Rating:
5.3
Burzum - Fallen
7 March 2011


01. Fra Verdenstreet
02. Jeg Faller
03. Valen
04. Vanvidd
05. Enhver Til Sitt
06. Budstikken
07. Til Hel Og Tilbake Igjen


The notorious Count is back with yet another addition to the black metal scene with his first English-titled album, Fallen. And while Varg's post-prison releases are a big deal just for the fact that a murderer's name is attached to the music, the material presented isn't exactly anything stunning. There is definitely something stellar about this album though: the cover art, William Adolphe Bouguereau's very own "Douleur d'amour". Unfortunately, the music doesn't reflect the beauty of the painting.

See, back in the early '90s Burzum was a household name in the Norwegian black metal scene. Then that whole murder/self-defense/prison term thing happened and some years later we had Belus and Fallen released within a year of each other.

So what of the music? Essentially you're in for the typical Vikernes menu. Lo-fi appeteasers, a dissonant garden salad, a grim and frostbitten blue-rare steak, and a... goat for dessert? I don't know, I feel out of touch with the black metal scene when listening to this, much like Varg is showing himself to be out of touch. Especially with those... clean "vocals"? And choruses? He's like Captain Jack Sparrow. The world around him is shrinking, yet his seclusion has led him to believe he's still a master at what he does. Although I'd venture so far as to suggest the captain is a bit of a master at what he does...

15 years in prison did a noticeable number on the Count. The noted perfectionist has all but let his music become somewhat of a shadow of its former self, kind of like a sterile version of Det som engang var with its subtle ambiance to accompany the traditional black metal sound. That being said, Varg is in a no-win situation here. Burzum fans will compare this to his previous works - widely regarded as black metal masterpieces - and black metal fans will compare this with the likes of Wolves In The Throne Room. In either case Fallen will fall to both past and present, although even on its own terms there isn't anything this release can provide that hasn't been provided already.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 4
Production: 7


Band profile: Burzum
Album: Fallen


 



Written on 13.11.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 71  
Users visited: 459  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 22.11.2011 at 23:46  
Written by Cryzpin on 22.11.2011 at 23:36
There were several stupid references to Varg's crimes and jail term (as usual) i just didn't know whom to quote first.
Regarding the review, you have less there about music itself than about the context imo.
And btw what is "ex-con"?

I don't think those references are stupid. :s
As for the review itself, I purposely did that. I know how to describe music (you can read some of my other reviews for that), but this album was so boring I decided to make the music a secondary element of the review.
As for ex-con - that's just a short form for ex-convict.
Cryzpin - 23.11.2011 at 00:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.11.2011 at 23:46

I don't think those references are stupid. :s

The stupidness lies - as i have already said - not in the claim itself, but in using it in discussion about music.
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.11.2011 at 23:46

I know how to describe music (you can read some of my other reviews for that), but this album was so boring I decided...

Don't worry, i know you know, but from your position you should cling to the substance no matter what.
Offtopic: i have noticed you are either unfortunately/intentionally picking bad albums for review or in crush-them mood recently...and i like that , last time i have seen five consecutive staff reviews with >8 rating, THAT was boring.
Troy Killjoy - 23.11.2011 at 00:09  
Written by Cryzpin on 23.11.2011 at 00:05
The stupidness lies - as i have already said - not in the claim itself, but in using it in discussion about music.
Don't worry, i know you know, but from your position you should cling to the substance no matter what.
Offtopic: i have noticed you are either unfortunately/intentionally picking bad albums for review or in crush-them mood recently...and i like that , last time i have seen five consecutive staff reviews with >8 rating, THAT was boring.

I only mentioned the con aspect because it lent itself to the review: in my conclusion I make note of how I get the sense that Varg's prison sentence seems to have diminished his ability to release material in any way comparable to his back catalog. It wasn't a mindless inclusion, I assure you.

As for the bad albums - they are purely intentional. I've got about 5 more to go, with scores ranging between 3 and 7.
Cryzpin - 23.11.2011 at 01:03  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 23.11.2011 at 00:09

As for the bad albums - they are purely intentional. I've got about 5 more to go, with scores ranging between 3 and 7.

Well good job then, I for myself appreciate that. Appart from insufficiently aloud dichotomy between "good and bad" music (and of course also subjectively) here on MS, i know well the hardship of going honestly, focusedly and (the worst) repeatedly through an album that intensely dissonates with one's taste.
Slinky666 - 24.11.2011 at 05:01  
This guy makes money and music without speaking English for his fans. You are trying to understand him and it is not the other way around. He is still the Count - just an old one and his music gets a bit old - that's all.
Troy Killjoy - 24.11.2011 at 05:02  
Written by Guest on 24.11.2011 at 05:01
You are trying to understand him...

Uh, no I'm not. :s
Troy Killjoy - 24.11.2011 at 05:13  
Written by Guest on 24.11.2011 at 05:11
Clearly, Burzum is not for you.

Go back to your cave please.
Troy Killjoy - 24.11.2011 at 05:27  
Written by Guest on 24.11.2011 at 05:24
You are talking, be quiet.

a) this is my album review thread
b) 90% of your posts have been on my album review thread
c) I'm a Staff member

Those three letters add up like an algebraic equation to equal my right to keep typing as much as I please.
Troy Killjoy - 24.11.2011 at 05:57  
Written by Guest on 24.11.2011 at 05:53
Who is Troy Killjoy? a... b... c...

