Aarni - Bathos

7.5 | 21 votes |
Release date: 17 November 2004
Style: Avantgarde metal


21 have it
2 want it

01. Ονειροσκόπος (Oneiroskopos)
02. Squaring The Circle
03. Quinotaurus (Twelve Stars In Sight)
04. Kivijumala
05. V.I.T.R.I.O.L.
06. The Thunder, Perfect Mindfuck
07. Mental Fugue
08. Niut Net Meru
09. Kesäyö

Additional info
Remastered in 2010 and released via Bandcamp.

Staff review by
This must be, one of THE most difficult reviews I have ever written. Describing Aarni´s music is just as easy as solving the equation: y´ + sinxy = 4sinx but with your hands tied and your eyes shut. But just to give you an idea of the music, then imagine traditional doom metal, but with lots of folk and ambient influences and you might get a slight idea of what this is. I personally like to simply call it Avantgarde doom, it has also been called "Avantgarde mooD musick" and the man behind the band himself apparently likes to call it "Chtonic Hybrid Musick". But whatever it is and whatever you like to call it, I must say that I haven't heard anything as original as this in the field of metal for quite some time.

published 13.12.2004 | Comments (3)

Found in 7 lists
Top lists

Hits total: 4406 | This month: 46