Rating:
1.0
Luca Turilli - King Of The Nordic Twilight
1999


01. To Magic Horizons
02. Black Dragon
03. Legend Of Steel
04. Lord Of The Winter Snow
05. Princess Aurora
06. The Ancient Forest Of Elves
07. Throne Of Ice
08. Where Heroes Lie
09. Warrior's Pride
10. Kings Of The Nordic Twilight


An "artist" will usually take a break from his musical group to make a side project due to creative restrictions in the group. Luca Turilli is this "artist". After all he only writes all of Rhapsody's music and lyrics, besides the orchestration. King Of The Nordic Twilight was recorded after Symphony of Enchanted Lands was released to huge fanfare. Being a Rhapsody fan my expectations were pretty high for this album. You would think it would be something completely different and grand if he needed a creative departure. Instead you get a heavy dose of what seems like computer generated music. This album is made out of generic power metal formulas that would be used by Hammerfall, or Dragonforce even. The synths are used to generate your run-of-the-mill power metal atmosphere. The orchestration happens to take the same road. If you think that being the neoclassical virtuoso that Luca is, there would be some excellent guitar work normally not found in Rhapsody, think again. His guitar work is very watered down and his solos are half assed and uninspired.

The songs are driven by the usual epic power metal formula that plagues the later Rhapsody albums from "Dawn of Victory" on. This release is only a hint of Rhapsody's decline in quality. While I can't bother going through the track listing since all the songs suffer from the same nauseous repetition, "Lord of the Winter" is pretty interesting and I have certainly not heard anything else like this in power metal. With its techno-like synth lines carrying the song making it stand out, it still lacks anything to actually hold it together as an above-average quality song. Besides vocalist Olaf Hayer ripping off Michael Kiske from the Hello-keeper days to a perfect T, that happens to be the only positive thing that can be said about King of the Nordic Twilight. This shows that all Luca wanted to accomplish is to whore out his name, and stretch out his ego as he does his physic on stage during shows (so I hear). This has to be the worst melodic metal album since War to End All Wars by the original sweeping maestro himself. Now I know the absolute lowest point in music. I doubt anything in the future can be this bad or surprising, not even if Edguy frontman Tobias Sammet makes some kind of metal opera staring big names of the genre playing over the top of overplayed power metal….oh wait….


Band profile: Luca Turilli
Album: King Of The Nordic Twilight


 


written by Joey Jo Jo | 05.08.2005


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 178  
Search this topic:  


Talvi - 09.11.2006 at 10:46  
It's strange being a Rhapsody fan you give the album so low rating. At least you will like Prophet of the Last Eclipse...
Joey Jo Jo - 23.08.2007 at 03:33  
I actually think the album has gotten much, much worse over time......
Iced Dog - 18.10.2007 at 10:00  
Fantastic album...better than most Rhapsody
+{Jonas}+ - 20.10.2007 at 02:17  
Actually this albums is better than prpphet Of Teh Last Eclipse, but c',mon 1.0? LOL
Stigma - 10.02.2008 at 22:38  
The rating is.. Well, pretty low. But since I haven't heard the album, I won't judge you.
Zeh - 28.08.2008 at 02:50  
Well.. This album is not the Power Symphonic Metal Better Album Of The World, but It deserves more than a 1.. maybe 6 or 7.

Anyway, I laught when you compared Rhapsody with fanfarre.. Cool!!
Morphis - 21.01.2009 at 15:49  
Lol I agree with this review but i think the album itself is better that a 1.
Ellrohir - 27.09.2009 at 02:07  
Ok, i agree some people just dont like "cheesy" power metal...but even though they wont rate an album that low...

besides i think this album is fine...definitely best by Luca Turilli and somewhere about 8 from me
Lord_Regnier - 27.09.2009 at 19:35  
Imo, this album is better than POTLE. As for TIWOC and Dreamquest, I don't want to talk about them.

For the record, I think Rhapsody's albums until POTD (incl) were enjoyable.

