Downfall Of Gaia - Ethic Of Radical Finitude

7.8 | 79 votes |
Release date: 8 February 2019
Style: Atmospheric sludge metal, Post-metal


40 have it
4 want it

01. Seduced By...
02. The Grotesque Illusion Of Being
03. We Pursue The Serpent Of Time
04. Guided Through A Starless Night
05. As Our Bones Break To The Dance
06. Of Withering Violet Leaves

Dominik Goncalves dos Reis - guitars, vocals
Marco Mazzola - guitars
Michael "Mike" Kadnar - drums
Anton Lisovoj - bass, vocals

Guest musicians
Nikita Kamprad - vocals (track 4)
Johannes Stoltenburg - drones (tracks 2, 3)
Mers Sumida - vocals (track 3)

Additional info
Tracking for the album was handled at Hidden Planet Studio, Berlin by Jan Oberg, and Backroom Studios in New Jersey by Kevin Antreassian.

Staff review by
Doc G.
Downfall of Gaia are what you could consider one of those "periphery" bands; they've been around for a decade give or take, became a somewhat recognizable name with a few albums under their belt, even appeared on some decent bills over the years, but somehow never managed to make many waves, accrue a die-hard fan base or establish themselves as any sort of household name. If anything is going to change that, it's Ethic Of Radical Finitude.

published 22.03.2019 | Comments (3)

Found in 14 lists
Top lists


Comments: 1   Visited by: 8 users
02.08.2020 - 10:12
Rating: 7
Good ol' meloblack with Post Metal influences. It is the softer parts that adds depth to the hurried melodies.

Hits total: 2714 | This month: 26