Rating:
7.0
Maledicere - Leave Only What Is Fit To Burn
18 June 2011


01. Intro
02. There Are Wolves
03. Blood Of The Lamb Upon Our Hands
04. Interlude
05. Harvest
06. Hail The Black Faith
07. Interlude
08. What Is Fit To Burn
09. Interlude
10. Transcendence And Death's Bloom


It's really hard to discern what's all that new anymore. It feels like I've heard a lot of similar black metal to Malediceres Leave Only What Is Fit To Burn plenty of times before, but when it comes to listing direct examples, I come up with nothing. Yes, folks, it's another one of those bands that can't really be defined as groundbreaking by any stretch of the imagination, but it's just a job well done upholding some already well established traits.

Admittedly, looking at the title, I was expecting something akin to Destroyer 666s Cold Steel... Wrong. Instead of being a purely riff-based speed attack, it's more like Wolves In The Throne Room, with none of the hippy-trippy nature focus, and more of the evil attitude typical to a lot of black metal. It's actually a bit odd, because the guitar work is mostly of the wall-of-sound variety, as opposed to distinguishable riffs, yet the production seems more built toward an up-close, riff appeal sound. It's not a bad thing, when trying to list the drawbacks of the album, saying "Well, they're playing like Wolves In The Throne Room, but the production is more suited to Taake" isn't the first thing that comes to mind. Oh yes, the album is filled with enough blast beats to keep it sounding angry, but the band really stamps out more of an identity for themselves with their winding, doom-ish segments.

That's all from a point of view of a nit-picking critic. From the viewpoint of anyone who doesn't have to write an entire review, it's a black metal album. Just that. It's not bad at all, in fact, I'd take this over any number of indistinguishable black metal acts out there, but it still doesn't leave too great of an impact. It's a luke-warm black metal album that I can neither recommend, nor recommend against.


 



Written on 02.12.2011 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 74  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 02.12.2011 at 09:09  
Destroyer, Wolves, Taake...

I'm in.
Doc Godin - 02.12.2011 at 10:32  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 02.12.2011 at 09:09

Destroyer, Wolves, Taake...

I'm in.

Not Destroyer. Like I said, I was expecting something like Destroyer, got something way different.
Carl Berg - 02.12.2011 at 14:23  
Evil WITTR? Sounds intersting! Definately gonna check it out. Thanks man!
Troy Killjoy - 02.12.2011 at 19:27  
Quote:
Written by Doc Godin on 02.12.2011 at 10:32
Wolves, Taake... I'm in.

Not Destroyer. Like I said, I was expecting something like Destroyer, got something way different.

Fixed. Still enough for me to check it out.
lefty - 05.12.2011 at 03:38  
Some links for Maledicere
http://maledicere.org Site
http://antitheistcult.com/releases.html Label
http://www.canadianassault.com/maledicereinterview.htm Interview
http://youtu.be/4b3JTJ3tUoE Sample
Raiden - 09.12.2011 at 10:17  
What the fuck is that on the album cover?
Doc Godin - 09.12.2011 at 10:20  
Written by Raiden on 09.12.2011 at 10:17

What the fuck is that on the album cover?

I honestly couldn't really tell you. I've got the physical copy, and it's honestly not much clearer.
Raiden - 09.12.2011 at 10:28  
Written by Doc Godin on 09.12.2011 at 10:20

Written by Raiden on 09.12.2011 at 10:17

What the fuck is that on the album cover?

I honestly couldn't really tell you. I've got the physical copy, and it's honestly not much clearer.

Huh. It looks like something you shouldn't be looking at in a public place, but then when you do you can't figure out what the fuck it is anyway haha.
Doc Godin - 09.12.2011 at 10:30  
Written by Raiden on 09.12.2011 at 10:28

Huh. It looks like something you shouldn't be looking at in a public place, but then when you do you can't figure out what the fuck it is anyway haha.

Well, it's fire. And somewhere in that fire is the shape of a human in the fetal position.
Raiden - 09.12.2011 at 10:36  
Written by Doc Godin on 09.12.2011 at 10:30

Written by Raiden on 09.12.2011 at 10:28

Huh. It looks like something you shouldn't be looking at in a public place, but then when you do you can't figure out what the fuck it is anyway haha.

Well, it's fire. And somewhere in that fire is the shape of a human in the fetal position.

Oh, yeah I was way off haha.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews What Mad Universe - A Cosmic Chapter With Gaia 6 19.06.2011 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews All Else Fails - The Oracle: What Was, Is And Could Have Been 6 19.08.2011 by AXA
Reviews Sacred Legacy - Undying Heart 4.5 06.05.2011 by Chainer
Reviews Suicide Silence - The Black Crown 4.5 30.07.2011 by Lit.
Reviews Heathendom - The Symbolist 4.5 01.03.2011 by Darkside Momo



Hits total: 2028 | This month: 21