Fates Warning - No Exit

8.2 | 135 votes |
Release date: 30 March 1988
Style: Progressive metal


164 have it
7 want it

01. No Exit
02. Anarchy Divine
03. Silent Cries
04. In A Word
05. Shades Of Heavenly Death
06. The Ivory Gate Of Dreams
    1 - Innocence
    2 - Cold Daze
    3 - Daylight Dreamers
    4 - Quietus
    5 - Ivory Tower
    6 - Whispers On The Wind
    7 - Aquiescence
    8 - Retrospect
07. Quietus [demo] [2007 Deluxe Edition bonus]
08. The Ivory Gate Of Dreams [Outtake 1] [2007 Deluxe Edition bonus]
09. The Ivory Gate Of Dreams [Outtake 2] [2007 Deluxe Edition bonus]

Guest review by
Chunk and the end of an era.

Here's a cd that is one of the peaks in the progressive metal arena, but which also signified the end of a particular style for a band that could've done so much more had they stayed the course afterwards.

No Exit is a chunky, somewhat underrated progressive metal behemoth. Although John Arch was replaced by Ray Alder, the music never relented. Awaken the Guardian had a more technical, mystical side whereas No Exit brought in way more bass and chunk. That's not to say there aren't plenty of technical elements to be had, as anyone who's heard "The Ivory Gates of Dreams" can attest to.

published 17.10.2010 | Comments (3)

Found in 6 lists
Top lists


Comments: 1   Visited by: 119 users
08.12.2012 - 16:04
Rating: 9
Au Pays Natal
The Cd that got me into FW and prog metal. Saw "Silent Cries" on MTV's Headbangers ball (when MTV actually played music) and was enamored with Ray Alder's voice instantly.

Hits total: 6021 | This month: 44