Skeletonwitch - Forever Abomination review



Reviewer:
8.9

255 users:
8.28
Band: Skeletonwitch
Album: Forever Abomination
Release date: October 2011


01. This Horrifying Force (The Desire To Kill)
02. Reduced To The Failure Of Prayer
03. Of Ash And Torment
04. Choke Upon Betrayal
05. Erased And Forgotten
06. The Infernal Resurrection
07. Rejoice In Misery
08. Cleaver Of Souls
09. Shredding Sacred Flesh
10. Sink Beneath Insanity
11. My Skin Of Deceit


There's improvements, and then there's astronomical improvements. Think of it this way; Breathing The Fire was a damn solid album, that is, it was, until Forever Abomination decided to strut right up, undo it's belt, drop it's pants and pinch off a triple-coiler all over everything Skeletonwitch has done to date.

Now, the thing is with Breathing The Fire, the album was just too solid. Not necessarily in quality - but in sound. It was a one-track-mind type of album. The overall experience was blistering fun, but individual songs tended to lack identity. Forever Abomination is incredibly varied without being unnecessarily eclectic - there's a handful of different styles here, but the songs don't sound like they belong on separate albums. "Of Ash And Torment" is the sound of 80's speed metal being played Skeletonwitch style, while "Reduced To The Failure Of Prayer" and "Erased And Forgotten" are pretty much undiluted displays of death & black metal. Then of course, there's the staple sound of a handful of tracks that sound like they'd be right at home in Breathing The Fire. The album as whole is tied together by the feel of the riffs; this one just sounds flat-out evil.

One thing that was always commendable about Skeletonwitch was song length, it may seem unimportant, but listening to this album it seems incredibly pronounced. This band is obviously capable of writing some freaking awesome riffs, but instead they stick to the cream of the crop, pummel them out in under 3 minutes a piece, then move on. There's not a whole lot of room for boredom left.

As a whole, the album feels a little short, but an album with all the fat cut off is much better than an album with a bunch of filler for the sake of making it last longer. I'd rather be begging for more than begging it to stop.


 



Written on 13.10.2011 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 59   Visited by: 544 users
15.10.2011 - 17:09
Captain Obvious
A good song is a good song.... length has nothing do with it imho. Take Necrophobic (the Slayer song) for example: It has killer riffs, a simple but kickass solo, and brutal lyrics sung at warp speed, all within a time frame of 1:40. And it's considered one of their best songs by many fans, myself included. On the flip side a good example is Venom's At War With Satan: 20 minutes of pure talentless instrument masturbation. The first time I heard that song, I wanted to hang myself 6 minutes into it, and that usually doesn't happen to me with other epics like Rime of the Ancient Mariner or Child In Time.

It's like sex... you can have a nice, hour-long fuck... but a quickie can be just as good if you make the right moves, catch my drift?
----
Did you ever notice that the people who tell you to get a life are normally people who should be dead in the first place?
Loading...
15.10.2011 - 20:47
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Captain Obvious on 15.10.2011 at 17:09
It's like sex... you can have a nice, hour-long fuck... but a quickie can be just as good if you make the right moves, catch my drift?

Best comparison ever.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
16.10.2011 - 05:51
Butters49
Beyond the Permafrost > Forever Abomination > Breathing the FIre

Beyond the Permafrost is a fucking godsend of an album.
This one is relatively close

FUck i love this band
----
"Sataaaaaaaaan. Yeah yeah!"
-King Diamond
Loading...
17.10.2011 - 07:03
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Captain Obvious on 15.10.2011 at 17:09

A good song is a good song.... length has nothing do with it imho. Take Necrophobic (the Slayer song) for example: It has killer riffs, a simple but kickass solo, and brutal lyrics sung at warp speed, all within a time frame of 1:40. And it's considered one of their best songs by many fans, myself included. On the flip side a good example is Venom's At War With Satan: 20 minutes of pure talentless instrument masturbation. The first time I heard that song, I wanted to hang myself 6 minutes into it, and that usually doesn't happen to me with other epics like Rime of the Ancient Mariner or Child In Time.

It's like sex... you can have a nice, hour-long fuck... but a quickie can be just as good if you make the right moves, catch my drift?

