Rating:
6.6
Anthrax - Worship Music
13 September 2011


01. Worship (Intro)
02. Earth On Hell
03. The Devil You Know
04. Fight 'Em Til You Can't
05. I'm Alive
06. Hymn 1
07. In The End
08. The Giant
09. Hymn 2
10. Judas Priest
11. Crawl
12. The Constant
13. Revolution Screams
14. New Noise [Refused cover] [bonus]


I contracted my first case of Anthrax in '87 when a friend started blaring "I'm The Man!" in his truck one night. Was hoping for the best on this album… and went back nearly 25 years for the inspiration for this review.

Hit play and sing along!



Now they're Anthrax and they take no shit
Over the last three years had eight vocalists
If the sound you hear is one you like
"Fight 'Em" stole "Gridlock"s riff like I stole your...
"Socks!"
Oh man, what's the matter with them?
Maybe they'll get it next time and mean it?

Charlie still beat the beats, the beats he beat
Although time and middle age maybe slowed his feet
The first three tracks are what we missed
But most of the album is just mediocre…
"Chair!"
Damn... unleash the beast!

They were on your case and in your face
now it's mostly just mid-paced
Speed up sucker, understand
Don't you know,

You're a thrash band! A thrash band!
Songs so "meh" they ain't worth a mention!
A thrash band!

Speed up!

Scott's got real def rhythms for these fresh new jams
But "Giant" "In The End" are just plain bland
I really dig these guys and don't want to hate
But after seven years, this ain't worth the
"Sleeping!"
Wait!

I drink the drinks, the drinks I drank
They've got my money in the bank
Belladonna's back tearing up the joint
His voice sounds sharp, he sings on
"Meaning!"
Point! Point! Watch the beat!

They were on your case and in your face
now it's modern stuff all mid-pace
It's decent metal, I understand
But don't you know,

You're a thrash band! A thrash band!
Songs like "Crawl" don't command my attention!
A thrash band!

Speed up!

They're now a heavy metal band playing the modern way
They used to be different, but zombies are now cliche
At least Frankie Bello is back in the mix
Thundering on four strings while Rob shreds
"A sexual organ in the lower abdominal area!"
No man, it's SIX!

FASTER!

After the first three songs I wish it were harder
Too many tracks are just tempo-retarded
At least "Judas Priest" makes me feel the vapors*
at times kicks butt like
"Your face!"
An anal raper! Yo, watch the beat!

They were on your case and in your face
back in time had a raging pace
Speed up sucker, understand
Don't you know?

You're a thrash band! A thrash band!
Playing your tunes once got me sent to detention!
A thrash band!

Speed up!

So as this review is winding down
former thrash royalty misplaced their crown
Sure we know it ain't '91
But we don't care, we just wanna have...
"A festival!"
A thrash album that lives up to the legacy of your earlier Belladonna-era albums, you stupid idiot!

Fight 'Em Devil You Know Earth On Hell
Show they still can play hard as ever
Too bad the rest aren't more "No Life 'Til Leather."

"This review is so bad it's a crime."

Final score: 6.66


* "Feel The Vapors" is a southern saying meaning to feel a bit woozy/light-headed, hot and flush… parts of that song made me want to break out a hand fan to cool off.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Anthrax
Album: Worship Music


 



Written on 15.09.2011 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››

Guest review by
Iron Nostarion

Rating:
7.9
Eight years have passed since Anthrax, the so-called "kings of mosh", last released a studio album. Although their heavy metal shift (from their thrash origins) wasn't causing much anticipation for this album at first, several announcements and the return of Joey Belladonna, as well as the online promotional release of the excellent track "Fight 'Em Til You Can't", caused this album to be one of the most anticipated metal albums of the year. A decent amount of people were expecting it to be a groundbreaking thrash metal album, including myself, and most others at least expected it to be a somehow solid release.

Read more ››
published 21.09.2011 | Comments (13)

Guest review by
ScreamingSteelUS

Rating:
9.6
Let us get this out of the way immediately: yes, it's true, Worship Music only has about three thrash songs on it. Yes, "Fight 'Em 'Till You Can't" bears some striking similarities to "Gridlock" off of Persistence Of Time. Joey Belladonna is overdubbed a lot. Most of the album is slow or mid-paced. Essentially, this album is different. It is not the same Anthrax that Joey left In 1992. If you hit 'play' expecting to hear "Indians" or "Time," you will be sadly disappointed. However, on its own merits, Worship Music is a masterpiece.

