Divlje Jagode - Biography




Divlje Jagode were formed in 1976 in Bihać by guitarist Zele Lipovača. The first Divlje Jagode lineup featured vocalist Ante Janković, bass guitarist Nihad Jusufhodžić, keyboardist Mustafa "Muc" Ismailovski and drummer Adonis Dokuzović. The band achieved high popularity with their first singles, hard rock ballads "Jedina Moja" and "Patkica" and a cover of Bosnian folk song "Moj Dilbere". In 1978 they released their debut self-titled album Divlje Jagode. Album featured a number of Deep Purple and Black Sabbath inspired songs, a new version of "Jedina Moja" and ballad "Krivo Je More" among others. After the album was released the band made a break because part of the band's members' army obligations. Ismailovski joined Srebrna Krila, and Lipovača, alongside Marina Tucaković became spiritus movens of a disco band Mirzino Jato.

In 1980 Divlje Jagode continued their activity in the new lineup: Kucukovic, Lipovača, drummer Nasko Budimlić and bass guitarist Alen Islamović. This lineup recorded album Stakleni Hotel which marked their complete shift towards heavy metal. Songs lyrics were written by Elvis J. Kurtovich & His Meteors vocalist Goran Petranović, Marina Tucaković and Islamović. Album's biggest hits were "Autostop" and ballads "Dodirni Me, Skloni Bol" and "Potraži Put". On the tour that followed the album release Divlje Jagode played around one hundred concerts. At this time Lipovača took over Angus Young's schoolboy image.

In 1981 Janković started his solo career, and Divlje Jagode released Motori with Islamović on vocals. Title track became huge hit, and songs "Šejla", "Zagrizi Rokenrol" and ballads "Nasmiješi Se" and "Ne Želiš Kraj" were well accepted. On the part of the tour that followed Motori release they were joined by Janković. Two following albums Čarobnjaci, which featured hits "Morrison" and "Čarobnjaci", and Vatra, which featured hits "Ciganka", "Let Na Drugi Svijet" and "Moja Si...", were both well accepted, and the band signed a contract with British record company Logo Records under the name Wild Strawberries.

In 1986 they started recording an English language album with new bass guitarist Zlatan Čehić. Eight of their old songs were rerecorded with English language lyrics and the album featured two new songs, "Fire On The Water" and "Wild Boys". Album featured keyboardist Don Airey as guest musician. At this time Lipovača was approached to join Whitesnake as lead guitarist, but refused focusing on Wild Strawberries career. Adopting a glam metal outlook, the band performed at The Marquee and a number of English clubs. The pilot single with song "Sheila" was released, but being suspicious about Wild Strawberries' success in Great Britain, Islamović accepted Goran Bregović's invitation and joined Bijelo Dugme, and Wild Strawberries' debut release was delayed. Album Wild Strawberries appeared in 1987, but the band did not have any live performances following the album release. Wild Strawberries was soon released in Sweden, Germany, Italy and Netherlands.

The same year Budimlić temporarily retired. Stevie, vocalist of the band Zero Zero from Glasgow was approached to join the band, but eventually new Divlje Jagode frontman became a former Bijelo Dugme vocalist Mladen "Tifa" Vojičić. Album Konji was recorded by Lipovača, Tifa, Čehić, keyboardist Vladimir Podany and drummer Edin Šehović. Album featured rerecorded "Divlje Jagode" from their first album and a cover of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's "Turkish March". This lineup did not last long as well: at the half of 1988, during the tour, Tifa, Podany and Šehović left the band. Čehić took over the vocals and the drums were played by Dragan "Điđi" Jankelić. In 1989 a former Osmi Putnik frontman Zlatan Stipišić became the new Divlje Jagode vocalist. This lineup recorded demos which helped Lipovača sign a five-year contract in the United States, but that project was never realised, and Divlje Jagode disbaned.

During the war Lipovača lived in London and Zagreb. After releasing his solo album Magic Love Lipovača reunited Divlje Jagode. In 1994 they released album Labude, Kad Rata Ne Bude. In 1996 Lipovača, Budimlić, bass guitarist Sanin Karić and vocalists Žanil "Žak" Tataj and recorded an album, ballad-oriented album Sto Vjekova.

At the end of 1990s Lipovača, Budimlić and Thomas Balaz and vocalist Pero Galić recorded Divlje Jagode latest album Od Neba Do Neba which was released in 2003. First Divlje Jagode singer Ante Janković, as well as other former members Žanil Tataj, Emir Cerić, Livio Berak and Marko Osmanović, joined the band on their live performances on several occasions. In 2006 the band released the single Piramida.

(Source: Facebook, 7.5.2013)