Dokken - Breaking The Chains

7.3 | 67 votes |
Release date: 1981
Style: Heavy metal


76 have it
3 want it

1982 Release
01. Breakin' The Chains
02. Seven Thunders
03. I Can't See You
04. In The Middle
05. We're Illegal
06. Paris
07. Stick To Your Guns
08. Young Girls
09. Felony
10. Nightrider

1983 Release
11. Breaking The Chains
12. In The Middle
13. Felony
14. I Can't See You
15. Live To Rock (Rock To Live)
16. Nightrider
17. Seven Thunders
18. Young Girls
19. Stick To Your Guns
20. Paris Is Burning [live]

Donald Maynard "Don" Dokken - vocals, guitar
George Lynch - guitar
Juan Croucier - bass
''Wild'' Mick Brown - drums, vocals

Additional info
Released 1981 (Europe)
September 18, 1983 (U.S.)

Guest review by
For one of the more notable L.A. metal bands, Dokken's beginnings were rather humble compared to other debuts of the era. It's not the lack of direction or identity as much as the fact that the band members would simply get better at writing memorable songs and perhaps that Jeff Pilson (who contributed to the majority of the band's songs thereafter) was not yet around. Musically, Dokken's style was rooted in the more recent moments of Judas Priest and Scorpions as well as the original Sunstrip band Van Halen which makes them a bit heavier than the average first-wave glam band. However, Don Dokken's mellow, soaring vocals, the band's penchant for vocal harmonies and, depending on the perspective, either brooding and bland or dark and sophisticated love-related lyrics never gave the band that important reputation for being dangerous bad boys like Mötley Crüe or pure fun like Poison.

published 07.09.2009 | Comments (0)

Found in 1 list
Top lists

Hits total: 3610 | This month: 14