Mosaic - New Music Output Coming Out In July

2020 marks the 15th year since the conception and birth of Mosaic, the evocative, enigmatic brainchild of Martin van Valkenstijn. Harvest: Songs Of Autumnal Landscapes And Melancholy spans the first 10 years of Mosaic. It is a collection of early material, containing the very first Mosaic recordings which have been released previously only on very small runs of cassette tapes. To complete the autumnal feast the original Samhain Celebration song cycle was added, which complements the early material and advance it to a full-length duration. This effort will be released on July 24th, 2020 as jewel-case edition with slipcase as well as on all digital channels.

Harvest is an ode to Valkenstijn's beloved Thuringian homelands. It takes us on a journey through misty woods and foggy nights, when the golden sunlight of late summer must give in to the autumnal cold that starts rising from the ground, when the warmth of summer must yield to the chilling breeze that heralds the end of the year, when the light must give in to the dark. Valkenstijn's unique recitations of poems by Georg Trakl, Joseph Eichendorff, Max Dauthendey and more, together with his own original writings, evoke the scents of a fire crackling in the chill morning air, of mossy woods that lure the melancholic mind ever deeper into their enchanted depths.

Artwork by Marek Soszyński


01. Feuerspuk Und Tannenreben
02. Dunkler Herbst
03. Schwarze Erde
04. Haimat
05. Golden Sunset
06. Autumn Winds
07. Inkantation: O Sun King!
08. Samhain
09. Der Letzte Atem
10. Olden Hair (Blood Is King Pt. I)
11. Inkantation: O Blood King! (Blood Is King Pt. II)
12. As The Fields Call From The Graves (Blood Is King Pt. III)
13. The Commandment
14. Bittersweet Odour
15. Geleit Zum Wyntar

Band profile: Mosaic
Posted: 24.05.2020 by Abattoir

Hits total: 340 | This month: 25