Fuck The Facts - Biography




Fuck The Facts was started in the late 90's as a recording project by Topon Das. After many early recordings including split tapes with S.M.E.S. and Mastectomia, FTF started developing a name in the underground with grind and noise fans worldwide. In 2000 the first full length CD "Discoing The Dead" was recorded and later released by Black Hole Productions. The positive feedback led to Topon assembling a full band to continue with the project in early 2001.

Now with Matt Connell (drums), Tim Audette (guitar), Brent Christoff (vocals) and Topon Das on guitar the band brought their extreme style to a live setting. In the fall of 2001 the band would record their 2nd full length "Mullet Fever" (Sonic Deadline Records) which included material for a split 7" with Kastrat on Zas! Autoprod. Following the recording Brent decided he was unable to continue with the band and was quickly replaced by Mel Mongeon.

By 2002 the band had enough material to record their next full length CD "Backstabber Etiquette" which was released by Great White North Records, and a split 7" with Sylvester Staline for Anvil Of Fury Records. These new recordings showed a new maturity without giving into the trends of the time. The band also made time to tour through Ontario with Montreal's Ghoulunatics and make it out to Winnipeg to play the annual Arsonfest. Now developing a wider range of listeners the band started working harder and playing more often, this included a December tour through the Maritimes. This would lead to the departure of Tim Audette who would do his last tour through the Canadian East Coast with the band in June of 2003.

As a 3-piece the band recorded material for a split CD with Feeble Minded on Grodhaisn Productions, which showcased the leaps the band had made in musicianship and song writing. Not to be held back the band toured the US in August with Malefaction as a trio.

Upon return it didn't take long for FTF to find their new guitarist in Dave Menard. New blood brought inspiration to the group and in late 2003 FTF completed recording for a split CD with Sergent Slaughter (Undecent Records / Meat 5000 Records). The quartet started incorporating more metal into their sound with an experimental approach. Matt then decided he would have to part with the band, but just before leaving, recorded 3 songs with FTF in spring 2004 for a split 7" with Subcut on Bucho Discos.

Luckily, a replacement was quickly found in drummer Tim Olsen and at the same time the band enlisted bassist Marc-Andre Mongeon. FTF wasted no time getting it back together, and within a month were back out playing live including a 2 week tour across Canada with Head Hits Concrete in the summer of 2004. In the fall FTF recorded 6 new songs which were self-released as the "Legacy Of Hopelessness" CDEP, A far more experimental release then ones before. The recording (minus the 2 enhanced bonus tracks) was released in Europe through Privileged To Fail Records on a split CD with Narcosis, Midget Parade & Archer.

By spring 2005, the regular shows and touring proved to be too much for Dave and Marc. So it was decided that it would be best for them to step down before a summer of touring would begin. Not wanting to jump the gun, FTF took the step to enlist fill-in members Mathieu Vilandré (guitar) and Steve Chartier (bass), and with only a couple of weeks of practise hit the stage again. In July of 2005, FTF embarked on a month long tour of Canada in support of "Legacy Of Hopelessness", traveling out to Sydney, NS and then to Vancouver, BC and back home. Upon return, Mathieu Vilandré & Steve Chartier were brought into the band as permenant members. In October 2005 FTF recorded a 2 song pre-production demo of material that would be on the new full length album. The 2 songs "The Wreaking" & "Taken From The Nest" were recorded by ex-drummer Matt Connell at the band's rehersal space and used to show people what was to come and was shopped around to different labels. The rest of the year was spent finishing writing the album and preparing to record.

The new year led to another line-up change, when drummer Tim Olsen was asked to leave the band. Mathieu Vilandré who had already filled in as the drummer at previous shows was moved to that spot permanantly. In February 2006, FTF entered Studio En-Phase in Montreal to record the new full length album "Stigmata High-Five". Soon after recording had begun FTF was contacted by and secured a deal with Relapse Records. In May 2006, GWN Records released the "Collection Of Splits 2002-2004" CD which featured remastered versions of all the recordings the band had done for splits between "Backstabber Etiquette" and "Legacy Of Hopelessness". At the same time FTF hit the road for a small 12 day tour with new label mates Leng Tch'e and Montreal tech-core band Beneath The Massacre.