Current 93 - Soft Black Stars

10 | 3 votes |
Release date: 1998
Style: Dark ambient , Neofolk , Post-industrial , Experimental music


2 have it

01. Instrumental
02. Larkspur And Lazarus
03. A Gothic Love Song
04. Mockingbird
05. Soft Black Stars
06. It Is Time, Only Time
07. Anti-Christ And Barcodes
08. The Signs In The Stars
09. Whilst The Night Rejoices Profound And Still
10. Moonlight, Or Other Dreams, Or Other Fields
11. Judas As Black Moth
12. Chewing On Shadows

Staff review by
The "A Gothic Love Song" 12'' had given an idea to the audience of Current 93 what to expect, but no-one was expecting how great and different the next attempt of the band would be, one of their most mature, emotionally, works up to date, probably the most for me.

Tibet and Michael Cashmore join forces, Tibet offers the lyrics and his vocal interpretation and Cashmore composes most of the musical part, based mainly on heart-rending and esoteric piano pieces, accompanied by the violin, the acoustic guitar, the viola and other instruments that would keep the fragile aesthetic of the new album, "Soft Black Stars".

published 26.11.2005 | Comments (0)


Comments: 1   Visited by: 29 users
06.01.2012 - 04:34
Account deleted
Perhaps not the best Current album, but along with Drake's "Pink Moon" (although the genre is a bit different) this must be the most intimate album I've ever heard. So strange yet so moving.

Hits total: 2291 | This month: 13