De Magia Veterum - The Divine Antithesis review



Reviewer:
8.0

16 users:
7.38
Band: De Magia Veterum
Album: The Divine Antithesis
Release date: February 2011


01. Part 1: Transfiguration
02. Part 2: The Stench Of Burning Wings
03. Part 3: The Flaming Sword
04. Part 4: The Heavens
05. Part 5: Torn Between Ruins, Faith And The Divine
06. Part 6: Burning Hands And A Crown Of Flames
07. Part 7: Angelical Deformity


Do you hate hosting people at your apartment? Especially when they're relatives or family friends and you have to act a certain way around them? Well, you've found the ideal album to make them go away at their own will. It's not pretentious to enjoy your "favorite" music at 2 am for example; oh wait, or is it?

Are you sure you want to partake in this schizoid dissonance? It wasn't made for a benevolent cause, unless you consider this abusement park a place where humanity can daydream. No fucking way. And if you think you will survive this discordant experience very easily then I have to admit that you've been fooled. Don't take into consideration the cover artwork with the inverted Jesus on drugs and the hallucinating angels. This is definitely not the sound of an angel's trumpet! The truth shall shine with the title of the album; if the artwork is some kind of a divine thesis, then the sound is The Divine Antithesis. Not only has Mories de Jong been productive and creative during 2011, but also ecstatic to the extent of insanity; De Magia Veterum is only one aspect of his artistic psychosis.

The whole album is a wall of sound itself and disharmony reigns supreme. Disturbing guitars as if someone was ringing an alarm trespass on the tranquility of your ear drums. Volcanic noisy riffing fumes the place even more and bass lines that pound like a lunatic's hyper-euphoric heartbeat are the keys to paranoia. The fact that the drumming seems to fail enough times to synchronize with the rest of the instruments is definitely on purpose. It sets sail on parallel key signatures so as to strengthen the anti-instrumentation process. As for the vocals, demented choked screams from afar or bizarre recitations should not be considered some kind of right-as-rain interpretation, it's sickening! That's why you should worship it. The album is chaotic and so is the production, with one difference, the havoc in terms of production doesn't ruin the disorder in the song-writing factor.

Either you love it or hate it - because that's the only category in which you could place this album - it doesn't make any difference at all since The Divine Antithesis' major role is to ruin your peacefulness. Proceed with extra caution, reactions may differ drastically from person to person and undesirable behavior may occur; ask your doctor, at the asylum.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 03.10.2011 by "It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 57   Visited by: 214 users
29.12.2011 - 19:02
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Justicelust on 29.12.2011 at 18:33
I ask you is music chaos? you call chaotic things music?

There absolutely nothing wrong here, isn't the most extreme genres like death, black and grindcore based on chaos anyways?

Quote:
so the sound of explosions, strong winds and storms, the sound of wars, crowds, etc... are music too.

Reductio ad absurdum for the win. I'm just going to say: Music can be a lot of things, even classical music has its chaotic moments.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.12.2011 - 19:11
Justicelust
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.12.2011 at 19:02

Written by Justicelust on 29.12.2011 at 18:33
I ask you is music chaos? you call chaotic things music?

There absolutely nothing wrong here, isn't the most extreme genres like death, black and grindcore based on chaos anyways?

Quote:
so the sound of explosions, strong winds and storms, the sound of wars, crowds, etc... are music too.

Reductio ad absurdum for the win. I'm just going to say: Music can be a lot of things, even classical music has its chaotic moments.

No I don't think they are based on chaos but anyway I don't listen to those three genres you mentioned, I'm into Doom mostly, all the sub genres of Doom, Doom is the best music on earth.
music can be a lot of things. I agree with you in this.
Loading...
29.12.2011 - 19:13
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Chaos is not music. This is not chaos however much you try to push the issue. Ergo this is music. Music that emulates the idea of chaos. It is chaotic but not chaos. If you think melody is the be all and end all of music then you should stick to pop. There's plenty of it for you to enjoy.
Loading...
29.12.2011 - 19:14
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Justicelust on 29.12.2011 at 19:11
No I don't think they are based on chaos but anyway I don't listen to those three genres you mentioned, I'm into Doom mostly, all the sub genres of Doom, Doom is the best music on earth.
music can be a lot of things. I agree with you in this.


