Release date: 20 April 2004
Style: Pagan folk metal


8.4 | 96 votes


132 have it
21 want it

01. Коляда
02. Масленица
03. К Дому Сварога
04. Черные Вороны
05. Возрождение
06. Русь
07. Брате Славяне
08. Солнцеворот
09. Под Мечами...
10. По Звериным Тропам...
11. Заложный
12. Заложный

Lyrics (11)

Additional info
Re-released in English ("Revival") in 2005.

Title Translations:
1. Koliada
2. Maslenitsa
3. Into the Svarog's house
4. Revival
5. Black Ravens
6. Russia
7. Brothers Slavs
8. Solstice
9. Under the Swords
10. On animal Path
11. Zalozniy
12. Call of Ancestors

Guest review by

Arkona is a band that has risen above a great number of Russian pagan metal bands. They have shown us that they are the masters of the pagan style with their debut album Vozhrozdenie.

When this album was made, Arkona was pretty much a one-man, or should I say a one-woman band. Masha Arhipova composed all of the music and she intended to get some session musicians to help her with the recording. Vozhrozdenie was recorded without a single band rehearsal. The piece of metal they made was absolutely epic.

published 04.05.2009 | Comments (2)

Found in 2 lists
Top lists

Fredd The Folk, The Pagan And The Viking  | #2
7 50 Best Albums Ever (>)  | #11
More lists | Create a list! ››


‹‹ Back to the Albums
Comments: 1  
Users visited: 61  
Search this topic:  

musicalkaratekid - 12.04.2012 at 15:52  
Rating: 8 I've recently become a big fan of Arkona's music. Their aggressive yet finely honed brand of folk metal really does make you feel as if you're in russia itself. This debut, whilst not quite their best offering, still engages the listener with its orchestral flourishes and barrage of extreme metal guitar work, alongside Masha's vocals, which in turn have their own way of expressing the album's general theme. A great way to start, if you're curious as to how 'modern' folk metal really comes about.

Advertise on Metal Storm

Login or register to post here.

Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Arkona - Decade Of Glory 4 06.01.2013 by beerweed
Albums Crematory - Revolution 3 08.09.2011 by JD
Albums Dirge - And Shall The Sky Descend 3 23.01.2012 by tea[m]ster
Albums Vintersorg - The Focusing Blur 3 25.06.2011 by MechanisT
Albums Lord Gore - Resickened 3 30.03.2012 by SymphonyImpaled

Hits total: 5122 | This month: 75