Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.9
Sacred Ally - Reality Hammer
July 2011


01. Math
02. Kermit The Prog
03. Despair
04. Uzumaki
05. Valour And War
06. High Seas
07. Final Juggernaut


"Math"..."Kermit The Prog"...What's in a name, eh? Now, here I am anticipating some full-blown, unabashed wankery. I mean, generally speaking, when I come across overly proggy bands, all I hear is a bunch of people who, if it weren't for their preoccupation with their instruments, would be waving their dicks in your face. Sacred Ally on the other hand is a treat; instead of musical meat-spin, it's just a series of awesome riffs being tossed at you in rapid succession.

So the riffs are fast and sweet, it must be thrash, right? Of course it's fucking thrash. They just needed to bring in the prog elements so they could cram in all these riffs, they wouldn't have all fit otherwise. Fortunately, they let the riffs smoothly fire into one another pretty seamlessly. Yes, the drastic tempo shifts are there, but something just feels natural about them. They drive from the previously mentioned thrash appeal into soaring leads that could easily find themselves at home in some good ol' fashioned power metal, and just when you're getting bored of those, they throw some Thin Lizzy worthy guitarmonies at you. The beautiful part is the riffs are always given enough time to marinate; too often bands overstretch the whole constant-shifting aspect, ripping you out of your groove when your just getting into a certain segment, Reality Hammer seems to always give the listener the appropriate amount of time to let the flavour of each riff soak in.

So this album is pretty top-notch, the only real issue is the bottom end...or lack there of. It comes through some times, when the riffs allow it, but occasionally it sounds wafer thin. The riffs feel heavy, but they don't sound heavy, if you know what I mean. The best example of this being the first segment of the closing track "Final Juggernaut". That riff is pretty damn crunchy, but it just sounds like all guitar, and no bass. This is something that is noticeable on close inspection, but not all that trifling in the grand scheme.

So you like riffs then? Quit fucking around, give Reality Hammer a spin. If you don't, you'll regret it a few years from now when they have their own chain of restaurants, complete with hidden potty-cams to boot.


 



Written on 19.08.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 287  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 19.08.2011 at 20:07  
Sounds like a reccomendation.
malaikat - 19.08.2011 at 20:27  
Just listened to "Valour and War" on Spotify, very nice sh*t. Altough I fail to notice (in this one song) the proggy elements, it just sounds like very "loose" trash metal. It's like calling Metallica proggy because they have long songs that often change pace and "feeling".
But then again, this only aplies to only one song, not the entire album *disclaimer*
Grody2themax - 19.08.2011 at 20:39  
Written by malaikat on 19.08.2011 at 20:27

Just listened to "Valour and War" on Spotify, very nice sh*t. Altough I fail to notice (in this one song) the proggy elements, it just sounds like very "loose" trash metal. It's like calling Metallica proggy because they have long songs that often change pace and "feeling".
But then again, this only aplies to only one song, not the entire album *disclaimer*


Still, they have a song name called "Kermit the Prog". I'm not saying they are or aren't prog because I havent listened to them, but still I feel like the song names can say a lot. Even if in this case it is really cheesy.
Unhealer - 19.08.2011 at 21:41  
Sounds fucking nice
Moose - 21.08.2011 at 08:08  
Sounds awesome so far, thanks!
jayocal - 22.08.2011 at 23:46  
Wow, what a great review, thanks!

I only discovered this site by stumbling upon a google search result for Sacred Ally. I'm looking forward to diving in!

If you like what you hear, please check out our facebook page for more info and "like" it! www.facebook.com/sacredally

Cheers!
Troy Killjoy - 22.08.2011 at 23:48  
Written by jayocal on 22.08.2011 at 23:46
I only discovered this site by stumbling upon a google search result for Sacred Ally. I'm looking forward to diving in!

Thanks for taking the time to drop by, hopefully you enjoy your stay.
Fat & Sassy! - 23.08.2011 at 10:37  
I think a band with prog elements having a song simply entitled "Math" is much more funny than naming a song "Kermit the Prog". XD
MétalNoir - 31.08.2011 at 06:23  
Thrash? "Despair" reminds me of so-called Extreme Power metal bands a lot, minus the overwheming keyboards. Seriously, am I the only one who hears some old CoB in there (with a Manowarlike cheesiness maybe...)?
Stabby - 01.09.2011 at 02:19  
I played guitars with Tyler once. It was awesome, he's awesome. Probably more awesome now.

AWESOME.
Stabby - 01.09.2011 at 02:36  
Yep, awesome. Listening to the audio on their site. Great band.
Milena - 07.11.2011 at 23:14  
Written by MétalNoir on 31.08.2011 at 06:23

Thrash? "Despair" reminds me of so-called Extreme Power metal bands a lot, minus the overwheming keyboards. Seriously, am I the only one who hears some old CoB in there (with a Manowarlike cheesiness maybe...)?

You're not, I can hear it too.
MétalNoir - 08.11.2011 at 00:03  
Written by Milena on 07.11.2011 at 23:14

Written by MétalNoir on 31.08.2011 at 06:23

Thrash? "Despair" reminds me of so-called Extreme Power metal bands a lot, minus the overwheming keyboards. Seriously, am I the only one who hears some old CoB in there (with a Manowarlike cheesiness maybe...)?

You're not, I can hear it too.

So I'm not hearing things? Great
Milena - 24.12.2011 at 10:03  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 23.08.2011 at 10:37

I think a band with prog elements having a song simply entitled "Math" is much more funny than naming a song "Kermit the Prog". XD

When I get tired of 'New Kid' I'll change my title to Kermit the Prog.
Mr. Doctor - 09.01.2012 at 23:07  
Oh the riffs dude... THE RIFFS.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Sacred Ally - Reality Hammer 7.5 07.02.2012 by Deadmeat
Reviews Sacred Legacy - Undying Heart 6 06.05.2011 by Chainer
Reviews Abysmal Darkening - No Light Behind 4.5 17.07.2011 by Yojimbo
Reviews As You Drown - Rat King 4.5 25.10.2011 by Diamonds
Reviews Sanchez - Run The Streets 4.5 30.05.2011 by Valentin B



Hits total: 5102 | This month: 76