Good analogy. My point was that Skeletonwitch really seemed to be gauge properly at what sort of length their songs work well at. There's some bands that write awesome songs to begin with, then just don't know when to end it. Take Evile as a prime example, they've got some great riffs, but so many of their songs are just too long for their own good. Only write 5+ minute songs if the music is built properly for it is what I'm saying here.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
18.10.2011 - 02:28
Mattybu
Picked this one up yesterday... Listening to the opener right now and liking it. This band is one hell of an interesting brew.
Loading...
23.10.2011 - 22:28
Slayer666
Kay, guess I'll be the first to say I was mostly bored by this. :\
Some nice tracks, but this black/thrash brew can entertain me for about 15 minutes, tops.
Loading...
23.10.2011 - 22:50
Kass
St. Anger
Yeah I don't agree with this review as well, some great riffs here and there, but in general it's boring and overrated. And I can't feel the thrash\black thing.
----
"The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull"
Loading...
24.10.2011 - 00:37
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Kass on 23.10.2011 at 22:50
I can't feel the thrash\black thing.

That's like...the entire album though. I'm not sure how you don't feel it... Unless by feel you mean you don't dig it.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
24.10.2011 - 00:47
Kass
St. Anger
Written by Troy Killjoy on 24.10.2011 at 00:37

Written by Kass on 23.10.2011 at 22:50
I can't feel the thrash\black thing.

That's like...the entire album though. I'm not sure how you don't feel it... Unless by feel you mean you don't dig it.

I felt mostly like listening to Speed\heavy thrash metal with blacky vocals, and the instrumental part is weak except some awesome riffs.
----
"The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull"
Loading...
24.10.2011 - 00:55
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Kass on 24.10.2011 at 00:47
I felt mostly like listening to Speed\heavy thrash metal with blacky vocals

Ya that's pretty much what blackened thrash is.

Sometimes the black metal elements are more prevalent (like Hades Archer for instance), but the whole "blackened" thing usually just means the other genre takes a noticeable influence from black metal.

Like Behemoth being blackened death. The black metal elements are minimal now, but they were far more obvious in the early 2000s.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
24.10.2011 - 01:02
Kass
St. Anger
Written by Troy Killjoy on 24.10.2011 at 00:55

Written by Kass on 24.10.2011 at 00:47
I felt mostly like listening to Speed\heavy thrash metal with blacky vocals

Ya that's pretty much what blackened thrash is.

Maybe In a way, but this kind of "blackened speed thrash" is definitely not for me. I prefer something like Witchery, Legion Of The Damned, Absu, Assaulter etc.. so I'm disappointed with this album.
----
"The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull"
Loading...
24.10.2011 - 01:14
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Kass on 24.10.2011 at 01:02

Maybe In a way, but this kind of "blackened speed thrash" is definitely not for me. I prefer something like Witchery, Legion Of The Damned, Absu, Assaulter etc.. so I'm disappointed with this album.

Absu are blackened thrash.
Loading...
24.10.2011 - 01:27
Kass
St. Anger
Written by Guest on 24.10.2011 at 01:14

Absu are blackened thrash.

So?

Anyway I'm not saying it's bad, it's just not my type, I gave it a 6 which is average.

Why everybody hates me? :s
----
"The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull"
Loading...
24.10.2011 - 01:35
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Kass on 24.10.2011 at 01:27

Written by Guest on 24.10.2011 at 01:14

Absu are blackened thrash.

So?

Anyway I'm not saying it's bad, it's just not my type, I gave it a 6 which is average.

Why everybody hates me? :s

Because you're a fag and you smell funny.
Loading...
24.10.2011 - 01:37
Kass
St. Anger
Written by Guest on 24.10.2011 at 01:35

Because you're a fag and you smell funny.

You still mad of that night when I dumped you, aren't you?
----
"The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull"
Loading...
24.10.2011 - 01:38
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Kass on 24.10.2011 at 01:37

You still mad of that night when I dumped you aren't you?

You could have at least waited till we stopped having sex to do it.
Loading...
24.10.2011 - 01:40
Kass
St. Anger
Written by Guest on 24.10.2011 at 01:38

You could have at least waited till we stopped having sex to do it.

Yeah I'm a bitch sometimes :/
----
"The Bees Made Honey In The Lion's Skull"
Loading...
28.10.2011 - 03:28
bluemobiusx
Account deleted
I'm lovin this album.
Loading...
28.10.2011 - 16:52
Daniell
No, you don't
I see the phrase "blackened thrash" all the time. Let me whine a bit about it. A small rant from an old (in your eyes only, dear reader) guy who remembers the early (but not the earliest) days of thrash.