Hhahaha well, Doom is definitely my favorite genre as well but even within that genre a lot of chaos can be found in bands like Disembowelment and other death/doom bands.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.12.2011 - 19:30
Justicelust
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.12.2011 at 19:14

Written by Justicelust on 29.12.2011 at 19:11
No I don't think they are based on chaos but anyway I don't listen to those three genres you mentioned, I'm into Doom mostly, all the sub genres of Doom, Doom is the best music on earth.
music can be a lot of things. I agree with you in this.


Hhahaha well, Doom is definitely my favorite genre as well but even within that genre a lot of chaos can be found in bands like Disembowelment and other death/doom bands.


Really? I haven't heard of Disembowelment, so there is chaos in everything hahaha life itself is chaos that is why I'm so bored of life I want to avoid chaos in every possible ways, sorry everyone for using retard word.
Loading...
29.12.2011 - 19:36
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Justicelust on 29.12.2011 at 19:30

Really? I haven't heard of Disembowelment, so there is chaos in everything hahaha life itself is chaos that is why I'm so bored of life I want to avoid chaos in every possible ways, sorry everyone for using retard word.


They are quite a "cult" band in the genre. Here's the MS profile.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.12.2011 - 19:47
Justicelust
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.12.2011 at 19:36

Written by Justicelust on 29.12.2011 at 19:30

Really? I haven't heard of Disembowelment, so there is chaos in everything hahaha life itself is chaos that is why I'm so bored of life I want to avoid chaos in every possible ways, sorry everyone for using retard word.


They are quite a "cult" band in the genre. Here's the MS profile.

You are right there is chaos, it is written Death Doom Metal in their profile but it sounds something like Black/Funeral Doom metal to me.
Loading...
29.12.2011 - 20:08
Justicelust
Quote:
I think the death influence is pretty obvious, specially here. They just have a really muddy sound.

Yes there is death influence in this one especially in the beginning and the end, but the middle of the song was quite Funeral Doom I liked it.
Loading...
30.12.2011 - 17:22
Slayer666
Written by Justicelust on 29.12.2011 at 13:13

What the hell was that?! This is pure chaos, how can you guys listen to this?????? OK I will never ever listen to something that is avantgarde black metal, Metal is beautiful but something like this is a shame to be called Metal. I'm glad that there are Doom, Funeral Doom, Melodic Death, Folk, Symphonic, Dark, Neofolk, Shoegaze, and Gothic Metal that brings out emotions and gives you serenity.


Oh, boy... I shudder to think what would happen to you if you were exposed to Mories' other works, because compared to Gnaw Their Tongues, this album is almost a lullaby.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 09:14
Justicelust
Written by Slayer666 on 30.12.2011 at 17:22

Written by Justicelust on 29.12.2011 at 13:13

What the hell was that?! This is pure chaos, how can you guys listen to this?????? OK I will never ever listen to something that is avantgarde black metal, Metal is beautiful but something like this is a shame to be called Metal. I'm glad that there are Doom, Funeral Doom, Melodic Death, Folk, Symphonic, Dark, Neofolk, Shoegaze, and Gothic Metal that brings out emotions and gives you serenity.


Oh, boy... I shudder to think what would happen to you if you were exposed to Mories' other works, because compared to Gnaw Their Tongues, this album is almost a lullaby.

Nothing would happen to me it is just boring, there is no melody, no good growls, nothing special, it is just some crazy sound this guy makes. go say that to someone who doesn't listen to metal, dear boy...
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 09:32
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 09:14
go say that to someone who doesn't listen to metal, dear boy...

Coming from someone who said this album is "a shame to be called metal".
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 12:56
Slayer666
Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 09:14

Nothing would happen to me it is just boring, there is no melody, no good growls, nothing special, it is just some crazy sound this guy makes. go say that to someone who doesn't listen to metal, dear boy...


Cool story, bro. I call bullshit on it, though. If this album got your period running as much as it did, the band I mentioned would probably be the equivalent of a major menstrual cramp.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 16:01
Justicelust
Written by Troy Killjoy on 31.12.2011 at 09:32

Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 09:14
go say that to someone who doesn't listen to metal, dear boy...

Coming from someone who said this album is "a shame to be called metal".

YES I say that again because I consider Metal beautiful and this is not, this is chaos and my opinion is that chaos is not beautiful so it is a shame to be called Metal, maybe you think different.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 16:03
Justicelust
Written by Slayer666 on 31.12.2011 at 12:56

Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 09:14

Nothing would happen to me it is just boring, there is no melody, no good growls, nothing special, it is just some crazy sound this guy makes. go say that to someone who doesn't listen to metal, dear boy...


Cool story, bro. I call bullshit on it, though. If this album got your period running as much as it did, the band I mentioned would probably be the equivalent of a major menstrual cramp.