Read more ››
published 24.12.2011 | Comments (51)

Guest review by
s7mon

Rating:
6.9
"At last!" one might shout being finally able to lay hands on the newest Anthrax effort, Worship Music. Eight long years we waited for some new material. Well, alright, new material released officially on CD. It's easy to assume that the role of this album - apart from bringing some good music of course - was to prove that Anthrax didn't vanish and are still here to remind the youngsters what thrashing is all about. Did they manage to do it? Well...

Read more ››
published 01.02.2012 | Comments (2)



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 62  
Users visited: 582  
Search this topic:  


shafiq - 20.09.2011 at 10:07  
Best review ever!
So, after umpteen years, 3 lead singers (Dan Nelson, FTR, was the best), the best thing to be said for an album is a reviewers review....
Mr/Ms BitterCOld, great stuff! Although 6.6 is a rather overly generous score
Anthrax, you now officially, 100% suck- documented as 'Morshitte Music'.
strade - 21.09.2011 at 04:50  
Greatest review of all time.
Whoblehwah - 21.09.2011 at 07:09  
This review sums up my feelings for the album pretty well. The first 3 songs are awesome, then after that it just gets bland.
Daniell - 21.09.2011 at 09:42  
Written by Whoblehwah on 21.09.2011 at 07:09

This review sums up my feelings for the album pretty well. The first 3 songs are awesome, then after that it just gets bland.


Which was also the case with "Stomp 442" - great 3 songs, then utter shit followed. It seems that Anthrax should release albums even less often. This way they would be able to make a decent album
Marcel Hubregtse - 21.09.2011 at 09:57  
Written by Daniell on 21.09.2011 at 09:42

Written by Whoblehwah on 21.09.2011 at 07:09

This review sums up my feelings for the album pretty well. The first 3 songs are awesome, then after that it just gets bland.


Which was also the case with "Stomp 442" - great 3 songs, then utter shit followed. It seems that Anthrax should release albums even less often. This way they would be able to make a decent album


Problem is that then they'll choose the wrong songs for it
BitterCOld - 22.09.2011 at 19:50  
Weeeee over 4000 hits. hooray.
BloodTears - 22.09.2011 at 19:56  
You are the master!

On topic: never really cared much about Anthrax, not starting now. Good? Fine.
sepulkisser - 18.11.2011 at 04:58  
Fuck the haters.... ANTHRAX STILL LIVES!!!
vezzy - 18.11.2011 at 11:27  
Written by sepulkisser on 18.11.2011 at 04:58

Fuck the haters.... ANTHRAX STILL LIVES!!!


Your name intrigues me.

I wonder what would happen if you replaced "sepul" with "ass".
sepulkisser - 19.11.2011 at 06:35  
Written by vezzy on 18.11.2011 at 11:27

Written by sepulkisser on 18.11.2011 at 04:58

Fuck the haters.... ANTHRAX STILL LIVES!!!


Your name intrigues me.

I wonder what would happen if you replaced "sepul" with "ass".

Simple answer... the result of that would be: "VezzyRabblehead"
vezzy - 19.11.2011 at 11:48  
Written by sepulkisser on 19.11.2011 at 06:35

Simple answer... the result of that would be: "VezzyRabblehead"


That isn't my actual name, you know.

Like those guys who change their alias every month. All the noobs refer to them by their current alias, but everyone else knows what their (user)name really is.
deadone - 26.05.2014 at 08:59  
Great review. Very witty.

I completely disagree with it though - but then I got over Anthrax no longer being a Thrash band sometime in the 1990s.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Anthrax - Worship Music 7 21.09.2011 by errorcode99
Reviews Anthrax - Worship Music 7 24.12.2011 by Mattybu
Reviews Anthrax - Worship Music 7 01.02.2012 by scapeplan
Albums Anthrax - Worship Music 6 21.06.2010 by Daggon
Albums Anthrax - Soldiers Of Metal [Single] 3 09.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 8889 | This month: 45