Advertise on Metal Storm
Winds - Prominence And Demise

8.3 | 71 votes |
Release date: 4 September 2007
Style: Avantgarde metal, Progressive metal, Symphonic metal


85 have it
12 want it

01. Universal Creation Array
02. Distorted Dimensions
03. The Grand Design
04. When The Dream Of Paradise Died
05. Fall And Rise
06. The Darkest Path
07. Convictions And Contradictions
08. Where The Cold Winds Blow
09. The Last Line

Lars "Eikind" Eric Si - vocals
Carl August Tidemann - guitars
Jan Axel Blomberg - drums
Andy Winter - keyboards

Guest musicians
Agnete M. Kirkevaag - soprano vocals
Lars Are Nedland - alto vocals
Dan Erland Swanö - tenor vocals
Øystein Moe - bass
André Orvik - violin
Vegard Johnsen - violin
Dorthe Dreier - viola
Hans Josef Groh - cello

Additional info
Recorded at Panser Studio, TopRoom Studio, MultiMono Studio, Unisound and Mari Kirke.
Engineered by Truls Birkeland, Bjørn Bergersen, Børge Finstad, Chris Michel and Dan Swanö.
Mixed at Hipposonic Studios by Shaun Thingvold and Andy Winter.
Mastered at Sterling Sound by UE Nastasi.
Graphic design and imagery by Travis Smith.
All compositions and arrangements by Winds.
Lyrics and concept by Andy Winter.
Produced by Winds.

Staff review by
Demonic Tutor
The Melodic Progressive band known as Winds has already left its thumb prints all over the Metal world with their two previous opuses, especially 2004's The Imaginary Direction of Time. Now, the Norwegian masters are aiming even higher with their latest effort Prominence and Demise.

The band retained the winning combo with mastermind Andy Winter , Carl August Tidemann , Lars Eric Si and Jan Axel "Hellhammer" Von Blomberg . Enhancing this dream-team, Winds had some help from some famous guest singers on this album, among who Dan Swanö , Lars Are "Lazare" Nedland and Agnete Kirkevaag . Last but not least, musicians from the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra joined their instruments to the mix.

published 22.07.2007 | Comments (9)

Found in 2 lists
Top lists

Hits total: 5554 | This month: 27