Poisonblack - Escapexstacy

8.5 | 141 votes |
Release date: 2003
Style: Suomi metal


171 have it
11 want it
1 trades it

01. The Glow Of The Flames
02. Love Infernal
03. The State
04. All Else Is Hollow
05. In Lust
06. The Exciter
07. Lay Your Heart To Rest
08. With Her I Die
09. Illusion/Delusion
10. The Kiss Of Death

Additional info
Line up:
Juha-Pekka Leppäluoto - vocals
Ville Laihiala - guitars
Janne Kukkonen - bass
Tarmo Kanerva - drums
Janne Dahlgren - guitar
Marco Sneck - keyboards

J. Peacock - Cello (on "The State")

Tracks 1,2,4,5,6,7,10 by Ville Laihiala.
Tracks 3,8,9 by Janne Kukkonen.
All lyrics by Ville Laihiala.

"Escapexstacy" was released in Japan in March the 8th, 2003.
Produced by Laihiala & Kukkonen
Engineered by Kari "Kakke" Vahakuopus.

Recorded at NEO Studios during spring 2002.

Mastered by Ulf Horbelt at DMS, Marl, Germany.

Cover & booklet art by Vesa Ranta (Sentenced's ex-drummer).

Re-released in December 2008 by Century Media as limited edition 2CD slipcase together with "Lust Stained Despair".

Guest review by
Following the success of Sentenced's last album The Cold White Light, the band is taking a well-earned break. Sentenced frontman Ville Laihiala however, has decided to hook up with some fellow Oulu friends and continue his side project Poisonblack.
Having formed the band as far back as two years ago , Ville decided to shift his focus from vocals and concentrate his attention on lead and rhythm guitars. Janne Kukkonen joins Ville on bass and Charon frontman Juha-Pekka Leppaluoto on vocals . Helping out in the studio as session musicians Tarmo Kanerva on drums Marco Sneck on keyboards and Janne Dahlgren on guitar.

published 22.12.2003 | Comments (0)

Guest review by
Poisonblack's first album, Escapexstacy, is one of the staples of the (now unfortunately, but timely, fading) Suomi metal genre. It brings us a very professional but emotive approach, nice performing and a handful of great songs - let's dig in a little deeper into it.

Songs are very dark in mood and none of them could be labelled as a fast track; there are ten of them, all pretty short (some even under three minutes long) and simplistic in structure. Songwriting is pretty advanced and experienced; though at first listen I didn't like the first three tracks, everything fell into place later. The lyrics are very lust-driven and stereotypical, sometimes even cheeky (i.e. "Burn my fingers one by one, guide me down into the sun / Let me show you how I crave to make you come"), but Juha-Pekka Leppäluoto pulls them off perfectly well with his very deep, expressive and alluring voice. The ex-Charon frontman is hands down one of Finland's better vocalists, and it shows in songs such as "In Lust" and "Illusion/Delusion".

published 28.08.2011 | Comments (4)

Found in 6 lists
Top lists


Comments: 4   Visited by: 149 users
17.10.2011 - 00:27
Rating: 7
This band is overrated, but thye have some good songs. From the three albums that ive heard, this one seems to be the weakest. A dead heavy day is slightly better in comparison...
21.05.2012 - 19:55
Account deleted
Their best work, good songwriting, nice atmosphere, the musicians are competent. The music is inspired, although not very original.
11.01.2015 - 06:38
Rating: 10
Jason W.
Timeless. Easily the band's best release, and those vocals! "All Else Is Hollow" and "The State" are amazing.
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
20.04.2016 - 12:31
Rating: 8
The continuation of sentenced on my ears, nice effort! The State and Illusion/Delusion are my fav songs...
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!

Hits total: 6997 | This month: 17