Advertise on Metal Storm
Dark Moor - Between Light And Darkness [EP]

8.1 | 52 votes |
Release date: 2003
Style: Symphonic power metal


82 have it
5 want it

01. Memories
02. From Dawn To Dusk
03. A Lament Of Misery
04. Echoes Of The Sea
05. Mistery Of Goddess
06. The Shadow Of The Nile
07. Dies Irae
08. The Fall Of Melnibone

Staff review by
It is quite an usual thing for an EP to contain eight songs and to last 51 minutes. And unfortunately, this album is also the last release of the Spanish Dark Moor with this line up, as the singer Elisa Martin now is in the French band Fairyland, one of the guitarists and the drummer have left the band.

This EP is divided in two parts: the first four songs are acoustic. They make me think of a quiet version of Blind Guardian, which is not especially a bad reference. The clean and pure voice of Elisa Martin is accompanied by medieval acoustic chords and a symphonic orchestra. I want to say that her voice is different from those of most of metal female singers: she often changes tune and never becomes boring, even if her accent in English is absolutely horrible. Sometimes she even sounds like Andre Matos , for example on 'Dies Irae' . Anyway, the first three songs are my favourite on this EP , because of their sad atmosphere and the emotion Elisa Martin is able to make me feel. 'Echoes of the sea' is an instrumental track of classical music. It seems a bit caricatural to me and could have been avoided.

published 03.11.2003 | Comments (1)


Comments: 1   Visited by: 32 users
07.10.2013 - 01:44
Nice acoustic stuff and the bonus from The Gates of Oblivion versions released in Japan & Russia, with a no-guitar version of Dies Irae (a downhill someway for this song)

Hits total: 4871 | This month: 23