Wijlen Wij - Biography




Wijlen Wij was founded in 2002 by Kostas Panagiotou (Pantheist), Stijn van Cauter (Until Death Overtakes Me) and Lawrence Van Haecke (Solicide) as a side diversion from their main bands/projects with the sole purpose of creating the most bleak and desolate landscapes their minds were capable of. KV (In Somnis) joined in 2003 and in early 2004 Wijlen Wij started recording their opus of darkness at the Templa Libitina Studio in Erembodegem. It took 2 years of intermittent work between the members' main activities. After the recording and mixing were completed, the 6 tracks were mastered at Priory Studios in Birmingham with Greg Chandler (Esoteric). Aesthetic Death Records from the UK released the Wijlen Wij self-titled album in June 2007. The artwork is created by Stephen Burrell.