Sacred Ally - Reality Hammer review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.9

21 users:
8.10
Band: Sacred Ally
Album: Reality Hammer
Release date: July 2011


01. Math
02. Kermit The Prog
03. Despair
04. Uzumaki
05. Valour And War
06. High Seas
07. Final Juggernaut


"Math"..."Kermit The Prog"...What's in a name, eh? Now, here I am anticipating some full-blown, unabashed wankery. I mean, generally speaking, when I come across overly proggy bands, all I hear is a bunch of people who, if it weren't for their preoccupation with their instruments, would be waving their dicks in your face. Sacred Ally on the other hand is a treat; instead of musical meat-spin, it's just a series of awesome riffs being tossed at you in rapid succession.

So the riffs are fast and sweet, it must be thrash, right? Of course it's fucking thrash. They just needed to bring in the prog elements so they could cram in all these riffs, they wouldn't have all fit otherwise. Fortunately, they let the riffs smoothly fire into one another pretty seamlessly. Yes, the drastic tempo shifts are there, but something just feels natural about them. They drive from the previously mentioned thrash appeal into soaring leads that could easily find themselves at home in some good ol' fashioned power metal, and just when you're getting bored of those, they throw some Thin Lizzy worthy guitarmonies at you. The beautiful part is the riffs are always given enough time to marinate; too often bands overstretch the whole constant-shifting aspect, ripping you out of your groove when your just getting into a certain segment, Reality Hammer seems to always give the listener the appropriate amount of time to let the flavour of each riff soak in.

So this album is pretty top-notch, the only real issue is the bottom end...or lack there of. It comes through some times, when the riffs allow it, but occasionally it sounds wafer thin. The riffs feel heavy, but they don't sound heavy, if you know what I mean. The best example of this being the first segment of the closing track "Final Juggernaut". That riff is pretty damn crunchy, but it just sounds like all guitar, and no bass. This is something that is noticeable on close inspection, but not all that trifling in the grand scheme.

So you like riffs then? Quit fucking around, give Reality Hammer a spin. If you don't, you'll regret it a few years from now when they have their own chain of restaurants, complete with hidden potty-cams to boot.


 



Written on 19.08.2011 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 288 users
19.08.2011 - 20:07
Milena
Learning To "X"
Sounds like a reccomendation.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
19.08.2011 - 20:27
malaikat
Just listened to "Valour and War" on Spotify, very nice sh*t. Altough I fail to notice (in this one song) the proggy elements, it just sounds like very "loose" trash metal. It's like calling Metallica proggy because they have long songs that often change pace and "feeling".
But then again, this only aplies to only one song, not the entire album *disclaimer*
Loading...
19.08.2011 - 20:39
Grody2themax
Written by malaikat on 19.08.2011 at 20:27

Just listened to "Valour and War" on Spotify, very nice sh*t. Altough I fail to notice (in this one song) the proggy elements, it just sounds like very "loose" trash metal. It's like calling Metallica proggy because they have long songs that often change pace and "feeling".
But then again, this only aplies to only one song, not the entire album *disclaimer*


Still, they have a song name called "Kermit the Prog". I'm not saying they are or aren't prog because I havent listened to them, but still I feel like the song names can say a lot. Even if in this case it is really cheesy.
Loading...
19.08.2011 - 21:41
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Sounds fucking nice
Loading...
21.08.2011 - 08:08
Moose
Sounds awesome so far, thanks!
Loading...
22.08.2011 - 23:46
jayocal
Wow, what a great review, thanks!

I only discovered this site by stumbling upon a google search result for Sacred Ally. I'm looking forward to diving in!

If you like what you hear, please check out our facebook page for more info and "like" it! www.facebook.com/sacredally

Cheers!
Loading...
22.08.2011 - 23:48
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by jayocal on 22.08.2011 at 23:46
I only discovered this site by stumbling upon a google search result for Sacred Ally. I'm looking forward to diving in!

Thanks for taking the time to drop by, hopefully you enjoy your stay.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
23.08.2011 - 10:37
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
I think a band with prog elements having a song simply entitled "Math" is much more funny than naming a song "Kermit the Prog". XD
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
31.08.2011 - 06:23
MétalNoir
Fils du Lys
Thrash? "Despair" reminds me of so-called Extreme Power metal bands a lot, minus the overwheming keyboards. Seriously, am I the only one who hears some old CoB in there (with a Manowarlike cheesiness maybe...)?
----
Notre destinée n'est pas encore tracée....
Loading...
01.09.2011 - 02:19
Stabby
I played guitars with Tyler once. It was awesome, he's awesome. Probably more awesome now.

AWESOME.
Loading...
01.09.2011 - 02:36
Stabby
Yep, awesome. Listening to the audio on their site. Great band.
Loading...
07.11.2011 - 23:14
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by MétalNoir on 31.08.2011 at 06:23

Thrash? "Despair" reminds me of so-called Extreme Power metal bands a lot, minus the overwheming keyboards. Seriously, am I the only one who hears some old CoB in there (with a Manowarlike cheesiness maybe...)?

You're not, I can hear it too.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
08.11.2011 - 00:03
MétalNoir
Fils du Lys
Written by Milena on 07.11.2011 at 23:14

Written by MétalNoir on 31.08.2011 at 06:23

Thrash? "Despair" reminds me of so-called Extreme Power metal bands a lot, minus the overwheming keyboards. Seriously, am I the only one who hears some old CoB in there (with a Manowarlike cheesiness maybe...)?

You're not, I can hear it too.

So I'm not hearing things? Great
----
Notre destinée n'est pas encore tracée....
Loading...
24.12.2011 - 10:03
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 23.08.2011 at 10:37

I think a band with prog elements having a song simply entitled "Math" is much more funny than naming a song "Kermit the Prog". XD

When I get tired of 'New Kid' I'll change my title to Kermit the Prog.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
09.01.2012 - 23:07
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Oh the riffs dude... THE RIFFS.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 5868 | This month: 12