Regul - Chambers Of Permafrost review



Reviewer:
6.5

1 user:
6.00
Band: Regul
Album: Chambers Of Permafrost
Release date: July 2011


01. Jarym Ognem Nebo Gorit
02. Pokoi Vechnoj Merzloty
03. Holod Zamerzshih Serdec
04. Moroza Bezzhalostnyj Gnev
05. T'ma Poljarnoj Nochi
06. Toska Karpatskih Lesov
07. Krik Umirajuwej Prirody


Sometimes two tastes or flavors come together perfectly. See those old "bitch, you got your chocolate in my peanut butter… muthatrucka you got your peanut butter in my chocolate" Reese's Peanut Butter cup ads. Some times two flavors combined are still a bit odd and not for everyone, like fries and mayo.

The Russian doom project Regul combine two primary elements into their overall sound… blending an almost ambient suffocating distorted-guitar dark fog a la Nortt with light, whimsical keyboards that for whatever reason reminded me of the one Mortiis track I've heard.

Furthermore, this isn't the traditional soft-then-hard approach that blends from one to the next, i.e. soft passages that suddenly give way to thundering distorted doom. It's not a shift, it's a blend of both simultaneously. One layered on top of the other, with the keyboard portions predominately in the volume lead.

So, bleak woe juxtaposed against almost light-hearted fantasy?

It leaves me a tad confused. Thanks to the smothering sonic fog of the guitar parts, I should be digging and laying in my own grave, awaiting for the darkness to envelop and take me… yet at the same time, because of the fanciful keyboards, I feel I'm being pulled to the court in the hall of the mountain king… to drink mulled wine and whisper sweet nothings that make the serving maids blush.

Going back to that whole tastes thing, Regul is a lot like fries and mayo… I just don't get it. But while I might not enjoy frites and mayo, millions of Dutchmen do. And just because I don't fully appreciate this approach doesn't mean you won't.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 7


 



Written on 03.10.2011 by BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.


Comments

Comments: 7   Visited by: 90 users
04.10.2011 - 06:32
JCJen7
Typo "frites" in the last paragraph fyi.

Doesn't sound at all like something I'm interested in, (both the album and the fry mayo combo).
----
This is my sig, respect it. Please.

CHECK THESE OUT
Loading...
04.10.2011 - 07:04
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by JCJen7 on 04.10.2011 at 06:32

Typo "frites" in the last paragraph fyi.


frites is what they are called in Belgium and The Netherlands... where they consume them with mayo.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
04.10.2011 - 07:52
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
Well, now I'm interested.
Loading...
04.10.2011 - 08:27
Milena
Learning To "X"
I'm a fries with mayo person. But I don't think this musical combo would suite me that well, so I'll pass
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
04.10.2011 - 09:22
JCJen7
Written by BitterCOld on 04.10.2011 at 07:04

Written by JCJen7 on 04.10.2011 at 06:32

Typo "frites" in the last paragraph fyi.


frites is what they are called in Belgium and The Netherlands... where they consume them with mayo.


i stand corrected. I guess i should check out the album now!
----
This is my sig, respect it. Please.

CHECK THESE OUT
Loading...
04.10.2011 - 18:09
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by BitterCOld on 04.10.2011 at 07:04

Written by JCJen7 on 04.10.2011 at 06:32

Typo "frites" in the last paragraph fyi.


frites is what they are called in Belgium and The Netherlands... where they consume them with mayo.


Actually most of us call them patat, which is thicker than frites (friet), frites (friet) is the same size as french fries, but there are people here that call patat, frites (friet) and some even call them patat frites, to make it even more complictaed. But all that is purely nitpicking btw.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
04.10.2011 - 18:13
DerRozzengarten
Odysseus
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 04.10.2011 at 18:09

Actually most of us call them patat, which is thicker than frites (friet), frites (friet) is the same size as french fries, but there are people here that call patat, frites (friet) and some even call them patat frites, to make it even more complictaed. But all that is purely nitpicking btw.

Patat Here we call them patates
----
Dec. 30, 1334.

...And the whiskey and wine entered our veins when blood was too weak to carry on.
Loading...

Hits total: 2771 | This month: 9