Communic - Payment Of Existence

8.1 | 135 votes |
Release date: 30 May 2008
Style: Progressive metal


150 have it
15 want it
1 trades it

01. On Ancient Ground
02. The Abandoned One
03. Becoming Of Man
04. Payment Of Existence
05. Through The Labyrinth Of Years
06. Raven's Cry
07. Unpredictables Of Life
08. Stone Carved Eyes

Oddleif Stensland - guitars, vocals
Tor Atle Andersen - drums
Erik Mortensen - bass

Guest musicians
Kim Olesen - keyboards, effects

Additional info
Recorded and produced by Jacob Hansen and Communic at Hansen Studio in Ribe, Denmark, January 2008.
Drums recorded by Roald Råsberg at Sanden Studio, Kristiansand, Norway, December 2007.
Mixed and mastered by Jacob Hansen at Hansen Studio.
Co-mix engineer: Jeppe Andersson.

Artwork by Jan Örkki Yrlund at Darkgrove Design.

Music and lyrics by Oddleif Stensland. Arranged by Communic.

Staff review by
Baz Anderson
Norwegian progressive metallers Communic return with album number three, "Payment Of Existence" and provide another solid portion of technical and thoughtful heavy metal. Comparisons can be made between Communic and Nevermore, but more so for the similarity between vocal styles and sounds of Warrel Dane and Communic singer and guitar wielder Oddleif Stensland. Both have an emotional tinge and a clean voice, but also a slight American whine that for different people could either add to the emotion or make it grate over time. Nevertheless Oddleif and his two other band members are talented individuals and do what they do well.

published 02.06.2008 | Comments (11)

Found in 3 lists
Top lists

Hits total: 6575 | This month: 32