Rating:
7.9
Fistula - Loser [EP]
18 March 2010


01. Picking Up Chicks
02. I'm Glad Nate's Not In A.C.
03. The Hounds
04. Mutant Tooth
05. Coma Forever
06. Loser


The city of Cleveland, Ohio has had it rough through the years. Race riots. Rust Belt. The local river that has caught fire. Ten times*. (You read that right.) In 2004 they were voted "Most Tortured Sports City" and things haven only gotten worse since for their teams. They were rated the 11th most dangerous US city (#7 with a population between 100-500k) in 2008. And they had to endure the cancelation of the Drew Carey Show, with its affirming "Cleveland Rocks!" theme song. I think all of this has taken its toll on the collective psyche of Clevelanders.

It certainly did with Fistula with perhaps the Drew Carey thing hitting hardest. Loser sounds a lot like the Mimi Bobeck character.

Fat and ugly.

The band has two basic speeds and stylistic approaches, slowdge (that's sludge played mighty slow) and breakneck. The slower, doom dirge thundering riffs remind me a bit of Bongripper - just ugly, thick, fat, dirty, vile stuff. The fast stuff sound just as horrible as the slow stuff, only sped up and more aggressive. It's grinding sludge played with reckless abandon. Nothing pretty whatsoever.

The slow bits are like getting kicked in the head by steel-toed boots. The faster pieces are like kicking some other poor yob in the head.

While most of the atmosphere of tracks like "Picking Up Chicks" and "Mutant Tooth" are vile, the album does have a nice, light-hearted burst in the 26 second breakneck grinding wall of noise "I'm Glad Nate's Not In A.C." in which the vocalist froths into the mic "I'm glad Nate's not in Anal Cunt" over and over and over again.

Ultimately this record is like getting pegged by Mimi on the beach of a burning river after finding out your favorite local sports team moved to Baltimore. Or, in short, a day in the life of a Clevelander.


* Management is proud to report the Cuyahoga is fire free since 1969!

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 15.08.2011 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 182  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 15.08.2011 at 02:09  
Yeah it is indeed either one of two speeds this one.
But still totally typically Fistula
AXA - 15.08.2011 at 02:26  
Cool reviews i will hear this album.
The Shape 1973 - 15.08.2011 at 10:53  
Fistula? Isn't that a book by Ram Strokeher. Sorry.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.08.2011 at 13:10  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.08.2011 at 10:53

Fistula? Isn't that a book by Ram Strokeher. Sorry.


great one
The Shape 1973 - 15.08.2011 at 13:13  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.08.2011 at 13:10

Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.08.2011 at 10:53

Fistula? Isn't that a book by Ram Strokeher. Sorry.


great one

Sorry about that one. I couldn't resist it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.08.2011 at 13:14  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.08.2011 at 13:13

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.08.2011 at 13:10

Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.08.2011 at 10:53

Fistula? Isn't that a book by Ram Strokeher. Sorry.


great one

Sorry about that one. I couldn't resist it.


Well, I don't mind I found it extremely enjoyable and well thought out.
snake? snaaaake! - 15.08.2011 at 13:48  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.08.2011 at 10:53

Fistula? Isn't that a book by Ram Strokeher. Sorry.


A moment of genius..
The Shape 1973 - 15.08.2011 at 13:53  
Written by snake? snaaaake! on 15.08.2011 at 13:48

Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.08.2011 at 10:53

Fistula? Isn't that a book by Ram Strokeher. Sorry.


A moment of genius..

I think I'm putting it as my signature now.
Troy Killjoy - 15.08.2011 at 17:58  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 15.08.2011 at 10:53
Fistula? Isn't that a book by Ram Strokeher. Sorry.

Congrats on winning the thread.
BitterCOld - 15.08.2011 at 18:38  
Apparently it's a medical condition - an unnatural passageway/connection between two organs.

my first thought was closer to along your lines... i was going to make a more childish/less naughty reference to being a cousin of Count Chocula...
Marcus - 16.08.2011 at 00:34  
You could have summed Cleveland up with this:
Mattybu - 16.08.2011 at 02:59  
Written by Marcus on 16.08.2011 at 00:34

You could have summed Cleveland up with this: Cleveland Tourism Video


Even Lebron left Cleveland now... Who know how it even still exists
Meller - 16.08.2011 at 20:57  
Finally the justice has happened - we get Fistula some visibility and add-up to the MS database. Now all you daddy's little mongrels go and get a healthy dose of their unhealthy filth inside to tarnish your soul.
Chainer - 18.08.2011 at 02:28  
Was it really necessary to bash Cleveland for almost a full 1/3 of the review? As if the album's city of origin had any bearing on it's quality.
BitterCOld - 18.08.2011 at 04:45  
Written by Chainer on 18.08.2011 at 02:28

Was it really necessary to bash Cleveland for almost a full 1/3 of the review? As if the album's city of origin had any bearing on it's quality.


i didn't bash, i stated fact. and perhaps living in a bleak rust-belt town with all sorts of problems might... just might... have an impact on the people living there.

seeing pictures of abandoned buildings decaying, rotting, the river on fire, etc, well, this ugly album is a fitting soundtrack.

seems logical to me that bleak, ugly, harsh surroundings might lead to bleak, ugly, harsh music.
Chainer - 18.08.2011 at 23:03  
Written by BitterCOld on 18.08.2011 at 04:45

Written by Chainer on 18.08.2011 at 02:28

Was it really necessary to bash Cleveland for almost a full 1/3 of the review? As if the album's city of origin had any bearing on it's quality.


i didn't bash, i stated fact. and perhaps living in a bleak rust-belt town with all sorts of problems might... just might... have an impact on the people living there.

seeing pictures of abandoned buildings decaying, rotting, the river on fire, etc, well, this ugly album is a fitting soundtrack.

seems logical to me that bleak, ugly, harsh surroundings might lead to bleak, ugly, harsh music.
Chainer - 18.08.2011 at 23:05  
Written by BitterCOld on 18.08.2011 at 04:45

Written by Chainer on 18.08.2011 at 02:28

Was it really necessary to bash Cleveland for almost a full 1/3 of the review? As if the album's city of origin had any bearing on it's quality.


i didn't bash, i stated fact. and perhaps living in a bleak rust-belt town with all sorts of problems might... just might... have an impact on the people living there.

seeing pictures of abandoned buildings decaying, rotting, the river on fire, etc, well, this ugly album is a fitting soundtrack.

seems logical to me that bleak, ugly, harsh surroundings might lead to bleak, ugly, harsh music.

Well I stand corrected. When put that way it makes sense. Why should not one's surroundings influence the type of music one makes?
BitterCOld - 19.08.2011 at 00:00  
Written by Chainer on 18.08.2011 at 23:05


Well I stand corrected. When put that way it makes sense. Why should not one's surroundings influence the type of music one makes?


ayup. you cannot see a documentary on Black Sabbath without it being pointed out what a brutal hellhole Birmingham is/was and how it influenced them to eschew the hippie love bullshit of the time and make horrible, abrasive, scary music that terrified people.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Black Tusk - Taste The Sin 3.5 22.11.2010 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Drawers - All Is One 3 16.03.2012 by Milena
Reviews Edenian - Winter Shades 3 25.05.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Abstract Spirit - Horror Vacui 3 15.08.2011 by Windrider
Reviews Tenochtitlan - Sotvorenie Mira 3 03.10.2012 by Evil Chip



Hits total: 4288 | This month: 5