Savatage - 'Streets: A Rock Opera' To Be Reissued

earMUSIC has announced the release of the final chapter of the Savatage re-issues series. Previously unreleased and originally only intended for the Broadway rendition, Streets: A Rock Opera is now being released including its original narration parts on September 27th, 2013.

The final chapter of this reissue series will feature the band's favourite videos. Released for the first time on DVD and restored from the original tapes, the video collection spans from Savatage's 1987's video 'Hall Of The Mountain King" until 1996's "One Child". There is also lot of extra audio content on the DVD: "Shotgun Innocence", "Forever After", one instrumental acoustic version of "Voyage", live versions of "Stare Into The Sun" and "Conversation Piece" recorded in Japan (but not included on the official live CD) and the piano version of "Sleep". The bonus track "Larry Elbows" is a previously unreleased song didn't make it on the original Streets: A Rock Opera album due to time limits and is finally available.

As on all previous chapters of the Savatage re-issues series, the album includes newly-written liner notes by Jon Oliva.

Jon Oliva says: "I'm really excited for this version of 'Streets' to finally be released. It was something different, an idea that Paul O'Neill had to take the progressive rock opera format to a bigger and better place than anything we had done, and anything I had heard anyone else doing before. This version of the album has only been floating around on bootlegs."

You can pre-order the release here.


[CD] Streets: A Rock Opera: Narrated Version

01. Streets
02. Narration to "Jesus"
03. Jesus Saves (original Version)
04. Narration to "Tonight He Grins Again"
05. Tonight He Grins Again
06. Narration to "Strange Reality"
07. Strange Reality
08. Narration to "A Little Too Far"
09. A Little Too Far
10. Narration to "You're Alive"
11. You're Alive
12. Narration to "Sammy And Tex"
13. Sammy And Tex
14. Narration to "St. Patrick's"
15. St. Patrick's
16. Narration to "Can You Hear Me Now"
17. Can You Hear Me Now
18. Narration to "New York City Don't Mean Nothing"
19. New York City Don't Mean Nothing
20. Narration to "Ghost In The Ruins"
21. Ghost In The Ruins
22. Narration to "If I Go Away"
23. If I Go Away
24. Narration to "Agony And Ecstasy"
25. Agony And Ecstasy
26. Narration to "Heal My Soul"
27. Heal My Soul
28. Narration to "Somewhere In Time
29. Somewhere In Time
30. Believe
Bonus Track
31. Larry Elbows (previously unreleased)

[DVD] The Video Collection

01. Hall Of The Mountain King
02. 24 Hrs. Ago
03. Gutter Ballet
04. When The Crowds Are Gone
05. Jesus Saves
06. Edge Of Thorns
07. Sleep
08. Handful Of Rain
09. One Child

Bonus Audio Tracks
01. Sleep (piano version)
02. Stare Into The Sun (Live In Japan)
03. Conversation Piece (Live In Japan)
04. Voyage (Al Pitrelli acoustic instrumental)
05. Shotgun Innocence
06. Forever After

Band profile: Savatage
Posted: 17.08.2013 by Bad English


‹‹ Back to News
Comments: 4   Visited by: 43 users
17.08.2013 - 16:43
Awesome news!
17.08.2013 - 19:17
Do want!!! When I find it on the american amazon, I will pre-order/buy immediately.
17.08.2013 - 19:38
Account deleted
God, I want that.
19.08.2013 - 14:59
The Shape 1973
Probably their finest work. Not sure about all the narration though. Would imagine it would break up the album too much.
Just because you believe in your strong morals it doesn't mean they are correct

Hits total: 3735 | This month: 32