Rating:
N/A
Wereworld - Wereworld
14 September 2011


01. Wereworld
02. The Land of the Fading Sun
03. Soulless
04. Children of War
05. Requiem for the World
06. I F.L.Y.
07. Origin of Hate
08. Dead Spring
09. Crimson Summer
10. Autumn Song
11. Raw Winter


My initial impression of this band was a great one; the opening track started to show a nice spin on the genre with interesting musical twists and turns and some vocals that were a pleasant surprise. Unfortunately, the magic seemed to slow way down after that one song and symphonic metal was left with yet another mediocre album on its hands.

After 10 years of false starts and name changes, Spaniards Wereworld officially formed in 2010. There are musical elements that hint at them being experienced players and writers but unfortunately even with 10 years of good ideas built up, the execution is very poor. Perhaps Wereworld could have been saved by some great vocals but that didn't happen either. Female lead vocalist Ana gives a performance showing a voice stuck in the back of her throat and a performer totally unsure of what direction she wants to take. Secondary male vocals by guitarist Guillermo are… mmm…not great.

So, I mentioned 10 years of good ideas and I meant it; they're all over the place. Some moments are awesome but many are just poorly developed and short-lived, showcased in a bad production, and topped with amateurish vocals. I will say they do succeed at creating a beautifully dark colored atmosphere; then Ana comes in to sing her same four notes accompanied by the same spooky keyboards and blast-beat drumming. Nice guitar riffs are to be had here and there, yet by the end of the album it's all bled together.

Hungry, forgiving fans of symphonic metal or accessible gothic metal may very well find something enjoyable about this album. If that describes you, then by all means please check out Wereworld because you will hear all the good in this debut. Those of you with a more discerning palate, however, will probably not.


Website: http://www.facebook.com/wereworld


 



Written on 02.10.2011 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 169  
Search this topic:  


Kuroboshi - 02.10.2011 at 10:52  
Great review! Very concise and relaxed. You definitely made me not want to check this album out.
chouji - 03.10.2011 at 12:33  
This review is anything but great. If the reviewer didn't like this style, or if she directly didn't want to listen to the album she could give the review to another partner.
Actually is pretty clear she didn't listen to the album at all. She couldn't mention ANY of the songs included here (the album starts good and then blahblahblahblahblah). Reviewers are suppoused to do an exaustive "autopsy" of what they are reviewing. This reviewer clearly does not. Or she just doesn't know.

I've been following this band for years. The fact that it was funded 10 years ago doesn't mean they have been 10 years working only on these songs. They actually have a big pile of good stuff to come that I have listened to. So the reviewer again talks from her ignorance. If you just didn't know what to talk about because you didn't listen to the album at all, you should look for another kind of stuff to fill a review.

You can say that you don't like the singers, that's your personal opinion, but you can't say Ana Rochas "is unsure of what direction she wants to take". She has a voice of great personality, very different from all the fake diva voices out there and she is absolutly aware of how she sounds like and how she wants to sound like.
"Poor execution and bad production" is another statment made by obvious ignorance when first: they have musicians who have played with some of the biggest artists in the world and second: they were produced by the most important rock&metal label in their country.

People, dont let yourself get fooled by these words. You can listen to the album for free on Spotify and decide for yourself if you like it or not.
The Shape 1973 - 03.10.2011 at 17:46  
I read the review and thought that I would give the album a listen. If anything the review was not hard enough. The female vocalist is TERRIBLE.

I am a big fan of the genre, but this is best left alone. If they have been together for 10 years I hate to think how bad they were at the start.

This sort of music has been done over and over again. Usually much better. If this band turned up as a support act, I would go to the bar.
Daniell - 03.10.2011 at 17:50  
It's more than apparent that this post was written by either a band member, or a friend of the band. I took the liberty of translating some parts of the post in a way that would shed some light on the ulterior motives of the poster.

Written by chouji on 03.10.2011 at 12:33

This review is anything but great. If the reviewer didn't like this style, or if she directly didn't want to listen to the album she could give the review to another partner.


READ AS: If you didn't like our album, you were supposed to find someone who does, so that the review would be positive towards the band. Because we only want positive reviews!

Written by chouji on 03.10.2011 at 12:33

People, dont let yourself get fooled by these words. You can listen to the album for free on Spotify and decide for yourself if you like it or not.


