Rating:
N/A
Immolation - Providence [EP]
11 October 2011


01. What They Bring
02. Illumination
03. Still Lost
04. Providence
05. Swallow The Fear


With eight albums to their name and the respect of the death metal genre, Immolation have now been ploughing their way forward for over twenty years. Providence is a new release in celebration of this milestone. Much in the same fashion as Immolation's twenty year history, Providence comes to us without any big fuss or overblown estimations; Providence is for the core of fans, the unholy cult themselves.

Consistently bulldozing their way forward through the metal underground, Immolation have only gotten better over the years. Last year's Majesty And Decay saw the band peak once more, and the material here on Providence is easily on the same tier. Crushing vocals, pulverizing guitars, an offensive assault of drums, Immolation once again provide everything you could expect and wish for.

Just under twenty minutes; five songs with no interludes or fillers, Providence is the perfect soundtrack to your next dinner break. Immolation don't mess about; while many could have opted for a mini-disc of demos or B-sides, these Americans offer five new and original pieces that would hold their own on any of their top albums. "What They Bring" and "Still Lost" especially are absolute tomes of brutality, that while celebrating the longevity of this great band also illustrate how much poorer the scene would be without them.


Band profile: Immolation
Album: Providence


 



Written on 27.10.2011 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 222  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 27.10.2011 at 21:08  
Pretty decent this.
Misfit74 - 27.10.2011 at 21:16  
I love this album and think their use of unique sounds to enhance the depth of the music is masterful. This is quality death-metal that makes me intent on hearing the entire EP start to finish. Just so much power, heaviness, and complexity with a pace that's almost groovy. This is a perfect example of a band that's has talent, execution, and originality within their genre in spades. Bravo.
Troy Killjoy - 27.10.2011 at 21:42  
I'm a big fan of Immolation and I love their sound, but this is probably my least favorite release of theirs. I had negative thoughts about it after the video they released and sadly the rest of the songs didn't do anything to change my opinion.

Probably a 6/10 from me, unfortunately. Although it is just an EP so I'm not overly concerned about their future.
JD - 06.11.2011 at 13:47  
Such a decent short review, pretty much like the EP.
BoxCar Willy - 14.01.2012 at 02:46  
This is ok, not amazing, but not bad.
Amatsu Mikaboshi - 29.01.2012 at 01:42  
Does anyone have this EP on as a physical CD?/ Or could help direct me to finding one or did it never exist?
BoxCar Willy - 04.07.2012 at 17:05  
Written by Amatsu Mikaboshi on 29.01.2012 at 01:42

Does anyone have this EP on as a physical CD?/ Or could help direct me to finding one or did it never exist?

I think this was a Scion A/V digital only release, but I'm not sure.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Immolation - Majesty And Decay 7.5 04.03.2010 by ₣rost Giant
Articles Napalm Death, Immolation, Macabre - Derby, England, 2nd December 2010 5 03.12.2010 by Kingface
Photo galleries Napalm Death, Immolation, Macabre - Derby, England, 2nd December 2010 5 10.12.2010 by johniram
Reviews In Flames - A Sense Of Purpose 4.5 26.03.2008 by Unconsecrated
Reviews A Film By Jim Heneghan - Kiss Loves You 4.5 26.11.2007 by



Hits total: 3565 | This month: 36