Rating:
N/A
Pain Of Salvation - Road Salt Two
26 September 2011


01. Road Salt Theme
02. Softly She Cries
03. Conditioned
04. Healing Now
05. To The Shoreline
06. Break Darling Break [limited edition & Japanese bonus]
07. Eleven
08. 1979
09. Of Salt [limited edition & Japanese bonus]
10. The Deeper Cut
11. Mortar Grind
12. Through The Distance
13. The Physics Of Gridlock
14. End Credits
15. Last Night [Japanese bonus]
16. Thirty-Eight [Japanese bonus]


You might say that if you've heard Road Salt One, you already know all you need to know. After all, the title Road Salt Two kind of gives it away that it is a linked album that we have on our hands. You might say so... but I won't. Because it will be unjust regardless of whether you like the first part or don't. It's not to imply this album is all that different, or that it will blow your mind. No, but it is a fine piece of music, with nuances to be discovered on repeated listens.

So, having listened to the album for the first time I wasn't all that impressed. Because, well, it's a bit of the same, you know. And I had that dismissive feeling even though I kept enjoying numerous moments while listening. Not a good sign, that one. It usually turns out to be an album full of regret - regret that there's good stuff all over the otherwise mediocre pile of a repertoire. However, to my delight it turned out to be a false sign.

Road Salt Two seems to be quite a bit more refined than its predecessor. I don't know whether it's because it's a second venture in the bluesy territories or because the band seem to understand more where they are heading with this. Or because things have simply started falling into place better. And those details! Even now while writing this, I keep finding bits I haven't noticed before. Small things that can make you go I-swear-it-wasn't-there-before. Subtle stuff, I tell you.

I've been thinking for a while now what it is exactly that draws me in. I mean, I love the bluesy touch and the kick-ass songs along the lines of "Conditioned," "The Deeper Cut," and - personally a total winner - "Eleven." I love the general atmosphere and (un)expected passages, like drum insanity during carnival waltzing "Break Darling Break," or Daniel singing in French and also the similarities to the bluegrass classic "Rawhide" in "The Physics of Gridlock." Then there's the choice of instruments from orchestral strings and flutes to mandolins and cow-bells and whatnot.

Yet, I still can't say what's special about this album. To be fair, some moments seem to drag a bit. But I don't really keep noticing them among the rest. I think it's just that everything seems to be in the right place. It's a great album. You might not like it, but it is good. And listening to it, I think it's what Road Salt One was supposed to be, but somewhat failed to achieve the soundness of the same level. Road Salt Two is definitely the better part of the two.


Band profile: Pain Of Salvation
Album: Road Salt Two


 



Written on 03.11.2011 by
Ivor
I shoot people.

Sometimes, I also write about it.
More reviews by Ivor ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 271  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 04.11.2011 at 00:06  
In Road Salt One, it kinda felt as if they weren't serious about it. Here, they are and it kicks butt.
jhook - 05.11.2011 at 02:40  
Good review, for some reason i enjoyed the slower songs such as "healing now" or "to the shoreline" much more than the other songs
Milena - 05.11.2011 at 21:53  
Written by jhook on 05.11.2011 at 02:40

Good review, for some reason i enjoyed the slower songs such as "healing now" or "to the shoreline" much more than the other songs

"To The Shoreline" is one of their more beautiful songs
Troy Killjoy - 06.11.2011 at 00:00  
Written by Milena on 04.11.2011 at 00:06
In Road Salt One, it kinda felt as if they weren't serious about it. Here, they are and it kicks butt.

I honestly couldn't take either album seriously. Both bored me to sleep. :/
nb - 06.11.2011 at 14:51  
I have heard it a couple of times only and it was very enjoyable. Just like with the first part I will listen to it more times to get all the details.
These two albums are pretty good and make their discography very diverse.
BloodTears - 06.11.2011 at 16:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.11.2011 at 00:00

Written by Milena on 04.11.2011 at 00:06
In Road Salt One, it kinda felt as if they weren't serious about it. Here, they are and it kicks butt.

I honestly couldn't take either album seriously. Both bored me to sleep. :/


There is something seriously wrong with you, Troy.

On the review itself, I agree with most of what you said. It does feel like they've "grown" as far as what they can do with this sound and approach. I'm still undecided about which one I prefer, I or II, even though this one probably has better songs overall.

I just liked Road Salt One so much as well. There is a certain "innocence" about it that I like.
Mr. Doctor - 07.11.2011 at 17:51  
Written by BloodTears on 06.11.2011 at 16:19

Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.11.2011 at 00:00

I honestly couldn't take either album seriously. Both bored me to sleep. :/

There is something seriously wrong with you, Troy.


*wakes up*
...Oh... I see you guy are talking about a prog album. Let's check it out...
*Goes to sleep again*

Yeah, I'm with Troy here, then again... I know that there's something wrong with me
BloodTears - 07.11.2011 at 18:33  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.11.2011 at 17:51

Written by BloodTears on 06.11.2011 at 16:19

Written by Troy Killjoy on 06.11.2011 at 00:00

I honestly couldn't take either album seriously. Both bored me to sleep. :/

There is something seriously wrong with you, Troy.


*wakes up*
...Oh... I see you guy are talking about a prog album. Let's check it out...
*Goes to sleep again*

Yeah, I'm with Troy here, then again... I know that there's something wrong with me


Clearly

So, did you actually listen to the album?
Mr. Doctor - 07.11.2011 at 18:41  
Written by BloodTears on 07.11.2011 at 18:33

So, did you actually listen to the album?


I tried to listen to the first couple ogf songs but I gave up after the third one I think, I just didn't like the music and the vocals at all.
BloodTears - 07.11.2011 at 20:14  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.11.2011 at 18:41

Written by BloodTears on 07.11.2011 at 18:33

So, did you actually listen to the album?


I tried to listen to the first couple ogf songs but I gave up after the third one I think, I just didn't like the music and the vocals at all.


Fair enough. I don't agree but I understand
BlankFile - 03.04.2012 at 22:30  
The continuation of bluesy POS. Softly She Cries, To the Shoreline and 1979 are excellent songs.
For some reason Road Salt One appealed a little bit more to me than this one.
qlacs - 25.06.2012 at 19:27  
When I heard Lino back in '10 I was very disappointed about PoS for "being new" again, as they changed their direction with Scarsick. Road Salt One came out and I wasn't happy. Maybe I didn't spend enough time on it, or it's just simply out of my limits, but this one has songs that instantly won me.

PS: In case I want to hear blues I won't start nor end it with PoS.
Panterica - 01.10.2012 at 19:32  
At first I didn't like the Salt Road albums, but the second one eventually grew on me. Sadly, I still find the first one incredibly bizarre, and not in a good way...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Pain Of Salvation - Road Salt One 10.5 20.07.2010 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Pain Of Salvation - Ending Themes: On The Two Deaths Of Pain Of Salvation 9 19.07.2009 by Evil Chip
Albums Pain Of Salvation - Road Salt Two 9 10.07.2011 by SceneryOfLoss
News Pain Of Salvation - The Road Salt II Tour Dates 8 10.07.2011 by Milena
Albums Pain Of Salvation - Road Salt One 7.5 17.04.2010 by BloodTears



Hits total: 4158 | This month: 27