READ AS: We're good, really! Please give us a chance!

As for female vocals. Dude, Lyrinan is a professional opera singer, so Metalstorm doesn't have a better person to appreciate singing... If she says it sucks, it sucks.
Promonex - 03.10.2011 at 18:08  
Written by chouji on 03.10.2011 at 12:33

This review is anything but great. If the reviewer didn't like this style, [...]
[...]
So the reviewer again talks from her ignorance.
[...]

Ah, the beauty of backfiring ad-hominem arguments. Blaming a reviewer of being ignorant and not being able to enjoy a particular style, but failing to realize that one is talking to an opera singer and avid symphonic metal fan. I'm so glad for the invention of facepalms right now.
GT - 03.10.2011 at 18:39  
Written by Promonex on 03.10.2011 at 18:08

Written by chouji on 03.10.2011 at 12:33

This review is anything but great. If the reviewer didn't like this style, [...]
[...]
So the reviewer again talks from her ignorance.
[...]

Ah, the beauty of backfiring ad-hominem arguments. Blaming a reviewer of being ignorant and not being able to enjoy a particular style, but failing to realize that one is talking to an opera singer and avid symphonic metal fan. I'm so glad for the invention of facepalms right now.

Only thing to say: +1
Mr. Doctor - 03.10.2011 at 18:40  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 03.10.2011 at 17:46
The female vocalist is TERRIBLE.


I heard the song I FLY and I totally regret it. You're right, the vocals are awful. I used to like this music in my first years as a metalhead and I'm pretty sure that if this was my first encounter with a band of that style I would just back away immediately.

I'm not even going to comment on that comment by that chouji guy... I'm just going to say.
Daniell, Promonex: [like]
Troy Killjoy - 03.10.2011 at 20:02  
Written by Daniell on 03.10.2011 at 17:50
...we only want positive reviews!

Reminds me of an old friend who couldn't seem to get past the fact I didn't enjoy his crappy black metal album. It's especially fun when they tell you as a reviewer you should pass it on to someone else to praise it because you aren't into the genre. I'm like...ya...I don't even know what black metal is. That's like Deicide or something right?
frankiecali - 03.10.2011 at 22:04  
Well I'm a true fan...and as we all can have our opinions its best for you to check out the album for yourself and decide then, instead of going off with someones review...This band isnt only amazing but rewarding everytime I listen to any of their songs...I love each song in this album FLY being my ultimate favorite and Children of war...This band has great energy and you can tell they are doing what they love most...To make Great music for their true fans. I listen to this album without having to skip any songs! Keep the good music coming!
Daniell - 03.10.2011 at 22:45  
Eek, more help came!
BitterCOld - 03.10.2011 at 22:48  
So long as they voice their disagreement civilly... unlike fans of another band that comes to mind.
The Shape 1973 - 03.10.2011 at 23:18  
Funny how both of the people in favour of the band only registered today. Both have gmail accounts. Seems like a bit of a coincidence.

Wonder what instruments they play in the band?

Ooops! Sorry did I just type what everybody was thinking then. I should be more careful.
Mr. Doctor - 03.10.2011 at 23:39  
Written by BitterCOld on 03.10.2011 at 22:48

So long as they voice their disagreement civilly... unlike fans of another band that comes to mind.


I see what you did there.... And I like it.
Daniell - 04.10.2011 at 23:22  
Written by BitterCOld on 03.10.2011 at 22:48

So long as they voice their disagreement civilly... unlike fans of another band that comes to mind.


Damn, where is my chainsaw!?
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.10.2011 at 23:24  
Written by Daniell on 04.10.2011 at 23:22

Damn, where is my chainsaw!?


You cunt.
Daniell - 04.10.2011 at 23:28  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 04.10.2011 at 23:24

Written by Daniell on 04.10.2011 at 23:22

Damn, where is my chainsaw!?


You cunt.


This really made me laugh out loud!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Wound - Inhale The Void 3 21.07.2013 by BitterCOld
Reviews Maudlin - A Sign Of Time 3 07.03.2013 by whatsacow
Reviews Arbor - The Plutonian Shore 3 26.10.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Vanisher - Unbound 3 11.12.2012 by Tristus Scriptor
Reviews Wedding In Hades - Misbehaviour 3 31.05.2012 by InnerSelf



Hits total: 2728 | This month: 3