Lizzy Borden - Visual Lies

8.2 | 38 votes |
Release date: August 1987
Style: Heavy metal


43 have it
5 want it

01. Me Against The World
02. Shock
03. Outcast
04. Den Of Thieves
05. Visual Lies
06. Eyes Of A Stranger
07. Lord Of The Flies
08. Voyeur (I'm Watching You)
09. Visions
10. Me Against The World [demo version] [2002 re-issue bonus]
11. Lord Of The Flies [demo version] [2002 re-issue bonus]
12. Visual Lies [demo version] [2002 re-issue bonus]
13. Me Against The World [bat2theskull remix version] [2002 re-issue bonus]

Guest review by
Although having already released two by Metal Blade' standards successful albums, Lizzy Borden were still hoping for a chance to make it really big. In Lizzy Borden's own words the band "really wanted to get on MTV" and with "Me Against The World" the band achieved just that. Unsurprisingly, the songs on "Visual Lies" take a more commercial turn, but the band stays true to it's roots. No matter how many times it was labeled a sell-out album, "Visual Lies" still employs a distinct sense of metal songwriting only with more emphasis on melody than on unbridled energy. Compared to the band's earlier, over-the-top style, Lizzy Borden toned down their act a great deal, now favouring mid-paced tempos, vocals focused more on memorability than hitting high notes and a far more glossy production. Thankfully, during the course of making two albums the band also picked up a healthy amount of pop sensibility and there are more than enough hooks around to keep things interesting.

published 21.04.2009 | Comments (0)

Found in 2 lists
Top lists

Hits total: 3320 | This month: 15