Back in the day every thrash band that gained some recognition had a vocalist that could actually sing. Better or worse, almost every thrash vocalist actually sang. Take Anthrax, Metallica, Megadeth, Exodus, Flotsam and Jetsam, Testament, Overkill, Death Angel just to mention the ones who are still around today, after so many years. They all had SINGERS. (A few notable exceptions among the most famous old thrash bands are Slayer, Dark Angel, Kreator - they didn't have singers, since most of the time their vocalists screamed.)

Nowadays finding a relatively young thrash band that has a singer is quite hard. Just take a few names that are often mentioned on this site recently: Skeletonwitch, Vektor, Warbringer, Toxic Holocaust. Not a single singer among those. So, when we hear Skeletonwitch's vocalist, we have no choice but to call the music "blackened thrash", even though the only thing that resembles black metal is the shrieking vocalist. Don't get me wrong, it's ok, and I actually like the album a lot, but looking back, I'd prefer thrash bands with singers, not screamers - even though Slayer is my favourite band!

I expect some angry responses listing new thrash bands with clean vocals that I failed to mention, or listing old thrash bands with harsh vocals that I forgot. No need to nitpick guys, because I was talking only about general impressions.

EDIT: my biggest gripe with "new" thrash is that it's sooooo hard to find a band that tries something new. Most of the time they rehash the sound of the 80's, and, to my disgusted surprise, even get kudos for doing that!
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
28.10.2011 - 21:44
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I wouldn't say the only black metal feature about Skeletonwitch are the vocals, although that's because thrash metal and black metal are so closely entwined. The soloing, shrieking, and fast pace are both parts of thrash and black metal (well, the soloing being more archetypal of melodic black metal) and - if I remember correctly - this album also makes use of blastbeats.

Also, resurrecting the argument that shrieking/screaming/growling/grunting =/= singing is only going to result in feces being thrown. Remember Yasmine?
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
28.10.2011 - 22:48
Daniell
No, you don't
Yeah, but still singing is singing and growling is growling. These are different, no matter what
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
29.10.2011 - 09:44
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Daniell on 28.10.2011 at 22:48

Yeah, but still singing is singing and growling is growling. These are different, no matter what


but growling is a sort of singing
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
29.10.2011 - 21:03
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Daniell on 28.10.2011 at 22:48

Yeah, but still singing is singing and growling is growling. These are different, no matter what


Same as Marcel, no matter what
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
02.11.2011 - 16:38
monur
This album's quality and everything else is nowhere near "Beyond the Permafrost". For me a complete dissapointment
Loading...
15.11.2011 - 20:27
algirdongas
Written by monur on 02.11.2011 at 16:38

This album's quality and everything else is nowhere near "Beyond the Permafrost". For me a complete dissapointment

agreed Beyond the Permafrost was their best but this isn't a complete dissapointment it's catchy as hell and fun to listen to.
Loading...
24.11.2011 - 09:43
Murder
I really enjoy this album... is agressive, solid and captures the Skeletonwitch's escence... I don't think that this was a dissapointment... no way!!! 100% recommended
Loading...
24.12.2011 - 18:32
Nexus
Asshat
Honestly, I'm not too hot on this album and am disappointed. To be fair, it took me a while to warm up to Breathing the Fire, as I wasn't too fond of it the first time around. Maybe that'll be the case for this album, but the songs I've subjected myself to on this album did not hold my attention for too long. It was pretty bland for me, and the only thing that peaked my interest was the staple Skeletonwitch sound that permeated the riffs. Despite this, it was nothing exciting ... I was expecting something a bit more fresh.

I'll prolly give it another go sometime soon, but as of now, I'm pretty indifferent of the release.
----
If you stand for nothing, you'll fall for everything
Loading...
08.01.2013 - 02:57
.Nemesis.
I really liked this album. It's fast, it's aggressive, it's Skeletonwitch.
----
You try to awaken me, the flesh dripping with blood
My body is there, but my soul a perilous void
Aethereal existence coming off in ambient waves
I am nothing. I AM N1H1L.
Loading...
07.02.2013 - 23:56
Sonic MrSumo
Great review. I agree entirely with your comments on song and overall album length.
----
All the bridges in the world won't save you, if there's no other side to cross to.
- Rock poetry from Silverchair.
Loading...

Hits total: 10067 | This month: 70