Rating:
5.8
Kilmara - Don't Fear The Wolf
31 May 2010


01. Inside The Darkness
02. The Dark Inside - Don't Fear The Wolf
03. Rock The Night
04. All You Need Is Pray
05. Blindfold
06. The Dark Inside - You Better Run
07. Vampire Of Love
08. Let Sadness Be Destiny
09. You Left Without A Reason
10. You Won't Live Forever
11. The Deceit
12. The Dark Inside - Show Me The Way [feat. Roland Grapow]
13. Dakujem Castle


Recorded, mixed and mastered by Roland Grapow.


Kilmara's Don't Fear The Wolf is an album of a bunch of almosts. Its cover? Almost badass. The music on it? Pretty much the same thing. It's almost catchy, almost heavy, and almost worth listening to.

To be fair though, taken at face value, it's slightly above average; the riffing and soloing and drumming are all technically solid, most of the time. The vocals aren't all that terrible, and the production is passable. Thing is, if you're looking to make your way into a movement that's been around for decades and decades, you've got to have more than just good guitar work and not-so-awful vocals. You've got to be unique and/or comprehensively passionate and energetic. And I don't get the impression that Kilmara are either of those things on this. Choosing to listen to Don't Fear The Wolf over the NWOBHM classics or some of the better modern heavy metal albums just doesn't make much sense.

This is just generic, faux-nostalgia masturbation. Sure, it can be kind of fun, but simply forgetting all of the other occasions you've thrown a Maiden or whoever the fuck's disk on, and then actually finding something unique and worth your time on this is slightly more than just tricky.

If you absolutely love the NWOBHM style, but for some reason don't like the NWOBHM's albums themselves, this might be worth listening to. It has its moments. But, until Kilmara really commit themselves to a sound of their own, this isn't worth bothering with.


Website: http://www.kilmara.com/


 


written by wormdrink414 | 04.11.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 16  
Search this topic:  


Vikcen - 05.11.2011 at 02:58  
Totally disagree, this album worth it, without any doubt there are great musicians here, very good drumer, awesome guitar, promising voice, music varied, you can also find a small story as a conceptual (tracks 1,2,6,12), excellent songs like The Dark Inside - Don't Fear The Wolf, Blindfold, Vampire Of Love, Let Sadness Be Destiny, You Won't Live Forever, The Dark Inside - Show Me The Way, the instrumental Dakujem Castle (this last with a hidden track version of the fantastic ballad You Left Without A Reason). The only downside is maybe it is a little long, and some moments on the album can be boring.

Your description in this review may be more close with the previous disc from them, but not with this.
brennus - 05.11.2011 at 15:33  
It is a very bad review, Kilmara deserves something better, as this:
Kilmara - Don't Fear The Wolf CD (Rising)
Can I get a "Hell yeah" brothers an sisters? There's something about traditional Heavy Metal that still makes me feel like a kid every single time I hear a band crank it out, twenty nine years after becoming hooked on metal, I'm still a mark for good old fashioned metal played by metal bands. Guess what? That's exactly what Kilmara are and do. They're a metal band playing thrash tinged, old school NWOBHM inspired metal, and they're damn good at what they do, turning it up and cranking out riff after riff. 'Don't Fear The Wolf' is good time music for those of us who still remember how to have a damn good time, and it's been stuck on repeat all afternoon. Horns high, all hail the bringers of the metal…Hell yeah! Tim Mass Movement
Troy Killjoy - 05.11.2011 at 22:49  
AWESOME, just what the metal world needed - another revivalist band.
wormdrink414 - 05.11.2011 at 23:19  
Written by brennus on 05.11.2011 at 15:33

It is a very bad review, Kilmara deserves something better, as this:
Kilmara - Don't Fear The Wolf CD (Rising)
Can I get a "Hell yeah" brothers an sisters? There's something about traditional Heavy Metal that still makes me feel like a kid every single time I hear a band crank it out, twenty nine years after becoming hooked on metal, I'm still a mark for good old fashioned metal played by metal bands. Guess what? That's exactly what Kilmara are and do. They're a metal band playing thrash tinged, old school NWOBHM inspired metal, and they're damn good at what they do, turning it up and cranking out riff after riff. 'Don't Fear The Wolf' is good time music for those of us who still remember how to have a damn good time, and it's been stuck on repeat all afternoon. Horns high, all hail the bringers of the metal…Hell yeah! Tim Mass Movement

That is good. Just the right amount of cliche-worship. Very suiting.
brennus - 18.11.2011 at 22:36  
HI wormdrink414, i dont understand what you have done the review of a disc who is not going to please you. KILMARA we do a music very different from your musical tastes. The bands that your you prefer, are not our influences, it is something very absurd
RavenKing - 19.11.2011 at 04:27  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.11.2011 at 22:49

AWESOME, just what the metal world needed - another revivalist band.


I believe you share my thoughts on old outdated 80s metal. lol
Troy Killjoy - 19.11.2011 at 04:29  
Written by RavenKing on 19.11.2011 at 04:27
I believe you share my thoughts on old outdated 80s metal. lol

For the most part, ya. I mean, what's done is done. We get it, the '80s were cool. But move on, contribute something worthwhile. There are enough revivalist bands as it is.
RavenKing - 19.11.2011 at 04:35  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.11.2011 at 04:29

Written by RavenKing on 19.11.2011 at 04:27
I believe you share my thoughts on old outdated 80s metal. lol

For the most part, ya. I mean, what's done is done. We get it, the '80s were cool. But move on, contribute something worthwhile. There are enough revivalist bands as it is.


Agreed. Personnally, the way I see old standard Heavy Metal is it was only a step in the development, not the arrival point.
And since metal branched into lots of more specialized and advanced genres, it made things like NWOBHM outdated.
New bands playing this old style is not relevant today.
brennus - 19.11.2011 at 23:24  
Written by RavenKing on 19.11.2011 at 04:35

Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.11.2011 at 04:29

Written by RavenKing on 19.11.2011 at 04:27
I believe you share my thoughts on old outdated 80s metal. lol

For the most part, ya. I mean, what's done is done. We get it, the '80s were cool. But move on, contribute something worthwhile. There are enough revivalist bands as it is.


Agreed. Personnally, the way I see old standard Heavy Metal is it was only a step in the development, not the arrival point.
And since metal branched into lots of more specialized and advanced genres, it made things like NWOBHM outdated.
New bands playing this old style is not relevant today.

really have you listened to the cd? KILMARA is not a revivalist band, is a step improve in the classic heavy metal, the power and the prog in the actuallity with a modern production, only the cover its a 80´s revival
It seems to be that it is necessary to be guturals to be actually, kilmara´s likes Dream Theatre, Evergrey, Brainstorm, Edguy, Symphony x, Gothard, Masterplan, Pagan´s Mind, and many moore actual metal bands

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Decline Of The I - Inhibition 4.5 24.09.2012 by Blackhand
Reviews Absence Of The Sacred - Come Hither O Herald Of Death 4.5 08.02.2012 by koob
Funny stuff Don't fear the Reaper 4.5 29.05.2009 by Fhuesc
Reviews Tonic Breed - On The Brink Of Destruction 4.5 22.06.2011 by ruffio
Reviews Behemoth - The Satanist 4.5 12.02.2014 by Hex_Omega



Hits total: 1340 | This month: 38