EndName - Anthropomachy review



Reviewer:
7.7

7 users:
7.43
Band: EndName
Album: Anthropomachy
Release date: August 2011


01. Black Light
02. Neuros[e]
03. Under Asphalt
04. Old Star
05. Clouds Fly To The East
06. Not Dead
07. Horizon
08. Anthropomachy


I've reviewed a lot of post-metal this year and I think it has gotten to me. I'd taken to referring to it as "Same Shit, Different Dudes" as after a while it just seemed too many followed the exact same basic blueprint to varying degrees of success. Soft bits that build up over time, add in some fuzzed distortion for crescendos, top it all off with annoying screamo vocals.

Thank you, EndName for helping break the rut.

For starters, there are no annoying screaming vocals. There are no vocals. None at all. Antrophomachy is an entirely instrumental affair.

Or should I say instruMETAL!?

Additionally the whole thing just feels more aggressive while still being that "capture some ethereal mood" type of music. There is a definite sludge injection into the standard post-approach. It's not air guitar material, you won't find it on Guitar Hero, but it has more balls and depth to it. The distortion pedal is not kept in the back only for occasional use, nope. It's on for the duration of the otherwise typical slow build up to release. This gives the music a harsher, heavier vibe than other acts in the field. This might also give it slightly more appeal to the "if it's not heavily distorted it's not tr00!" folks.

Slow moving tracks like "Under Asphalt" with drawn out chords and reverberating drum beats carry an almost doomish vibe for several minutes before the band changes it up by kicking up the tempo and switching to a tension-enhancing winding riff. Occasionally the guitarists shows off their chops with a little flash while matching the melody and emotional intent of the pieces.

Other effects, such as backing keyboards, and occasional nature sound effects also show up from time to time to add a little "sumpin-sumpin" without being overly intrusive.

Frankly, it's been an enjoyable hour-long listen. Thanks, guys!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 10.12.2011 by BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 176 users
10.12.2011 - 06:33
Susan
Smeghead
"Or should I say instruMETAL!?"

Too damn clever.

This really sounds like something I should check out. Solid "instruMETAL" is quite a lovely thing when done properly. Off to the bandcamp page for me!

(BTW the cover art is kind of freaking me out. But in a good way.)
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
10.12.2011 - 07:26
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by Susan on 10.12.2011 at 06:33

(BTW the cover art is kind of freaking me out. But in a good way.)


i do love the cover art. i checked out the disk first, courtesy of their FTP site ... so when i finally saw it, i was stunned. probably my favorite album cover of the year.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
10.12.2011 - 12:53
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
"SSDD" blueprint tbh will gotta same response for every genre. If any band getting 7.5 average from any good listener with barrier of uniqueness and originality[MOST IMP IMO] prevalence then I think its more than enough to get such recognition.
----
Loading...
10.12.2011 - 18:53
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
A 2011 post metal release I missed? Bahhh! I consider myself one of leading, foremost authorative figures about this musical genre on this website. Sorry Bittercold, I must be slacking...
----
rekt
Loading...
10.12.2011 - 19:57
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by tea[m]ster on 10.12.2011 at 18:53

A 2011 post metal release I missed? Bahhh! I consider myself one of leading, foremost authorative figures about this musical genre on this website. Sorry Bittercold, I must be slacking...


no worries, you are still well ahead of me in that regard.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
10.12.2011 - 20:29
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I don't like this genre anymore. Not sure what changed... It seems like after Rosetta, Cult of Luna, Neurosis, Year of No Light, and Ghost Brigade I just lost interest. Huh.

Nice review though.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
10.12.2011 - 20:42
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.12.2011 at 20:29
I don't like this genre anymore. Not sure what changed... It seems like after Rosetta, Cult of Luna, Neurosis, Year of No Light, and Ghost Brigade I just lost interest. Huh.


I took a different (and imo more healthy) approach I just don't care about the new acts unless it's going to be a totally new thing in the genre. The great and big bands like CoL, Neurosis and Year of No light is all I need. If a band comes along doing something different but still in the post-metal genre then I will welcome it with open arms but if it's just one of those 7-albums... meh. I friggin love the genre though.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
10.12.2011 - 22:02
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Written by BitterCOld on 10.12.2011 at 19:57

Written by tea[m]ster on 10.12.2011 at 18:53

A 2011 post metal release I missed? Bahhh! I consider myself one of leading, foremost authorative figures about this musical genre on this website. Sorry Bittercold, I must be slacking...


no worries, you are still well ahead of me in that regard.


hey man, I know who butters the bread around here...any suggestions you give I check out
----
rekt
Loading...

Hits total: 3806 | This month: 4