Bandcamp music player

Rating:
7.6
Rwake - Rest
27 September 2011


01. Souls Of The Sky
02. It Was Beautiful But Now It's Sour
03. An Invisible Thread
04. The Culling
05. Ti Progetto
06. Was Only A Dream


The only thing restful about Rwake's Rest is the opening track, a quiet acoustic piece with soft female vocals to lull you in. Restless might be a better adjective for the bulk of the rest of this Little Rock, Arkansas' sludgedoom act.

You don't have much time to relax, as the slow, bruising riffs of "It Was Beautiful But Now It's Sour" kick in, with vocalist C.T. howling away like Lemmy, but in some bizarro universe where instead of fronting Motörhead, Lemmy is a Messianic prophet delivering fiery sermons in front of apocalyptic, fire-tinged skies for some Jim Jones-like cult. This whole track has some disturbing "eve of destruction" vibe that sets the mood for the rest of, well, Rest.

Nothing particularly restful here.

The album has, basically, four proper songs, all between nine and seventeen minutes long, with two shorter interlude pieces. Songs continue to feature the insane rambling prophet vocals oft paired with, or switched out with a perfectly malevolent rasp.

The band plows forward, shifting up tempos just as the vocal styles are alternated. Punishing power chords plowing forth at a ponderous clip, countered by occasional bursts of mid-paced speed. There are plenty of power chords, but there are melody lines occasionally laced over the top to add (or occasionally ease) tension. I love the drumming, often a rolling tribal feel at times... just feels powerful.

"An Invisible Thread" continues in a mighty similar vein as "(words words) Sour", whereas The Culling spends a good seven minutes of its run time slowly developing calm, soothing passages that once again give way to sermon-rant while the music continues to build in intensity that eventually climaxes to the similar, aforementioned style... it's the ability to ever-so-slowly build up to this is interesting. Marge Simpson once said in a flash forward episode of The Simpsons, "FOX turned into a hard-core sex network so slowly I didn't notice..." "The Culling" turned into yet another prophet of doom lecture so slowly, I found myself wondering how it got there.

The Ragna(Sludge)Rock mass closes with "Was Only A Dream", cult dismissed, go forth in peace and be sure to drink the purple kool-aid on the way out the door.

All in all, I found Rest reminiscent of Indian's "Guiltless", only perhaps much better focused, slightly less grating - thus slightly superior.

Next time you're in the mood for deranged, psychotic sludge-scored mass of doom, be sure to check this one out.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Rwake
Album: Rest


 



Written on 02.11.2011 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 138  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 02.11.2011 at 08:48  
You kinda threw me for a loop here... I read and read and thought, meh, this doesn't sound like my cup o' tea. And then I caught sight of an Indian reference and thought where the hell did that come from?

So now I guess I'll check it out.
BitterCOld - 02.11.2011 at 08:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.11.2011 at 08:48

You kinda threw me for a loop here... I read and read and thought, meh, this doesn't sound like my cup o' tea. And then I caught sight of an Indian reference and thought where the hell did that come from?

So now I guess I'll check it out.


it's a point of approximation, i suppose. i've listened to a decent amount of music in this vein this year, and for whatever reason it sort of reminded me of that release. might have been the Ruination IPA talking, though.
Troy Killjoy - 02.11.2011 at 08:52  
Written by BitterCOld on 02.11.2011 at 08:50
might have been the Ruination IPA talking, though.

Regardless, I'm not talking myself out of it if there's even a glimmer of hope this sounds anything like Guiltless. I've rummaged through a heap of music this year and haven't come across anything quite like that album.
Mr. Doctor - 02.11.2011 at 11:24  
Seems just like my cup of Earl grey. Consider me interested!
BloodTears - 02.11.2011 at 12:14  
I've been listening to this album for quite a while now. Good review.

It is definitely my cup of tea. I think the album is a grower. It seems more dynamic and fitting the more you listen to it.
IronAngel - 03.11.2011 at 12:18  
Good album. Dynamic is exactly how I'd describe it, like BloodTears. One of the better sludge albums of the year.
Merchant of Doom - 03.11.2011 at 18:11  
I listened to this on bandcamp and now I've got a headache...
tea[m]ster - 03.11.2011 at 23:25  
Written by IronAngel on 03.11.2011 at 12:18

Good album. Dynamic is exactly how I'd describe it, like BloodTears. One of the better sludge albums of the year.


eww...if IronAngel digs it...I'm in! See, him and me...we have this understanding...
Mr. Doctor - 03.11.2011 at 23:28  
Written by tea[m]ster on 03.11.2011 at 23:25

Written by IronAngel on 03.11.2011 at 12:18

Good album. Dynamic is exactly how I'd describe it, like BloodTears. One of the better sludge albums of the year.


eww...if IronAngel digs it...I'm in! See, him and me...we have this understanding...


How long have you guys been together?
tea[m]ster - 03.11.2011 at 23:31  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.11.2011 at 23:28

Written by tea[m]ster on 03.11.2011 at 23:25

Written by IronAngel on 03.11.2011 at 12:18

Good album. Dynamic is exactly how I'd describe it, like BloodTears. One of the better sludge albums of the year.


eww...if IronAngel digs it...I'm in! See, him and me...we have this understanding...


How long have you guys been together?


ever since he started posting in my post/sludge/atmo thread...it was love at first sight!!!!
IronAngel - 03.11.2011 at 23:52  
Sorry... who are you, again?



Seriously though, there's something interesting about this album. It's pretty straightforward but then again, it's not. They have this twisted technicality (without actually being very complex) that adds a nice change of pace to the typical sludge business.
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.11.2011 at 12:33  
I agree with the above, this is a great album, has a certain something about it in its sound.
deepwithin - 04.11.2011 at 22:28  
Definitely one of the better sludge/doom albums of the year. The overall atmosphere just drags you in. And it's amazing that it takes some time before you notice the grooveness of the songs. Personal favorite is The Culling, mesmerising its way to my subconscious...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Rwake - Rest 4.5 24.10.2011 by BloodTears
Reviews Abstract Spirit - Horror Vacui 3 15.08.2011 by Windrider
Reviews EndName - Anthropomachy 3 10.12.2011 by Susan
Reviews Fading Waves - The Sense Of Space 3 21.03.2012 by InnerSelf
Reviews The Death Of Her Money - You Are Loved 3 25.05.2011 by Fat & Sassy!



Hits total: 2886 | This month: 4