Rating:
6.0
Evile - Five Serpent's Teeth
26 September 2011


01. Five Serpent's Teeth
02. In Dreams Of Terror
03. Cult
04. Eternal Empire
05. Xaraya
06. Origin Of Oblivion
07. Centurion
08. In Memoriam
09. Descent Into Madness
10. Long Live New Flesh


2011 has been pretty decent to this whole thrash revival thing. Havok's album has been mashing the fuck out of my neck for a while now, as has Diamond Plate's, SSS's, and especially Toxic Holocaust's. Now Evile, easily one of the more popular bands of the thrash resurgence, has claimed its slice of this shit-wrecking year with Five Serpent's Teeth. Thing is, compared to those from the bands mentioned above, said slice seems really, really, really measly.

And I have an idea why that is. Fun! Uniqueness! Thrashy brashness! Evile never really captures any of the above in Teeth. Looking at the thrash (and crossover) albums I've loved this year, Time Is Up has its 5th-graders-under-the-monkey-bars-melting-then-shooting-up-rock-candy manic riff assaults, Conjure & Command has its old becancered John Wayne levels of grit, Problems To The Answer has its lightness and fun, blah, blah, etc. What I mean is the bands responsible all make me want to listen to them for their music, not for faux-nostalgic purposes. The serpents here, on the other hand, have their heads so far up the big classic thrash band's asses (particularly Justice-era Metallica's on this) that when I put this on, I'm immediately overcome by the urge to listen to Metallica, not Evile. The whole thing sounds forced--it feels more constrained by its influences than anything and it lacks the rawness and the energy that makes good thrash so goddamned fun.

All that said, Teeth really isn't all that bad either. Luckily I took my usual perfunctory, half-assed notes during my first listen to share, unedited, with you here:

-Decent riffing, fucking decent soloing, decent drumming, decent Hettfield-esque vocals, decentish production, extra decent and touching song "In Memoriam" for Mike Alexander, decent etc.

And I'll stick to all of the above. Teeth seems, after a cursory listen, decent. But it lacks not just an x-factor, but x-factors (that's a plural, asshole). I don't want to drink and trash Best Western rooms to it and nothing about it seems all that fresh or brash. It sounds like thrash, but it never quite feels like it. The whole thing sounds tame—neuter, even. And yeah, in my always humble, disagree and you'll need to gtfo opinion, in this way too it's like …And Justice For All. Just without the whole unique factor and the potential to, you know, influence.

Gets a solid 4.25 yawns out of 5 from me.

Tracks that don't suck: "In Memoriam" and "Cult"


Band profile: Evile
Album: Five Serpent's Teeth


 



Written on 26.09.2011 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 322  
Search this topic:  


Unhealer - 26.09.2011 at 01:44  
I disagree, but you have valid reasons.

Maybe I loved this album too much since I'm big fan of Metallica. I agree with the obvious influences, some songs have some "Black Album" on them IMO (didn't remind me of "Justice" over here)

But it seems all the songs on this album just hit the right frequency for me, as I can't really mention anything that stands out. I'm enjoying it more than their previous releases.
Rulatore - 26.09.2011 at 02:52  
Well, I liked this album, not thaaaaaaat much, but it's a cool one, for me, better than SSS+Diamon Plate+Toxic Holocaust. And I really liked In Memoriam.

My opinion.
strade - 26.09.2011 at 02:57  
Pretty much agree with this review. Just another modern thrash revival album.
Whoblehwah - 26.09.2011 at 09:07  
I haven't listened to this whole album, but I understand what you mean about them not being original. Thats actually why I can't listen to them. Whenever I listen to them it just makes me want to listen to Metallica. Really disappointing considering that they're so famous.
Moosh666 - 26.09.2011 at 12:14  
Not their best, but I have to disagree, there are some goldies on there. And as for the whole 'Metallica' rip off shit, the only song that sounds like Metallica to me is In Memoriam. Oh and why compare them to such shit Thrash bands? SSS? Useless as fucking Municipal Waste, Toxic Holocaust always shat me too, they do the same shit every album. Havok however are very good, and their latest is probably better than this, but it still deserves some kind of credit...
Dani5050 - 26.09.2011 at 18:14  
I kind of agree with your review, I was not impressed by the album.
wormdrink414 - 27.09.2011 at 09:25  
Written by Moosh666 on 26.09.2011 at 12:14

Oh and why compare them to such shit Thrash bands? SSS? Useless as fucking Municipal Waste, Toxic Holocaust always shat me too, they do the same shit every album.