Whatever is it bro, I don't listen to this kind of music and if I do, it would be a bad experience and I get bored to death.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 16:20
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 16:01


YES I say that again because I consider Metal beautiful and this is not, this is chaos and my opinion is that chaos is not beautiful so it is a shame to be called Metal, maybe you think different.

Do you think metal was based on some bizarre concept of beauty? No, I don't think so. It's you here that's the odd one out.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 16:29
Justicelust
Written by Guest on 31.12.2011 at 16:20

Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 16:01


YES I say that again because I consider Metal beautiful and this is not, this is chaos and my opinion is that chaos is not beautiful so it is a shame to be called Metal, maybe you think different.

Do you think metal was based on some bizarre concept of beauty? No, I don't think so. It's you here that's the odd one out.

Well, if you consider different opinions to be odd then I say it is you that is odd.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 16:31
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 16:29

Well, if you consider different opinions to be odd then I say it is you that is odd.

Why? I understand that this kind of music has a very "metal" aesthetic to it whereas you don't because it's "chaos." You're the only person I've ever known that thinks only beautiful metal can be called "metal" and anything that deviates from that shouldn't be called metal.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 16:46
Justicelust
Written by Guest on 31.12.2011 at 16:31

Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 16:29

Well, if you consider different opinions to be odd then I say it is you that is odd.

Why? I understand that this kind of music has a very "metal" aesthetic to it whereas you don't because it's "chaos." You're the only person I've ever known that thinks only beautiful metal can be called "metal" and anything that deviates from that shouldn't be called metal.

I agree that this is Metal but this music is so strange to me that makes me think it's not Metal. you got me bro I think I'm wrong in that point. Anyway this is not my thing I never listen to it I may overreacted to what I first said about this album.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 18:02
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 16:46
is so strange to me that makes me think it's not Metal.


When people get out of their confort zone, they get confused and say things like what you said before. I understand.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 19:24
Justicelust
Written by Mr. Doctor on 31.12.2011 at 18:02

Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 16:46
is so strange to me that makes me think it's not Metal.


When people get out of their confort zone, they get confused and say things like what you said before. I understand.

Yes that is exactly what happened to me.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 19:27
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 19:24
Yes that is exactly what happened to me.


I wouldn't judge you for that at all. I did not get into this stuff from one morning to the other.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 19:36
Justicelust
Written by Mr. Doctor on 31.12.2011 at 19:27

Written by Justicelust on 31.12.2011 at 19:24
Yes that is exactly what happened to me.


I wouldn't judge you for that at all. I did not get into this stuff from one morning to the other.

If I want to get into this stuff it would take me a century
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 20:02
FrozenJoy
Um, I've tried with the first track, and I think there are some exaggerations in the review... I mean yeah, this is chaotic (as jooe said), but it's not SO insane as the review implies, I find it listenable, but boring... (Gnaw Their Tongues, well, THAT'S what I call some sickening schizofrenic insanity, and I can't stand it)
Two points: 1) I neither love it or hate it, it's more like "meh" to me... Is that possible? xD
2) The most important question: could someone please (and I mean PLEASE) explain what's the point of the "noise" music this guy plays? Cus honestly, (and I mean no offense to anyone) I just don't get it...
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 20:10
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by FrozenJoy on 05.01.2012 at 20:02
I just don't get it...

Hopefully this won't sound pretentious but that's pretty much it: If you don't get it, you just don't... I highly doubt that if I explain to you what I feel with this stuff it would suddenly change your mind. I think the experimentation of layers and songwriting not to mention the brilliant use of samples is actually far superior to a lot of prog stuff.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 20:15
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by FrozenJoy on 05.01.2012 at 20:02
2) The most important question: could someone please (and I mean PLEASE) explain what's the point of the "noise" music this guy plays?

I think the review explains it masterfully to be honest. I was going to come up with some lame attempt at describing the purpose but trust me - the review explains it much better than I ever could.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.01.2012 - 21:31
FrozenJoy
I think you're right, probably it isn't my cup of tea, and that's that... Anyway, thanks guys, my question was kinda silly now that I think of it, like as if I was waiting for you to tell me something that would suddenly change my point of view in music and make me like it=P
Who knows, maybe someday I'll try this again just for the sake of it and like it, like it has happened with most of the music I listen to
Loading...
26.04.2012 - 15:00
3rdWorld
The Psilosopher
So much more listenable compared to GTT. And a bit addicitive too !!
Loading...

Hits total: 5132 | This month: 12