Rating:
9.0
Warbringer - Worlds Torn Asunder
26 September 2011


01. Living Weapon
02. Shattered Like Glass
03. Wake Up... Destroy
04. Future Ages Gone
05. Savagery
06. Treacherous Tongue
07. Echoes From The Void
08. Enemies Of The State
09. Behind The Veils Of Night
10. Demonic Ecstasy
11. Sacrifice [Bathory cover] [digital bonus version]
12. Execute Them All [Unleashed cover] [2008 version] [digital bonus version]


All those x-factors that Evile's Five Serpent's Teeth lacks, Warbringer's Worlds Torn Asunder has in abundance; these guys know what makes fun thrash fun. Namely, the large helpings of pissed-offery, funness, brazenness, speediness, riffs, riffs, more riffs, and some more fucking riffs. When I put Worlds on I feel like hopping around, clawing at shit, throwing shit at shit, and beating shit to shit. And what else could you possibly want from thrash?

It really is a beautiful thing when every song on an album trundles along without snags and toe stubs (especially when there's an acoustic instrumental track). Worlds is one of those albums that'll grab you by the ears and throw you around into walls, knocking over posters and stacks of CDs and porn and whatever else you have around your cave until it ends. Not once did I even consider writing this review while it was on. Way too busy getting my thrash on.

Worlds is one of those albums that should have a sticker on it warning you not to put it on while operating heavy machinery or around elderly people or, holy shit, while driving. Put it on, and everything looks like a mosh pit waiting to happen. This is best listened to with a belly full of beer and a half-eaten boar's thigh dangling in your hand in the seclusion of your home. You know, just to be cautious. Listen to it where you can't feasibly throw beer bottles at passing bicyclists and start demolition derbies on the interstate like you always want to. Do Mother's Alliances and Michelle Obama proud, stay safe.

But, gripes, gripes. Really don't have many, but the production is a little on the sub-par side. Sure, everything is performed well enough and precisely here, and the cleanliness really doesn't bother me much, but around the third or fourth spin, I couldn't help but want a bit more of a punch from it. Everything seems to be of equal loudness, so the fact that the riffs and fills all come swinging sledgehammers kind of hinders the overall power a bit. Would have liked a little more variation and dirt.

Let's be honest though, that's a bit of a nitpicky thing to bitch about here.

Don't hesitate to pick this up when you have a chance. Warbringer brought their A-game—particularly the vocalist (the dude's got range now)--and this is, from the play button being hit to the end of the disc, going to tornado kick you repeatedly in the face and rip you a handful of new assholes… and somehow I mean that in a good way. Sure, seems like a few little somethings have been lost in the production approach since their first two full-lengths, but that's all made up for by some considerable leaps forward in songwriting, performance, and all that good stuff. Excellent album here.


Band profile: Warbringer
Album: Worlds Torn Asunder


 



Written on 28.09.2011 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››

Guest review by
Iron Nostarion

Rating:
8.8
Riffs that tear your mind apart, merciless pounding drums, soaring vocals and highly enjoyable solos all come to unite once again under Warbringer's latest effort, Worlds Torn Asunder. A merciless, brutal thrash metal attack that begins strong with its kickstarter "Living Weapon" and ends just as strong with the closer "Demonic Ecstasy", Worlds Torn Asunder is surely an album you cannot miss if you admire the new wave of Thrash, even if in the least sense of the word.

Read more ››
published 30.10.2011 | Comments (0)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 358  
Search this topic:  


Baz Anderson - 28.09.2011 at 15:35  
There are some good songs ("Savagery"...) but I don't think that this album is anywhere near as good as their last album...
Good, but nothing great...
Marcel Hubregtse - 28.09.2011 at 15:42  
Same quality as the previous one. Good enjoyable revivalist thrash. Nothing more, nothing less. Imo currently the most overrated revivalist thrash band, though.
Unhealer - 28.09.2011 at 15:53  
Good one, but I liked Evile's last record even more.

I feel this album has no progress from their last ones.
Of course there are some kickass tracks like "Living Weapon" or "Savagery", but nothing not seen before (Speaking strictly of Warbringer's career, otherwise...)

A 7 for me.
Rulatore - 28.09.2011 at 16:12  
Good as the last one
Daniell - 28.09.2011 at 19:37  
Perfect copycats are back I see. I listened to the album yesterday. "Revivalist" is the nice term, but I call it "rip-off". Originality is non-existent, but the songs are very solid and I did enjoy what I heard. 7-8 from me. Would be more if they actually tried to write their own songs instead of rehashing the classics.
Kingface - 29.09.2011 at 01:21  
I've only listened to this once so far but am immediately very impressed by it. I just find all of Warbringer's material so far to be extremely fun to listen to and no doubt in my mind that they are one of the best new Metal bands around.
Moosh666 - 01.10.2011 at 08:35  
I'm really getting sick of people saying Warbringer is 'unoriginal', I've heard every Thrash Metal Band under the sun and none sound anything like Warbringer, and hasn't anyone notice the evident evolution of this band since their last album? This is a great step forward in their career, I give it a 9, although the first 2 tracks were the only songs in the album I didn't like....
Daniell - 01.10.2011 at 13:40  
Written by Moosh666 on 01.10.2011 at 08:35

I'm really getting sick of people saying Warbringer is 'unoriginal', I've heard every Thrash Metal Band under the sun and none sound anything like Warbringer


I think you have a lot of listening to do still. Whoever told you you heard every thrash band under the sun, they lied.
Moosh666 - 02.10.2011 at 14:01  
Written by Daniell on 01.10.2011 at 13:40

Written by Moosh666 on 01.10.2011 at 08:35

I'm really getting sick of people saying Warbringer is 'unoriginal', I've heard every Thrash Metal Band under the sun and none sound anything like Warbringer


I think you have a lot of listening to do still. Whoever told you you heard every thrash band under the sun, they lied.