I explained that in the review. I like those bands and when I put them on I want to hear their take on thrash. Evile just makes me want to listen to Metallica. Sure, Toxic and SSS are of a different breed of thrash, but they're still part of the same resurgence/revival movement as these guys. You even compared SSS to Municipal Waste--who, c'mon dude, kick some serious ass--over, say, D.R.I. and/or Suicidal Tendencies (regardless of MW being a better comparison), so you seem to already acknowledge that fact. Don't know where the confusion is coming from.

edit: That and mostly because they all released albums this year...
Moosh666 - 27.09.2011 at 18:25  
I agree with you except for the part about Municipal Waste, they had one good song (Sadistic Magician) other than that all their songs sound exactly the same and go for about 30 seconds, not to mention they are a massive stereotype, they are almost a parody band! P.S. Some of the songs do remind me of ...And Justice For All, but the rest of the album still remains Evile to me.
Garth Vader - 29.09.2011 at 08:05  
Like I said in my comment on their video release of Cult, it sounds exactly like Metallica. What is with the copycat vocals!?? Just hearing Cult without knowing otherwise, I would have thought that Metallica finally started sounding like their old selves again. Ha! Leave it to another band to sound more like Metallica than they can themselves these days. It's just too bad it had to be Evile because they had potential. Still for my tastes Gama Bomb beats them all in the Thrash genre these days.
Troy Killjoy - 06.10.2011 at 08:32  
This is what Metallica would have sounded like in the '80s if they sucked. Very accurate review.
soadbyob - 06.10.2011 at 17:31  
Cant even begin to top Enter the Grave, but better than anything Metallica can do now a days.
Troy Killjoy - 06.10.2011 at 19:49  
Written by Guest on 06.10.2011 at 17:31
better than anything Metallica can do now a days.

That really isn't saying much...
soadbyob - 06.10.2011 at 21:16  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.10.2011 at 19:49

Written by Guest on 06.10.2011 at 17:31
better than anything Metallica can do now a days.

That really isn't saying much...


tru dat
Protostar - 21.10.2011 at 05:21  
I expected a lot more from Evile. i mean the album's great and all but it's just not anywhere near as good as their other releases. meeeeeh, what ever the case i still say horns up and congratulations for not adding lengthy breakdowns and mindless lyrics. and or making a video with some random bimbo running through the woods terrified like the rest of the metal community has done.
B+
Protostar - 21.10.2011 at 05:24  
LOLL @ Metallica comment. the only way i can ever enjoy that band is by listening to the cover song 'Leper Messiah' by Syphilic. if it ain't brutal it ain't shit.
K†ulu - 13.02.2012 at 21:56  
This is indeed quite average; however, those other bands were not very impressive either for me. Still, Evile's last album is good evidence to the claim that they need some time to get into. Infected Nations sounded like crap at first but then I really got into it. Five Serpent's Teeth also has some of that potential, but the overall quality does seem lower, at least the soloing is definitely not on par with the previous one, where it was outstanding.

However, credit should be given to Matt Drake for trying to actually sing, which no other (well-known) thrash bands are doing.

The bottom line is, while Five Serpent's Teeth is indeed average, I think Evile is a band to look out for.

P.S. The drumming is one of the downsides on this album: too simplistic.
Mr. Sizzle - 07.03.2012 at 05:03  
Written by K†ulu on 13.02.2012 at 21:56

The drumming is one of the downsides on this album: too simplistic.


For the most part, I agree, but compared to Enter The Grave the drumming IMO has improved substantially. Even if it is simplistic.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Events POL, Bydgoszcz - Evile: Five Serpent's European Tour 2012 4.5 14.11.2011 by Pazdzioch
Events HUN, Budapest - Evile: Five Serpent's European Tour 2012 4.5 21.02.2012 by Big-Al
Reviews Posthumous Blasphemer - Fracture The Worship 3 05.06.2011 by Maxx666
Reviews Krokmitën - Alpha-Beta 3 20.08.2011 by Carl Berg
Reviews Enthroned - Obsidium 3 03.04.2012 by AtrumHiberna



Hits total: 5922 | This month: 38