Axenstar - Where Dreams Are Forgotten

7.6 | 25 votes |
Release date: 28 November 2014
Style: Power metal


30 have it
5 want it

01. Fear
02. Inside The Maze
03. My Sacrifice
04. Curse Of The Tyrant
05. The Return
06. Demise
07. Annihilation
08. Greed
09. The Reaper
10. This False Imagery
11. Sweet Farewell

Staff review by
Axenstar is one of those solid power metal bands that have established themselves firmly in the genre. They have many followers and some people consider Axenstar favorites, yet they are not quite one of the giants. It's albums like this, however, that assures fans they're on the right track.

What makes these Swedes so awesome is how their music is grand and epic without having to be symphonic in some obligatory way. With very minor keyboards, Axenstar manages to create a full power metal sound. It's not the hard rock- or thrash-influenced result that is most non-symphonic power metal. They just don't need any assistance to make something great. As usual, they topped it off with their kick-ass vocalist. Yes, founding member and bassist Magnus Winterwild is an example of a quintessential power metal voice: one who takes solid music and makes it even better.

published 08.12.2014 | Comments (2)

Found in 1 list
Top lists

Hits total: 2909 | This month: 8