We can keep this going as long as you want. I don't have anything better to do at the moment, although I'll probably just ask a Mod to wipe this back-and-forth since it's entirely off-topic.
Cuca Beludo - 07.12.2011 at 19:00  
Loved this! I would give it an higher rating... Anyway! I have an question: Is this really "Black Metal"? No, I mean, some other black metal sub-genre (like ambient, Viking, or any other)? The sound is quite good without (much) screams. I think the Burzum's timeline is incomplete...
Troy Killjoy - 07.12.2011 at 20:32  
Written by Guest on 07.12.2011 at 19:00
Anyway! I have an question: Is this really "Black Metal"?

You could say it's atmospheric black metal. I don't know if I'd call it ambient black metal because that style is usually reserved for the likes of Velvet Cacoon, Darkspace, Paysage d'Hiver, etc.
Danny Thomas - 18.01.2012 at 11:55  
Written by psykometal on 14.11.2011 at 03:56

Honestly I liked the album, I enjoyed the clean vocals. I am choosing not to compare this (or Bellus) to his older work because the man has been in prison for 15 years and he hasn't written BM in that long either. He also had that brief period in prison when he renounced all things BM and wrote the 2 ambient albums. Also I haven't seen any interviews with him about his mentality on BM or if he even intended to write BM the way he used to or if he has had some sort of epiphony and has decided to "evolve" his writing process and his ideals on what he wants his music to sound like. It feels to me that the latter is the case and these new albums are maybe supposed to be some kind of new face to Varg Vikernes; the man has had nothing but time in the past decade to think about his musical ideology and philosophy.


I agree with this so much
Monolithic - 25.02.2012 at 09:44  
I love it when I read reviews like this seeing people comparing previous works to get a better image of what is going on. I think it's the only solution when you don't anything to say regarding the music but your determination for putting the album in a box and rating it A+ or F does not stop you.
To be honest, I enjoy the album and I think it deserves much more than receiving such low ratings in reviewing. Hmmm...nothing to do here, just showing my disagreement with the review over the ratings and the general description regarding Varg and his work, who may receive an additional 10 years for the attempted self-defense against Troy Killjoy over his album. (Just kidding )
Mr. Doctor - 25.02.2012 at 12:54  
Written by Monolithic on 25.02.2012 at 09:44

I love it when I read reviews like this seeing people comparing previous works to get a better image of what is going on. I think it's the only solution when you don't anything to say regarding the music but your determination for putting the album in a box and rating it A+ or F does not stop you.


Well, even if this was an album front a different band so I had nothng to compare to... I would still find it highly average. Nothing special going on here but that's just me.
Monolithic - 26.02.2012 at 00:32  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.02.2012 at 12:54

Written by Monolithic on 25.02.2012 at 09:44

I love it when I read reviews like this seeing people comparing previous works to get a better image of what is going on. I think it's the only solution when you don't anything to say regarding the music but your determination for putting the album in a box and rating it A+ or F does not stop you.


Well, even if this was an album front a different band so I had nothng to compare to... I would still find it highly average. Nothing special going on here but that's just me.

True indeed...I have different standards to review an album, and that doesn't mean either my standards or yours are correct or invalid. We just think different about this album or every album. (in general)
JD - 26.02.2012 at 04:22  
Written by psykometal on 14.11.2011 at 03:56

Honestly I liked the album, I enjoyed the clean vocals. I am choosing not to compare this (or Bellus) to his older work because the man has been in prison for 15 years and he hasn't written BM in that long either. He also had that brief period in prison when he renounced all things BM and wrote the 2 ambient albums. Also I haven't seen any interviews with him about his mentality on BM or if he even intended to write BM the way he used to or if he has had some sort of epiphony and has decided to "evolve" his writing process and his ideals on what he wants his music to sound like. It feels to me that the latter is the case and these new albums are maybe supposed to be some kind of new face to Varg Vikernes; the man has had nothing but time in the past decade to think about his musical ideology and philosophy.

Seconded.
Grimskallen - 11.03.2013 at 22:55  
Actually fallen is a Norwegian word as well.
BoxCar Willy - 14.03.2013 at 18:33  
Written by Grimskallen on 11.03.2013 at 22:55

Actually fallen is a Norwegian word as well.

I think Troy corrected himself on this awhile back. (or someone corrected him )
Grimskallen - 14.03.2013 at 19:20  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 14.03.2013 at 18:33

Written by Grimskallen on 11.03.2013 at 22:55

Actually fallen is a Norwegian word as well.

I think Troy corrected himself on this awhile back. (or someone corrected him )

The review still says this is "his first english titled album"
Mr. Doctor - 14.03.2013 at 19:43  
Written by Grimskallen on 14.03.2013 at 19:20
The review still says this is "his first english titled album"

Meh, dude got lazy to correct it I guess... He isn't around anymore and I lack the powers to edit it. You can always ask some of the higher powers to edit it. XP
Grimskallen - 14.03.2013 at 20:17  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.03.2013 at 19:43

Written by Grimskallen on 14.03.2013 at 19:20
The review still says this is "his first english titled album"

Meh, dude got lazy to correct it I guess... He isn't around anymore and I lack the powers to edit it. You can always ask some of the higher powers to edit it. XP

No no I don't really care all that much, and I know he's away and all, just wanted truth to be told.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Burzum - Umskiptar 7.5 11.05.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Grey Heaven Fall / Twilight Is Mine - The Original Seed Of Decadence / Age Of Aquarius [Split] 4.5 15.12.2013 by
Reviews Dwellers Of The Twilight - Sycophant 4.5 15.12.2011 by Milena
Reviews Sorgeldom - Vithatten 4.5 07.03.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Chaos Inception - The Abrogation 4.5 19.06.2012 by BoxCar Willy



Hits total: 5684 | This month: 2