oaken - 21.06.2012 at 01:00  
My first Nile album was In Their Darkened Shrines, but Annihilation Of The Wicked is as awesome as In Their Darkened Shrines.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Nile - Annihilation Of The Wicked 8.5 29.05.2009 by Clintagram
Albums Nile - Annihilation Of The Wicked 7.5 13.07.2010 by derplo
News Nile - Those Whom The Gods Detest N. American Tour II 4.5 28.04.2010 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Deathguy - Concentrate The Annihilation 4 18.09.2009 by Ellrohir
Albums Scarab - Serpents Of The Nile 3 01.10.2011 by Roro



Hits total: 8543 | This month: 52