Kypck - Черно

8.5 | 73 votes |
Release date: 12 March 2008
Style: Doom metal


68 have it
9 want it

01. Гидролокатор (Depth Finder)
02. Рождество В Мурманске (Christmas In Murmansk)
03. Предатель (Traitor)
04. 1917
05. Чёрная Дыра (The Black Hole)
06. Сталинград
07. Не Прости (Do Not Forgive)
08. Очередные (The Usual)
09. Один День Из Жизни Егора Кузнецова (One Day In The Life Of Yegor Kuznetsov)
10. Демон

Additional info
Recorded during 2007 at Novaya Zemlya, Colibri and Tonebox studios.
Engineered and produced by Hiilesmaa.
Mixed by Hiilesmaa and Juha Heininen at HIP studio.
Mastered at Finnvox by Mika Jussila.

Guest review by
As with all things, metal is done differently in Soviet Russia. While Kypck formed in 2008, well after the fall of Communism, the members are old enough to have lived during the years of the U.S.S.R. Their music seems driven by the forlorn search for personal and national identity faced by many Russians in the '90s, and perhaps this explains why Kypck is a doom metal band (or, as they call it, "Fast Russian Doomsday Metal"). It isn't fast at all, but the other three parts are correct, and the dark, droning chords full of suppressed rage certainly paint a picture to match the album artwork. What we have here seems to be Russia's post-traumatic stress disorder manifesting itself in musical form, and it sounds like the dying voices of a million massacred Red Soldiers have provided the inspiration.

published 13.01.2011 | Comments (18)

Found in 4 lists
Top lists

Hits total: 4709 | This month: 29