Rating:
7.6
Powerwolf - Blood Of The Saints
29 July 2011


01. Agnus Dei (Intro)
02. Sanctified With Dynamite
03. We Drink Your Blood
04. Murder At Midnight
05. All We Need Is Blood
06. Dead Boys Don't Cry
07. Son Of A Wolf
08. Night Of The Werewolves
09. Phantom Of The Funeral
10. Die, Die, Crucified
11. Ira Sancti (When The Saints Are Going Wild)


Damn, damn, damn. Talk about a schizophrenic reaction to music...I was really stoked on hating this. In fact, even as I sit and listen to it, something in my brain is telling me I should hate this...but I have to admit, this is actually pretty solid.

So it's as cheesy as one band can get, that's already established. Much like listening to a Meat Loaf record, despite the overwhelming sense of second-hand embarrassment at the sheer goofiness flying every-which-way, you gotta hand it to the artists; they got the chops. Unlike Meat Loaf, however, this is actually listenable for longer than a 2-song stretch. This is thick, dark epic power metal with a healthy dose of self-parody from time to time.

It's another one of those "bags of sugar" albums, unfortunately. The first few spoonfuls are delicious, but before you know it you've wound up in a diabetic coma. Luckily Powerwolf make the most of the organs, choirs and such, so the sugar overdose is late coming. It's reminiscent of the grandest should-be holiday of the year; Halloween (aside from just the horror-type feel to it). It's fun for a good period of time; the atmosphere of campy horror films, cheap, smashable plastic lawn ornaments, candy, slutty costumes...Then you wake up on the other side of the city on November 1st wearing a ridiculous Captain Planet costume, which is now covered in Heineken-and-tootsie-pop vomit. The point being, Blood Of The Saints is an absolutely fantastic listen in small doses, just don't expect it to be one of those "I-won't-get-it-on-first-listen-because-of-how-intellectual-it-is" albums.


Band profile: Powerwolf
Album: Blood Of The Saints


 



Written on 12.09.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 408  
Search this topic:  


The Shape 1973 - 12.09.2011 at 10:09  
What is a "tootsie pop"?
Doc Godin - 12.09.2011 at 10:13  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 12.09.2011 at 10:09

What is a "tootsie pop"?

It's a type of candy. They're delicious...It's like a regular lollypop on the outside, but the center layer is like some sort of gum.
enumaelis - 12.09.2011 at 12:59  
I prefer the previous, I got pretty bored with this one
Swordbearer - 12.09.2011 at 14:55  
Inferior to Bible Of The Beast, yet a really fun album. But they need something new for the next album, I don't want Powerwolf to receive a membershipcard to the generic-album-after-album-the-same-club.
Ivor - 12.09.2011 at 15:58  
I think you nailed it pretty well. Pretty excellent in small doses. Even I liked this stuff. If you listen to it again too soon, though, you'll start to hate it.

I.
Cynic Metalhead - 12.09.2011 at 16:15  
"The point being, Blood Of The Saints is an absolutely fantastic listen in small doses"

Agreed!

Power Metal generally encapsulates about "Fight" "War" "Peace" and etc etc...this album wasn't the exception with something different but what i like about this album it was very different from the previous work and I like the vocals in some of the songs too. (:
Donnie Darko - 12.09.2011 at 22:28  
Im a wolf of Armenia....Powerwolf rules!!!
Fat & Sassy! - 12.09.2011 at 23:39  
HEY. D:<

I listen to Meat Loaf albums ALL THE WAY THROUGH with MAXIMUM ENJOYMENT, cus I'm a loser like that. ^~^
Mattybu - 13.09.2011 at 00:00  
Captain Planet! I remember him had a chuckle when the picture opened up.
AXA - 13.09.2011 at 01:25  
I like this album very much i hear it many time
dismaleuphony - 13.09.2011 at 02:54  
While I can easily see why many people will also have the same feelings toward the album, I instead am thoroughly enthusiastic about it no matter how much I hear it It's gained numerous multiple play sessions from me, particularly with the orchestral versions intermixed. This album is some of the most fun I've had listening to music in a long while!
bluegreengod - 13.09.2011 at 02:59  
Why would anybody actually want to hate an album? It seems like it's a good thing when a metal band (I've never heard of powerwolf, but would assume they're at least somewhat metal) makes music that sounds good.
I'll have to check this one out.
BloodFireDeath - 13.09.2011 at 17:43  
"I-won't-get-it-on-first-listen-because-of-how-intellectual-it-is" albums.

This line cracked me up because you are so right. Also the whole "november 1st" comment mad me laugh
dalamar2007 - 18.09.2011 at 03:51  
I like this album specially the song All We Need Is Blood. :-)
RavenKing - 18.09.2011 at 07:18  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 12.09.2011 at 23:39

HEY. D:<

I listen to Meat Loaf albums ALL THE WAY THROUGH with MAXIMUM ENJOYMENT, cus I'm a loser like that. ^~^


I'd listen to any of the 3 "Bat Out Of Hell" albums over this kind of shitty cheesemetal any day.
renebakx1963 - 18.09.2011 at 19:37  
Live does this album rocks the crowd.
Fat & Sassy! - 19.09.2011 at 23:55  
Written by RavenKing on 18.09.2011 at 07:18

Written by Fat & Sassy! on 12.09.2011 at 23:39

HEY. D:<

I listen to Meat Loaf albums ALL THE WAY THROUGH with MAXIMUM ENJOYMENT, cus I'm a loser like that. ^~^


I'd listen to any of the 3 "Bat Out Of Hell" albums over this kind of shitty cheesemetal any day.


Or like, even two of those albums, cus I mean... Two outta three ain't bad. Y'know?
mario132 - 01.02.2012 at 02:41  
My best power metal band from 2011. Can feel Running Wild spirit which is even better.
Prinz_Dracul_II - 18.05.2012 at 09:54  
Best this year!

ps. Running Rolf is dead, long live Powerwolf!
Hard to say, but true!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Goatwhore - Blood For The Master 7.5 07.02.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews 3 Inches Of Blood - Fire Up The Blades 7.5 17.11.2009 by Boxcar Willy
Albums Powerwolf - Blood Of The Saints 7.5 12.05.2011 by Zender 1.8
Reviews The Devil's Blood - The Thousandfold Epicentre 7.5 09.01.2012 by Milena
Articles Clandestine Cuts #7 - Feat. Kunt Puncher, Blood Meridian, Somne, Ipsilon, Morito Ergo Sum, The Blind 6.5 04.04.2011 by LeChron James



Hits total: 5992 | This month: 48