Astral Tears - Hypnotic

7.5 | 6 votes |
Release date: 24 April 2012
Style: Progressive metal, Alternative metal


4 have it
1 wants it

01. Rebirth
02. Hate The Enemy
03. Sinner
04. Desire
05. Behind The Curtains
06. Back To Life
07. Obsession
08. Tell Me Lies
09. Awake
10. Forgotten
11. My Reality
12. End Of My Story

Beyza - vocals
Max - guitars
Jelly - drums
G Rem - bass

Additional info
Mastering: Brett Caldas-Lima.

Staff review by
Rating supplement: Not the best I've heard in the style, but it makes up for it by not being a carbon-copy, so I'd recommend this to fans of female-fronted metal.

Astral Tears are from France and they play, according to their bio, "melodic metal with oriental influences". Given the stereotypical band and album name, I thought I wasn't in for anything remotely good, but Hypnotic is a solid debut. It's not strikingly original, but it has identity; it's not amateurish either. There is room for improvement, but the band won't be ashamed of their first release, no matter where their music takes them in the future.

published 12.04.2012 | Comments (6)

Hits total: 1667 | This month: 6