However, even if they were enjoyable, there's something lots of people fail to realize. Rhapsody has always been, first and foremost, a studio trick. Lots of synthesizers, of fake orchestral instruments, of electronic sounds to try to hide that they have never been a great live band. Basically, Rhapsody is a mediocre metal band that adds lots of symphonic elements to draw the attention of the listener elsewhere, so he doesn't realize the PM they play behind the orchestrations is extremely generic.

This band didn't even play live in their early years.
The drums were made by a drum machine because Carbonera wasn't able to play the songs. And, even when Alex Holzwarth replaced him, most of the drums on the studio albums are still made by a drum machine they call "Thunderforce" on DOV and POTD. On the only albums where they used a real drummer in studio (SOEL II and TOA), the drums suck.
It always sounded a bit electronic and fake.
Luca Turilli doesn't play most of his solos live. They're played by Dominique Leurquin.
Also, lots of 'classical' parts have been borrowed (read plagiated here) elsewhere. Be it in old folk songs, from classical composers or from soundtracks.

You can like Rhapsody or not, it's your own choice and I don't mind. But don't kid yourself: those guys are not geniuses and haven't invented anything. All they did is to borrow from others and put those elements over very generic powermetal music, using lots of electronic devices to build up this well-wrapped studio trick.
And Turilli's solo releases are no different. On the opposite, it's only more glaring.

@Elrohir: About cheesiness, I want to say that I don't find Rhapsody's albums until POTD too cheesy. At least it never got on my nerves when I hear the songs. However, SOEL II and TOA are unbearably cheesy from my point of view.
EmeraldSword - 09.11.2009 at 23:01  
My favorite Luca solo album. I agree mostly with this review, but I think the rating was overly harsh.
DayFly - 17.04.2010 at 00:01  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 27.09.2009 at 19:35

For the record, I think Rhapsody's albums until POTD (incl) were enjoyable.

You are serious? For someone who spews hate over everything commercial and/or cheesy that seems inconsistent. Every song of theirs I have ever tried listening to is worse than the most wretched pieces of hair metal.
Lord_Regnier - 17.04.2010 at 16:18  
Written by DayFly on 17.04.2010 at 00:01

Written by Lord_Regnier on 27.09.2009 at 19:35

For the record, I think Rhapsody's albums until POTD (incl) were enjoyable.

You are serious? For someone who spews hate over everything commercial and/or cheesy that seems inconsistent. Every song of theirs I have ever tried listening to is worse than the most wretched pieces of hair metal.


My statement cruelly lacked precision. I should have said I enjoyed the albums, moderately, years ago.
I haven't listened to Rhapsody for years now and I can't even understand how I could ever have liked this band, even only moderately. I have this feeling about the entire Powermetal genre.
I pretty much stopped listening to PM a decade ago.

Truth is when I hear a PM song I really liked in the 90s today, my reaction is "How was I able to listen to this crap, let alone like it?". It's a mystery to me because this music makes me cringe and wince now.

And if you read the rest of my post above, you can see it's far from praise.
Bolverk - 09.05.2011 at 01:07  
Come on is not that bad... 1 is a bit low, lol
i would give it 7 or 8!
mohammedMG - 06.01.2012 at 18:19  
It's not that bad ,actually I enjoyed listening to it ,maybe it's your opinion but you shouldn't have given it that low rating I give it 8.
LordHypnos - 20.10.2012 at 04:53  
1?? Gimme a break... This album deserves at least a 7, there are no bad songs at all!
Zaphod - 07.11.2013 at 20:01  
Haven't listened to this album, but the score definitely doesn't match the review.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Luca Turilli - King Of The Nordic Twilight 10.5 28.03.2010 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Helloween - The Time Of The Oath 6.5 09.11.2006 by Talvi
Albums Luca Turilli - The Infinite Wonders Of Creation 6 12.11.2010 by Ellrohir
Albums Luca Turilli - Prophet Of The Last Eclipse 6 30.03.2010 by Ellrohir
Reviews Grey Heaven Fall / Twilight Is Mine - The Original Seed Of Decadence / Age Of Aquarius [Split] 4 15.12.2013 by



Hits total: 4456 | This month: 36