Rating:
8.9
Skeletonwitch - Forever Abomination
7 October 2011


01. This Horrifying Force (The Desire To Kill)
02. Reduced To The Failure Of Prayer
03. Of Ash And Torment
04. Choke Upon Betrayal
05. Erased And Forgotten
06. The Infernal Resurrection
07. Rejoice In Misery
08. Cleaver Of Souls
09. Shredding Sacred Flesh
10. Sink Beneath Insanity
11. My Skin Of Deceit


There's improvements, and then there's astronomical improvements. Think of it this way; Breathing The Fire was a damn solid album, that is, it was, until Forever Abomination decided to strut right up, undo it's belt, drop it's pants and pinch off a triple-coiler all over everything Skeletonwitch has done to date.

Now, the thing is with Breathing The Fire, the album was just too solid. Not necessarily in quality - but in sound. It was a one-track-mind type of album. The overall experience was blistering fun, but individual songs tended to lack identity. Forever Abomination is incredibly varied without being unnecessarily eclectic - there's a handful of different styles here, but the songs don't sound like they belong on separate albums. "Of Ash And Torment" is the sound of 80's speed metal being played Skeletonwitch style, while "Reduced To The Failure Of Prayer" and "Erased And Forgotten" are pretty much undiluted displays of death & black metal. Then of course, there's the staple sound of a handful of tracks that sound like they'd be right at home in Breathing The Fire. The album as whole is tied together by the feel of the riffs; this one just sounds flat-out evil.

One thing that was always commendable about Skeletonwitch was song length, it may seem unimportant, but listening to this album it seems incredibly pronounced. This band is obviously capable of writing some freaking awesome riffs, but instead they stick to the cream of the crop, pummel them out in under 3 minutes a piece, then move on. There's not a whole lot of room for boredom left.

As a whole, the album feels a little short, but an album with all the fat cut off is much better than an album with a bunch of filler for the sake of making it last longer. I'd rather be begging for more than begging it to stop.


Band profile: Skeletonwitch
Album: Forever Abomination


 



Written on 13.10.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 59  
Users visited: 527  
Search this topic:  


Daniell - 28.10.2011 at 22:48  
Yeah, but still singing is singing and growling is growling. These are different, no matter what
Marcel Hubregtse - 29.10.2011 at 09:44  
Written by Daniell on 28.10.2011 at 22:48

Yeah, but still singing is singing and growling is growling. These are different, no matter what


but growling is a sort of singing
Mr. Doctor - 29.10.2011 at 21:03  
Written by Daniell on 28.10.2011 at 22:48

Yeah, but still singing is singing and growling is growling. These are different, no matter what


Same as Marcel, no matter what
monur - 02.11.2011 at 16:38  
This album's quality and everything else is nowhere near "Beyond the Permafrost". For me a complete dissapointment
algirdongas - 15.11.2011 at 20:27  
Written by monur on 02.11.2011 at 16:38

This album's quality and everything else is nowhere near "Beyond the Permafrost". For me a complete dissapointment

agreed Beyond the Permafrost was their best but this isn't a complete dissapointment it's catchy as hell and fun to listen to.
Murder - 24.11.2011 at 09:43  
I really enjoy this album... is agressive, solid and captures the Skeletonwitch's escence... I don't think that this was a dissapointment... no way!!! 100% recommended
Nexus - 24.12.2011 at 18:32  
Honestly, I'm not too hot on this album and am disappointed. To be fair, it took me a while to warm up to Breathing the Fire, as I wasn't too fond of it the first time around. Maybe that'll be the case for this album, but the songs I've subjected myself to on this album did not hold my attention for too long. It was pretty bland for me, and the only thing that peaked my interest was the staple Skeletonwitch sound that permeated the riffs. Despite this, it was nothing exciting ... I was expecting something a bit more fresh.

I'll prolly give it another go sometime soon, but as of now, I'm pretty indifferent of the release.
.Nemesis. - 08.01.2013 at 02:57  
I really liked this album. It's fast, it's aggressive, it's Skeletonwitch.
Sonic MrSumo - 07.02.2013 at 23:56  
Great review. I agree entirely with your comments on song and overall album length.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Belphegor - Blood Magick Necromance 4.5 08.03.2011 by Bloody Rain
Reviews Sister - Hated 4.5 22.06.2011 by Parasomnia
Reviews Chained And Desperate - Divine Authority Abolishment 4.5 07.08.2011 by psykometal
Reviews Shadowsphere - Inferno 4.5 03.07.2012 by BloodTears
Reviews Livesay - Awaken The Giant 4.5 15.11.2010 by Winterthrone



Hits total: 8241 | This month: 96