Advertise on Metal Storm
Jon Oliva's Pain - Festival

8 | 64 votes |
Release date: 19 February 2010
Style: Progressive metal


71 have it
12 want it

01. Lies
02. Death Rides A Black Horse
03. Festival
04. Afterglow
05. Living On The Edge
06. Looking For Nothing
07. The Evil Within
08. Winter Haven
09. I Fear You
10. Now

Guest review by
Jon Oliva has released his fourth solo album in early 2010 known as Festival. I will admit, I am a massive fan of his works and have been for quite a long time. All of the songwriting he did for Savatage is absolute gold and his vocals are sensational as well. Even Trans-Siberian Orchestra is a brilliant band which Jon had helped found. In his solo work he has attempted to create a new sound without losing that Savatage quality which has made him famous. In this new album, he moved further away from that sound as he focused much less on the piano and more on keyboards. The whole sound is also much heavier and darker which is unique to any album he has ever done before.

published 16.12.2010 | Comments (0)

Found in 1 list
Top lists


Comments: 1   Visited by: 68 users
11.12.2010 - 06:05
Rating: 7
Why does Jon have to rewrite his old savatage songs into new songs? I really despise that. First he did it with 'Target' and 'Before I Hang' on global warming and now 'Living on the Edge of Time' for this. ugh.

Hits total: 7525 | This month: 15