Rating:
6.3
Black Sun Aeon - Blacklight Deliverance
26 October 2011


01. Brothers
02. Solitude
03. Sheol
04. Oblivion
05. Horizon
06. Wasteland
07. Nightfall


Multi-instrumentalist Tuomas Saukkonen has made quite a name for himself in the melodic metal scene, his name synonymous with Before The Dawn, Dawn Of Solace, and lastly, Black Sun Aeon. If you're keeping count, that's two albums released this year and five albums in the last three. Efficient, sure - but unfortunately not proficient.

Blacklight Deliverance is the runt of the litter, to put it simply. When compared to the more melodic and evocative Darkness Walks Beside Me or the more adventurous Routa, it appears diminutive and malnourished. Saukkonen hasn't released a complete dud, mind you; the archetypal melodic death doom formula is still present and Mikko Heikkilä's clean vocals are still utilized appropriately for dramatic effect. Those two aspects alone should please any fan of less extreme doom bands, such as Draconian and Swallow The Sun.

Comparisons notwithstanding, this album still fails to capture or entice. Saukkonen's decision to incorporate clean female vocals so obnoxiously detracts from the already limited energy produced by the stagnant sound, treading a rather monotonous path. Fortunately Blacklight Deliverance improves in one area that Routa fell short: objective. With a 40-minute run time the listener is able to better digest the contents, their purpose clear from the very start. Saukkonen wants to leave his audience morose, but he doesn't want anyone slitting their wrists over it.

The songs blend together without hesitation making it difficult to scrutinize the individual aspects that make this album seem to stretch on well past its run time, yet it's made apparent before the halfway point that you've been hearing the same song only with a different title... over... and over... It drives the message home. The atmosphere drags you down into a feeling of slight despair.

And that's where you're left when the album concludes: depressed, but not really.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Production: 7


Band profile: Black Sun Aeon
Album: Blacklight Deliverance


 



Written on 02.11.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 221  
Search this topic:  


Edmund Fogg - 02.11.2011 at 05:26  
AAh Shnitzell! I liked Routa a lot (had to hide any sharp objects while listening) and was curious about this one. Still I'll give it the youtube trial, but it seems it won't really get more.
Milena - 02.11.2011 at 12:40  
Saukkonen's work never seemed overly depressive to me, I listened to it when I wanted easy listening, kinda like with Suomi metal.
Justicelust - 02.11.2011 at 17:14  
It seems the voters have a different opinion about this album!
qlacs - 02.11.2011 at 19:34  
Written by Justicelust on 02.11.2011 at 17:14

It seems the voters have a different opinion about this album!

Let me see the rating after 200 votes.


8.5 | 50 votes vs. 75 fans -

Fans: 9.45 | 11 votes
Non-fans: 8.28 | 39 votes

I think you may see the reason...
Milena - 02.11.2011 at 23:15  
Written by Guest on 02.11.2011 at 19:40

And if someone want to try the best album from Tuomas Saukkonen, definitely listen to The Darkness (Dawn of Solace).

Is that the general consensus or your opinion? because, if it is the general consensus I'm sure to try.
Troy Killjoy - 02.11.2011 at 23:24  
Written by Milena on 02.11.2011 at 23:15
Is that the general consensus or your opinion? because, if it is the general consensus I'm sure to try.

I think the general consensus would be BSA's debut or BtD's Deadlight.
Troy Killjoy - 02.11.2011 at 23:32  
Written by Guest on 02.11.2011 at 23:31
And don't forget that a large group of fans are really into the old BtD stuff and therefore shall disagree with Deadlight :-)

Ya there's always 4:17am and My Darkness.
psykometal - 02.11.2011 at 23:40  
I just dl'd the album last night and listened to it and I liked it, I also really enjoyed Deathstar Rising so if you guys are saying that the earlier stuff of Tuomas' is better then I need to get me some of the earlier stuff.
Milena - 02.11.2011 at 23:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.11.2011 at 23:32

Written by Guest on 02.11.2011 at 23:31
And don't forget that a large group of fans are really into the old BtD stuff and therefore shall disagree with Deadlight :-)

Ya there's always 4:17am and My Darkness.

I've heard most BtD album (all those you've mentioned) and they didn't leave quite an impression on me. 4:17 and My Darkness had pretty much zero melodeath in them and they weren't exactly cut-veins sadness either... Maybe I'm just growing skin.
Troy Killjoy - 02.11.2011 at 23:43  
Written by Milena on 02.11.2011 at 23:42
4:17 and My Darkness had pretty much zero melodeath in them and they weren't exactly cut-veins sadness either... Maybe I'm just growing skin.

No their early stuff was basically melodic gothic metal, he's said he wants to change the sound to be more of a legitimate melodic death metal band and dispose of the gothic elements. Pretty tame stuff.
Troy Killjoy - 02.11.2011 at 23:52  
Written by psykometal on 02.11.2011 at 23:40
I need to get me some of the earlier stuff.

There's a big difference between the early stuff and recent stuff, so it's not a guarantee you'll appreciate the back catalog. Their modern releases are more aggressive and more focused on faster paced catchy melodic metal whereas the early stuff relies heavily on gothic influences.
Milena - 02.11.2011 at 23:54  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.11.2011 at 23:43

Pretty tame stuff.

Yeah, on the last bits there was more melodeath, but not exactly the kind I like, at least from what I've heard on Deathstar Rising. And 'tame' is the word. Though I really like that Lars dude who did some vocals for them, he's awesome in Winds.
psykometal - 03.11.2011 at 02:57  
Written by Milena on 02.11.2011 at 23:54

I really like that Lars dude who did some vocals for them, he's awesome in Winds.

Lars Eric Si has an amazing voice. Shocks the hell out of me every time I listen to Winds cuz Hellhammer is usually more involved in the black metal scene and Winds is so extremely tame and awesome...\m/
Fredd - 03.11.2011 at 09:38  
Come on Troy, if this album is bad then his debut should be no less than the best album ever..
Milena - 03.11.2011 at 10:05  
Written by psykometal on 03.11.2011 at 02:57

... and Winds is so extremely tame and awesome...\m/

AND they're prog. Ideal situation for me

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Black Sun Aeon - Blacklight Deliverance 9 20.10.2011 by Diksy
News Black Sun Aeon - New Album Available For Streaming 6 05.04.2010 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Thulcandra - Under A Frozen Sun 6 18.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
News Black Sun Aeon - New Album Details 6 05.03.2010 by Grimskallen
Albums Black Sun Aeon - Darkness Walks Beside Me 6 21.04.2011 by tea[m]ster



Hits total: 3931 | This month: 24