It was a figure of speech XD
Garth Vader - 04.10.2011 at 07:52  
Haven't heard the album yet but as long as we are on the topic of originality I think this album cover from 1989 is evidence that at least something isn't totally original here....
http://www.nolifetilmetal.com/rageofangels.htm
Guib - 06.10.2011 at 18:01  
So Marcel again used overrated -_- (just pointing it out)

But yeah anyways, this album is great. Obviously those who already don't like Thrash resurgence will bash it (grin) but for the real thrash enjoyers, you'll love it. Also, some complaining that they are unoriginal, yeah yeah they're not ground breaking you can obviously see that they're inspired by bands like Exodus but calling it rip-off nah man lol but anyways the band's great good song writing, they play well and do awesome thrash metal.
wormdrink414 - 06.10.2011 at 22:17  
^ We're still whipper-snappers. People who've been listening to thrash a lot longer than us not giving this much love is understandable. Like to think that Warbringer is unique enough, but they're obviously not original. Understand if the old-timers who've had Bonded By Blood and all the old Slayer albums for a couple decades now aren't digging the blatant hero-worship.
Troy Killjoy - 06.10.2011 at 22:23  
I'm younger than you but I'm with the old-timer crowd when it comes to thrash. This modern crap just doesn't do it for me.
Daggon - 07.10.2011 at 08:11  
Well well, I find this album quite good, even if "Waking Into Nightmares" is in my humble opinion one of the greatest Thrash metal albums of the past years (making this album not as good as that one), I find this one really good, I mean, as the review says, this shit makes you wanna beat the crap out of everyone around you, and for me, that is the real essence of Thrash metal, yeah, I know, some Demolition Hammer/Exodus/Dead Head worshiping here and there, but in the end, this is what I call influence, and if they know how to play it well, I'm fine with that.

And by the way, I don't think this band is overrated (as Marcel said haha), I think they deserve the praise they have been receiving lately, I mean, they don't deserve more, they don't deserve less, just the value they have right now.

Another awesome addition to this year's growing list of great Thrash metal albums, like the new releases of Toxic Holocaust, Havok, Diamond Plate and probably the new Vektor if it is released this year (haven't listened to the new Evile album in its entirety, but I'm pretty sure I won't like it at all).
R'Vannith - 07.10.2011 at 17:25  
Bloody hell that's some fine drum work! Overall this album is just too bland for me though despite a few great tracks.
BoxCar Willy - 09.10.2011 at 03:24  
WANT WANT WANT WANT WANT
Mattybu - 21.10.2011 at 03:40  
Written by Garth Vader on 04.10.2011 at 07:52

Haven't heard the album yet but as long as we are on the topic of originality I think this album cover from 1989 is evidence that at least something isn't totally original here....
http://www.nolifetilmetal.com/rageofangels.htm


I doubt Warbringer would rip anything off from a Christian Metal band... And its a stretch at any rate saying that its a copy

Anyways, I like this review, this album is a real ripper. Walking around listening to Living Weapon makes me just wanna snuff the first person that looks like anything.
ahal - 28.10.2011 at 22:52  
This album is so fucking great, if you are into thrash metal you've got to check this shit out!
Troy Killjoy - 28.10.2011 at 22:58  
Written by ahal on 28.10.2011 at 22:52
if you are into MODERN thrash metal you've got to check this shit out!

Fixed.
metal_communard - 30.12.2011 at 22:12  
Modern thrash metal, really?
What would "modern" here actually mean? That it wasn't composed and recorded in the 80s and early 90s? That it clearly bears the influence of a thousand shitty metalcore bands? What?

On to the review, for me, the greatest strenght of this record is its "depth" and mood, crowned with some really killer riffs and songwriting that is obviously superior, more nuanced and in any way better thna their previous releases. Here I cannot but agree with Mooosh777, how can you people fail to notice the obvious improvement? This album is in no way a grand expansion of the genre (if that's even possible) some people seem to be looking for.

My grade would be 8.1 (some problems in the riff department, for example the speedy main riff on "Future Ages Gone"; and production lacks that certain punch)
Troy Killjoy - 31.12.2011 at 03:09  
Written by metal_communard on 30.12.2011 at 22:12
What would "modern" here actually mean? That it wasn't composed and recorded in the 80s and early 90s? That it clearly bears the influence of a thousand shitty metalcore bands? What?

I guess you can't get upset about the "plastic" production because some of the better thrash albums feature some of that, and I guess you can't fault them for not doing this 25 years ago or so when it actually mattered because they were born in the wrong time, and I guess the minimalistic aggression isn't their fault since they don't really have the same ingenuity as the pioneers and obviously everything they have to be upset about has already been articulated and expressed better than they could ever do, so maybe calling it modern thrash is inappropriate. Maybe we should just call it revivalist thrash like we've been doing all along.
metal_communard - 31.12.2011 at 03:53  
Minimalistic aggression? That's hardly a fair assessment of WTA. It's as if you spinned Waking into Nightmares - which is in fact entirely based on what you call minimalistic aggression - a few times, and never bothered to give this one a proper listen.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Warbringer - Worlds Torn Asunder 7.5 15.06.2011 by BrutalN00dle
Reviews Warbringer - IV: Empires Collapse 6 09.12.2013 by Mattybu
Events ESP, Madrid - Warbringer: Europe Torn Asunder 2011 4.5 28.11.2011 by Vikcen
Events USA, San Francisco, CA - Warbringer: America Torn Asunder 2011 4.5 25.01.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews When Nothing Remains - As All Torn Asunder 4 02.08.2012 by Ag Fox



Hits total: 5497 | This month: 43